民刑交叉案件 “逢刑即驳”,如何破局?

作者: 韩惠虓、唐杰,大成律师事务所
0
738
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

民刑交叉案件,系指分别涉及刑事、民商事法律关系,其法律事实有一定牵连关系的案件。一般而言,民刑交叉案件应遵循民刑分立、分别审理原则。然司法实践有时却与该原则背道而驰,部分法院甚至认为只要涉嫌刑事犯罪,民商事案件就一概裁定驳回。对这一问题,虽有2019年发布的《全国法院民商事审判工作会议纪要》统一裁判思路,强调分别审理原则,但实践中各地法院对此类案件的审理结果仍难言改善。

韩惠虓, Han_Huixiao, Senior Partner, Dentons
韩惠虓
高级合伙人
大成律师事务所

立局之规

依据现行法,民商事案件审理中一旦被认定涉及刑事犯罪的,其可能面临如下结果:(1)分开审理:因不同的法律事实,分别涉及经济纠纷和经济犯罪嫌疑的,分开审理;

(2)驳回起诉:作为经济纠纷受理的案件,经审理认为有犯罪嫌疑的,驳回起诉;

(3)中止审理:民商事案件必须以刑事案件结果为依据,而刑事案件尚未审结的,中止审理。

如上所述,处理民刑交叉案件的关键在于:民商事、刑事案件所涉事实是否“同一”,或者,民商事案件是否必须以刑事案件结果作为定案依据。

破局之道

尽管困难重重,但仍有部分案件当事人在案件陷入民刑交叉“泥潭”后破局成功,推动民商事审理程序继续进行。这些案件主要呈现出以下几个特点:

上级法院明察秋毫,裁定继续审理。对于一审以涉嫌刑事犯罪为由驳回起诉的裁定,最直截了当的破局方式当属上级法院明察秋毫,主动纠错。如上海市一中院在[2020]沪02民终9086号案中认定:“本案就目前已查明的案件事实,认定陆某某诉请的基础法律关系涉及刑事犯罪,依据不足”;又如[2020]沪民终401号案中,上海市高院认定:“本案并无证据证明借款事实与张某某等人非法吸收公众存款犯罪具有关联性,也无证据证明涉案合同的签订或履行本身涉及刑事犯罪”。两案中,上级法院主动纠错,最终裁定民商事案件继续审理。

力证不同法律事实司法实践中,部分一审法院不分青红皂白,不经审查刑事和民商事法律关系所涉及的法律事实是否相同而径直裁定驳回起诉,这往往可以成为二审或再审的突破口。如上海市高院在[2016]沪民终400号中认定:“本案系仓储合同纠纷,海南助某公司以与长某公司间签订的仓储物流服务合同为依据主张权利,与刑事案件属不同的法律事实,本案应继续审理。”

唐杰, Tang Jie, Partner, Dentons
唐杰
合伙人
大成律师事务所

刑事案件长期未推进。如最高院在[2019]最高法民终166号中认定:“自案外人吉林省酒精工业集团国贸有限公司 2015年4月28日报案至今已三年有余,公安机关并未将此作为刑事案件予以立案处理。”还有上海市高院在[2014]沪高民二(商)再终字第2号案件中认定:“鄂尔多斯市公安局虽然在2012年8月18日决定对马某涉嫌合同诈骗案立案侦查,但时至今日[2016年3月8日]仍无任何结论。”最终两案均裁定继续审理民商事案件。

契而不舍,穷尽救济。笔者在检索案例过程中也发现,少数当事人契而不舍,穷尽司法救济破局成功。如[2013]沪高民一(民)再提字第7号案,该案由上海市宝山法院一审裁定驳回起诉、上海市一中院二审裁定驳回上诉。但该案当事人不服,又经上海市人民检察院提出抗诉,上海市高院提审后认定:“胡某某被立案侦查是其与道某公司内部关系,与申诉人艾某某无涉,原一、二审裁定将本案移送公安机关处理,属认定事实错误,适用法律不当,本院依法予以纠正。”上海市高院指令上海市宝山法院审理,并最终以当事人艾某胜诉为结果,可谓大获全胜。

结语

总体而言,民刑交叉案件 “逢刑即驳”现象仍较为普遍,但笔者相信,此现象终有破局之日。对现阶段遭遇民刑交叉案件“逢刑即驳”裁定的当事人,我们建议,可参照前述破局方法努力寻找突破口,穷尽手段争取合法权益。

大成律师事务所高级合伙人韩惠虓、合伙人唐杰

上海市黄浦区湖滨路150号
企业天地5号楼16层/22层 邮编: 200021

电话: +86 21 5878 5888

传真: +86 21 5878 6866

电子信箱:

huixiao.han@dentons.cn

tang.jie@dentons.cn

www.dentons.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Rejected appeals and other dilemmas with civil-criminal overlap

By Han Huixiao and Tang Jie, Dentons
0
1069
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Civil-criminal overlapping cases refers to cases that involve criminal legal relation, and civil and commercial legal relation, respectively, but have implicated relations between their legal facts. Generally, overlapping cases shall be dealt with by adhering to the principle of filing and trying the civil and criminal case separately.

韩惠虓, Han_Huixiao, Senior Partner, Dentons
Han Huixiao
Senior Partner
Dentons

Nevertheless, judicial practice sometimes runs counter to this principle, and some courts even believe that the appeals of civil and commercial cases shall be invariably rejected as long as the cases involve a criminal offence. Regarding this issue, emphasis has been laid on the principle of a separate trial with unified adjudication in the Summaries of the National Conference for Work of Courts on the Trial of Civil and Commercial Cases, issued in 2019. Even so, local courts still have a long way to go in improving the trial results of such cases in practice.

Existing rules

According to the existing laws, if a civil or commercial case is found to involve a criminal offence during the trial, it may face the following results: (1) a separate trial, which shall be conducted for cases that involve economic dispute and suspected economic crime, respectively, based on different legal facts; (2) rejection of appeal, for the case accepted as economic dispute, when the case is deemed to be suspected of crime in the trial; (3) suspension of trial, for a civil and commercial case, if the criminal case is not concluded.

As mentioned above, the crux of processing civil-criminal overlapping cases lies in whether they involve the “identical” facts, or whether civil and commercial cases must be decided based on the outcome of criminal cases.

唐杰, Tang Jie, Partner, Dentons
Tang Jie
Partner
Dentons

Towards a breakthrough

Despite a multitude of difficulties, some litigants have managed to break through the dilemma of civil-criminal overlapping cases and proceed with the trial procedure of civil and commercial cases, which mainly comprises the following characteristics:

Discerning superior courts ruled to proceed with the trial. Regarding the first-instance verdict of rejecting the appeal of cases involving a criminal offence, the most straightforward means against it is that the superior court concerned is so discerning as to correct the verdict on its initiative. For example, Shanghai No. 1 Intermediate People’s Court adjudicated, in Hu 02 Min Zhong Case No. 9086 (2020), that, “based on the currently ascertained facts, we hold that there is no sufficient evidence for determining the basic legal relations claimed by Lu XX involves a criminal offence”. In Hu Min Zhong Case No. 401 (2020), Shanghai High People’s Court ruled that, “the case provided no evidence to testify that the fact of borrowing was related to the illegal taking of public deposits committed by Zhang XX and others, or that the signing or performance of the contract concerned was involved in a criminal offence”. In both cases, the superior courts took the initiative to correct their mistakes by ultimately ruling that the trial of the civil and commercial cases shall be continued.

Convincing proof of “different legal facts”. In legal practice, some courts of first instance will indiscriminately reject the appeal, regardless of whether the legal facts involved in such criminal legal relation, and civil and commercial legal relation, are identical. This tends to provide a point of breakthrough for second instance, or subsequent, trials. For example, Shanghai High People’s Court ruled in Hu Min Zhong Case No. 400 (2016) that, “the case is a dispute over the warehousing contract, in which Hainan Zhu XX Company claimed the right over the warehousing logistics service contract signed with Chang XX Company; as this is a different legal fact from the criminal case, the case shall proceed.”

Long-term stalling of criminal cases. For example, the Supreme People’s Court ruled in Zui Gao Fa Min Zhong Case No.166 (2019) that “the public security authority has not filed the case for three years since it was reported by the party not involved in the case, Jilin Alcohol Industry Group International Trade, on 28 April 2015”. Shanghai High People’s Court ruled in Hu Gao Min Er (Shang) Zai Zhong Zi Case No. 2 (2016) that, “although Ordos Public Security Bureau decided to investigate the contract fraud case of Ma XX on 18 August 2012, it has not yet reached any conclusion [by 8 March 2016]”. Ultimately, the courts ruled that both cases shall proceed.

Perseverance with exhausted remedies. As found by the authors during the retrieval of cases, a few litigants have persevered to manage a breakthrough by exhausting judicial remedies. For example, in Hu Gao Min Yi (Min) Zai Ti Zi Case No.7 (2013), Shanghai No. 1 Intermediate People’s Court gave its second-instance verdict of rejecting the appeal, following the first-instance rejection by Shanghai Baoshan People’s Court. Nevertheless, the litigant appealed against the verdict to Shanghai People’s Procuratorate. Upon trial, Shanghai High People’s Court ruled that “the case of investigating Hu XX involves his internal relationship with Dao XX Company, it has nothing to do with the plaintiff Ai XX. Therefore, the first-instance and second-instance verdicts that the case shall be transferred to public security authority are incorrect in determining facts and inappropriate in applying laws. This court shall correct it according to law”. Shanghai High People’s Court directed Shanghai Baoshan People’s Court to hear the case, with the ultimate judgment that the litigant Ai XX won the lawsuit, which can be regarded as a complete success.

Conclusions

Overall, civil-criminal overlapping cases are confronted with rejection of appeal once they involve a criminal offence. However, the authors believe that the phenomenon will reach its day of breakthrough. For the litigants in such situations, it is recommended that efforts should be made to seek a breakthrough by the above-mentioned means, and by exhausting all approaches to fight for their legitimate rights and interests.

Han Huixiao is a senior partner and Tang Jie is a partner at Dentons

16th/22nd Floor, 5 Corporate Avenue

No. 150 Hubin Road, Huangpu District

Shanghai 200021, China

Tel: +86 21 5878 5888

Fax: +86 21 5878 6866

E-mail:

huixiao.han@dentons.cn

tang.jie@dentons.cn

www.dentons.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link