商业银行供应链金融业务全景透视

作者: 姚晓敏、蔡敏,兰台律师事务所
0
345

供应链金融早在2017年就被写入国家政策,随后,市场关于供应链金融的话题层出不穷。2020年,在疫情的推动下,供应链金融对实体经济的作用越来越为大众所熟知。

商业银行是中国金融体系重要组成部分,是推动供应链金融运用、支持实体经济发展的主要力量。本文结合供应链金融的概念,就银行在供应链金融中的角色、银行参与供应链金融的业务模式进行解析,提出风险提示及防范建议,以飨读者。

姚晓敏, Yao Xiaomin, Partner, Lantai Partners
姚晓敏
合伙人
兰台律师事务所

概念解析

根据《关于规范发展供应链金融支持供应链产业链稳定循环和优化升级的意见》,供应链金融是指“从供应链产业链整体出发,运用金融科技手段,整合物流、资金流、信息流等信息,在真实交易背景下,构建供应链中占主导地位的核心企业与上下游企业一体化的金融供给体系和风险评估体系,提供系统性的金融解决方案,以快速响应产业链上企业的结算、融资、财务管理等综合需求,降低企业成本,提升产业链各方价值”。有鉴于供应链金融的概念,我们可以从以下三个方面重点把握:

(1) 供应链金融服务的是整个供应链产业链,而非单个、孤立的企业,因而能够惠及众多的中小企业,有别于传统金融服务围绕大中型企业打造的“私人定制”与“高端定制”服务。

(2) 供应链金融以真实交易背景为基础,一个缺乏真实交易背景的供应链金融,其结果是资金的空转甚至是套利。

(3) 供应链金融提供的是系统性的金融解决方案,更考验商业银行为客户提供综合服务的能力,有别于传统金融往往仅提供资金融通支持的特点。

蔡敏, Cai Min, Associate, Lantai Partners
蔡敏
律师
兰台律师事务所

银行的角色

根据其承担的职能,可以将银行在供应链金融中所扮演的角色分为如下三类:

资金提供者。在间接融资为主导融资模式的中中国,银行成为最主要的资金来源,银行在供应链金融中所扮演的角色也主要体现为“资金提供者”。

信息中心。核心企业仅仅是供应链上的一环,对于那些不与核心企业直接建立商贸关系但同样位于供应链之中的中小企业,需要作为“信息中心”的银行通过整合物流、资金流、信息流的方式,以真实评估相关企业的信用情况,进而协助其他金融机构提供融资服务。

服务平台。在供应链金融中,银行还可以通过搭建“服务平台”的方式提供服务。

融资业务模式

供应链金融是从供应链产业链整体出发为供应链上下游企业提供系统性金融解决方案的融资方式。根据供应链产销环节的不同,供应链金融融资模式可以分为应收账款类融资模式(销售环节)、预付账款融资模式(采购环节)、存货类融资模式(支付货款至销售成品的生产运营阶段)三大类。

同时这三类融资模式也精准解决了供应商由于自身融资能力低导致的不能实现批量采购、不能有效实现销售、不能及时收回应收账款的现金流危机。此外,供应链上能够产生稳定现金流的应收账款、存货、订单等均可以通过金融产品的设计和风险定价实现资产证券化。

风险防范

供应链金融为融资渠道狭窄的中小企业带来了更为广阔的融资空间,但同时也带来了相应的风险。具体来说,在供应链金融业务中,银行作为资金提供者存在如下两大类共性法律风险:

基础贸易背景真实性。供应链金融以核心企业为依托,以真实贸易为前提,如果融资企业提供的业务单据和货物凭证(如发货单等)虚假、无效,无法实现销售资金回笼,将会给作为资金提供者的银行带来巨大资金风险;

担保的法律风险。供应链金融以融资企业及其上下游企业的销售资金为还款来源,在此基础上银行通常要求融资企业补充动产(如存货等)或权利质押(如仓单、应收账款等)等担保形式。若担保无效,则可能给银行收回资金带来困难,因此担保是供应链金融融资业务的又一重要法律风险。

基于上述的分析,银行在提供供应链金融服务时,应重点关注以下的风险防范措施:

(1)结合供应链中运用的物联网、区块链等新技术加强对于贸易真实性审查;

(2)完善银行自身的资信调查制度,特别是应加强对于核心企业的风险管控;

(3)重视对资金流和物流的控制以及两者之间的匹配衔接,确保账实相符,防止企业挪用融资款。

兰台律师事务所合伙人姚晓敏、律师蔡敏

Lantai Partners (1)兰台律师事务所
北京市朝阳区曙光西里甲一号
第三置业大厦B座29层 邮编: 100028
电话: +86 10 5228 7777
传真: +86 10 5822 0039
电子信箱:

aoxiaomin@lantai.cn
caimin@lantai.cn

www.lantai.cn

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

Panorama of commercial banks in supply chain finance

By Yao Xiaomin and Cai Min, Lantai Partners
0
135

Ever since supply chain finance was incorporated into national policy, as early as 2017, there has been ample discussion of various topics among market players. However, with the emergence of the coronavirus pandemic, the role of supply chain finance in the real economy has come under the public spotlight.

Commercial banks, being an important component of China’s financial system, are the major promoters of supply chain finance and supporters of developing the real economy. This article looks at the role played by banks and their business models, along with some suggestions on how to prevent and avert certain risks.

姚晓敏, Yao Xiaomin, Partner, Lantai Partners
Yao Xiaomin
Partner
Lantai Partners

What is supply chain finance?

Supply chain finance refers to “the general use of financial and technological means to integrate logistics, capital flow and information flow, in order to establish a financial supply and risk assessment system encompassing both the core enterprises dominating the supply chain and their upstream and downstream neighbours, to provide systematic financial solutions in authentic transactions and cater in a timely fashion to the various industry-chain needs in terms of settlement, financing and financial management, and to reduce costs and enhance the value of all parties along the industry chain”, according to the Opinions on Standardising the Development of Supply Chain Finance to Support the Stable Circulation, Optimisation and Upgrading of Supply Chain and Industry Chain. Based on this definition, we shall focus on three aspects:

(1) Supply chain finance serves the entire supply and industry chain, rather than individual or isolated enterprises. Hence, unlike the traditional financial services and their “personalised” and “high-end customised” services built around large and medium-sized enterprises, supply chain finance is a boon for many small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).

(2) Supply chain finance is based on authentic transactions, without which supply chain finance serves little more than idling or even arbitrage of funds.

(3) Supply chain finance provides systematic financial solutions, which further test the comprehensive service capacity of commercial banks. In this regard, it differs noticeably from traditional finance, which usually provides only financial support.

蔡敏, Cai Min, Associate, Lantai Partners
Cai Min
Associate
Lantai Partners

Bank functions

Banks play the following three roles in supply chain finance:

Fund provider. In China, where indirect financing is the leading financing mode, banks have become the most important source of funding, and the role of banks in supply chain finance is mainly reflected as a fund provider.

Information centre. Core enterprise is only one link in the supply chain. SMEs without direct business relations with the core enterprises but which are also part of the supply chain need banks to act as information centres, hubs of logistics, capital flow and information flow on the chain, to provide true and genuine credit assessments of other enterprises, which in turn assists other financial institutions with their own financing services.

Service platform. In supply chain finance, banks also provide services in the form of service platforms.

Financing business models

Supply chain finance is a financing method providing systematic financial solutions for upstream and downstream enterprises throughout the supply chain. Depending on the different stages of production and marketing, the financing business model of supply chain finance can be divided into three categories: accounts receivable financing for sales, prepayment financing for procurement, and inventory financing for production and operation, from payment of goods to sales of finished products.

For suppliers with insufficient financing capacity, each of the three financing categories targets their respective cash flow difficulties in bulk purchase, effective sales and recovery of accounts receivable. In addition, accounts receivable, inventory and orders capable of generating stable cash flow on the supply chain may be securitised through the design and risk pricing of financial products.

Limiting risks

For SMEs with limited financing channels, supply chain finance brightens their prospects for funding but also brings risks. For instance, as fund providers in supply chain finance, banks are exposed to two common legal risks:

Authenticity of the underlying transaction. Supply chain finance is shouldered by core enterprises, but it is a pathway paved with authentic transactions. If the business or title documents (e.g. dispatch bills) provided by the financing enterprises are false or invalid, expenditures cannot be recovered, and fund providers (i.e. banks) will face capital risks.

Legal risks of guarantee. In supply chain finance, repayment comes from sales proceeds of the borrowing enterprises and their upstream and downstream neighbours. Banks usually require the enterprises being financed to supplement collateral in the forms of movable property (e.g. inventory) or pledge of rights (e.g. warehouse receipts and accounts receivable). If the collateral is invalid, banks may have a hard time recovering funds. Thus, guarantee is another minefield of material legal risks in supply chain financing.

Based on this analysis, banks should be attentive to the following risk prevention measures when providing supply chain finance services:

(1) strengthening their reviews of trade authenticity while taking into consideration the internet of things, blockchain and other new technologies used along the supply chain;

(2) improving banks’ own credit investigation systems, especially in terms of risk management and control with core enterprises;

(3) highlighting the control of capital flow and logistics and the compatibility and connection between them, so as to ensure account accuracy and consistency, and preventing any misappropriation of financing funds.

Yao Xiaomin is a partner and Cai Min is an associate at Lantai Partners

Lantai Partners
29th Floor, Tower B, Disanzhiye Mansion
A1 Shuguang Xili, Chaoyang District
Beijing 100028, China
Tel: +86 10 5228 7777
Fax: +86 10 5822 0039
E-mail:

yaoxiaomin@lantai.cn

caimin@lantai.cn

www.lantai.cn