新民间借贷司法解释施行后的市场观察

作者: 宛俊、权威,汉坤律师事务所
0
727
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

《最高人民法院关于审理民间借贷案件适用法律若干问题的规定》(下称“新规”)于2020年8月20日正式施行。如今新规落地实施已有四月,回首观察其实施及适用情况,其影响可谓深远。

Wan Jun, Partner, Han Kun Law Offices
宛俊
合伙人
汉坤律师事务所

利率司法保护上限拦腰骤减,四倍LPR (loan prime rate,基础贷款利率) 成司法裁判硬性指标

新规改变了此前以24%和36%划定的“两线三区”的利率司法保护做法(即年利率24%以内的约定有效,年利率24%到36%的部分属于自然债务,年利率超出36%的部分无效),直接划定司法保护上限为“合同成立时四倍LPR”,大幅降低了民间借贷利率的司法保护上限。

从新规实施以来的裁判实践看,四倍LPR已经成为民间借贷案件司法裁判中利率保护的硬性指标,新规生效后受理的一审民间借贷案件中,超过四倍LPR的约定利率将不能得到法院的支持,如[2020]兵9001民初4830号、[2020]湘0522民初1615号等案例中法院均适用合同成立时四倍LPR作为裁判标准。

自新规出台以来,其在适用时的溯及力问题在市场中引起了广泛的讨论,在司法实践中亦存在一定的争议。2020年12月31日,伴随着《民法典》的正式生效,最高人民法院对新规进行了进一步的补充修订,并明确新规发布前(2020年8月19日前)的利息,仍可基于旧司法解释进行计算。

适用范围存在争议,后续亦有调整

尽管该规定明确规定其适用范围限于自然人、法人和非法人组织之间进行的资金融通行为,并不包括金融机构,但从截至2020年底的实践情况而言,其实际影响范围亦延伸到了对金融领域的借贷行为:

1)委托贷款、小额贷款公司直接适用新规。既往司法实践中,小额贷款公司开展的贷款业务以及通过委托贷款形式进行的资金融通行为,均被定性为典型的民间借贷行为。

新规公布实施后延续了该等实践传统,如在[2020]桂0703民初2714号、[2020]浙1122民初3170号案等案例裁判中,小额贷款公司发放的贷款或委托贷款均直接受限于新规的相关规定。

Quan Wei, Partner, Han Kun Law Offices
权威
合伙人
汉坤律师事务所

2)融资租赁、商业保理等地方监管类金融机构需参照适用新规。融资租赁公司、商业保理公司等地方监管的类金融机构从事的业务,在法律关系上虽然不属于典型的“借贷法律关系”,但由于其业务适用场景与借贷高度相同或近似,其从事的业务需参照适用民间借贷司法解释的相关规定。新规实施后公布的[2020]津0116民18262号、[2020]津0116民初21281号等案例的裁判文书中,法院均以新规确定的利率保护上限并进行裁判,并未因法律关系不同而区分处理。

3)商业银行、消金公司等金融机构不直接适用,但亦有可能会进行参照。尽管新规明确规定金融机构应排除于适用范围之外,但根据《关于进一步加强金融审判工作的若干意见》(法发[2017]22号)中的规定:“金融借款合同的借款人以贷款人同时主张的利息、复利、罚息、违约金和其他费用过高,显著背离实际损失为由,请求对总计超过年利率24%的部分予以调减的,应予支持,以有效降低实体经济的融资成本”,以及从新规落地实施后的司法裁判观察,商业银行、消金公司等金融机构并非完全不受新规的影响。

从新规落地实施的司法裁判情况看,对金融机构从事的金融借款行为适用民间借贷利率红线规定亦非个案。

在经过近半年的争议后,2021年1月15日,网络媒体公布了一份最高院于2020年12月29日向广东省高院做出的批复,其中明确包括小额贷款公司、融资担保公司、融资租赁公司、商业保理公司在内的各类地方政府批设的地方金融组织同样属于“金融机构”,不应适用新规。截至本文定稿之日,该批复的真实性及效力尚未得到官方的正式确认,其是否足以彻底扭转在过去半年中已经基本形成的利率适用新标准,上述机构是否自此之后均不再受四倍LPR的约束,仍有待在司法实践中去进一步观察。

司法实践对于利率口径采用APR还是IRR尚未统一

新规并未对四倍LPR应采用APR(名义利率)还是IRR(实际利率)的口径给出明确的意见或释明,就既往的监管及司法实践而言,二者兼而有之,根据笔者的观察,新规出台后,依然如此,未来是否会形成统一的裁判观点尚有待观察。针对这一问题,司法机关截至目前并未作出过任何形式的补充修改或澄清。


宛俊是汉坤律师事务所合伙人。他的联系方式为电话+86 21 6080 0995 以及电邮 jun.wan@hankunlaw.com

权威是汉坤律师事务所合伙人。他的联系方式为电话+86 21 6080 0946 以及电邮 wei.quan@hankunlaw.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Observations of new judicial interpretation on private lending

By Wan Jun and Quan Wei, Han Kun Law Offices
0
138

The Provisions of the Supreme People’s Court on Several Issues Concerning the Application of Laws in the Trial of Private Lending Cases was officially implemented on 20 August 2020. It has been four months since the implementation of the new provisions, and looking back at its implementation and application, the authors find its impact is far reaching.

Wan Jun, Partner, Han Kun Law Offices
Wan Jun
Partner
Han Kun Law Offices

The upper limit of judicial protection of interest rate has dropped sharply, and quadruple loan prime rate (LPR) has become a rigid indicator of judicial adjudication

The new provisions have changed the previous judicial protection practices on interest rate, that is, “two lines and three parts” delineated by 24% and 36%: The agreement with an annual interest rate within 24% is valid; the part with an annual interest rate of 24% to 36% is categorised as natural debt; and the part with an annual interest rate above 36% is invalid.

The new provisions directly define the upper limit of judicial protection as “quadruple LPR at the time when the contract is established”, greatly reducing the upper limit of judicial protection of the private lending interest rate.

Judging from the adjudication practice since the implementation of the new provisions, quadruple LPR has become a rigid indicator of interest rate protection in judicial adjudication of private lending cases. In the first-instance cases of private lending accepted after the new provisions came into effect, the agreed interest rate exceeding quadruple LPR was not supported by the court. For example, in Bing 9001 Min Chu Case No. 4830 (2020) and Xiang 0522 Min Chu Case No. 1615 (2020), the courts adopted quadruple LPR at the time when the contract was established as the judgment standard.

Since the introduction of the new provisions, the issue of its retroactivity in application has aroused extensive discussion in the market, and caused controversies in judicial practice. On 31 December 2020, along with the official rollout of the Civil Code, the Supreme People’s Court (SPC) made further additional amendments to the new provisions, and clarified that interest before the release of the new regulation (before 19 August 2020) can still be calculated based on the old judicial interpretation.

Quan Wei, Partner, Han Kun Law Offices
Quan Wei
Partner
Han Kun Law Offices

The scope of application is controversial and has been subsequently adjusted

Although the new provisions clearly specify that its applicable scope is limited to the financing behaviour between natural persons, legal persons and unincorporated organisations, and does not include financial institutions, from the practice by the end of 2020, the actual influence also extends to the lending behaviour in the financial field.

(1) Entrusted loans and small loan companies directly apply the new provisions. In past judicial practice, the loan business carried out by small loan companies, and the financing behaviour through entrusted loans, were characterised as typical private lending behaviour.

After the promulgation and implementation of the new provisions, these practices have continued. For example, in the judgments of Gui 0703 Min Chu Case No.2714 (2020) and Zhe 1122 Min Chu Case No. 3170 (2020), the loans or entrusted loans granted by small loan companies were directly restricted by the new provisions.

(2) Financial leasing companies, commercial factoring companies and other locally regulated financial institutions should refer to and apply the new provisions. The business of financial leasing companies, commercial factoring companies and other locally regulated financial institutions does not belong to the typical “lending legal relationship”. However, because their business application scenarios are the same or similar to lending, their business needs to refer to and apply the relevant provisions of the judicial interpretation of private lending.

In Jin 0116 Min Case No.18262 (2020) and Jin 0116 Min Chu Case No. 21281 (2020), published after the implementation of the new provisions, the court made judgments based on the upper limit of interest rate protection determined by the new provisions, and did not treat the cases differently due to different legal relationships.

(3) Financial institutions such as commercial banks and consumer finance companies do not directly apply, but may refer to the new provisions. Although the new provisions clearly provide that financial institutions should be excluded from the scope of application, in accordance with the provisions of the Opinions on Further Strengthening Financial Trial Work (Fa Zhen No.22 [2017]): “If the borrower of a financial loan contract requests to reduce the total amount at the annual interest rate of above 24% on the grounds that the interest, compound interest, penalty interest, liquidated damages and other expenses claimed by the lender are too high, and deviate significantly from the actual losses, the request should be supported to effectively reduce the financing cost of the real economy”. From the observation of judicial judgments after implementation of the new provisions, financial institutions such as commercial banks and consumer finance companies are not completely free from the influence of the new provisions.

Judging from judicial adjudication after implementation of the new provisions, there is not a single case to apply the red line of private lending interest rate to the financial borrowing behaviour of financial institutions.

After nearly half a year of controversy, on 15 January 2021, a copy of an official reply from the SPC, made on 29 December 2020 to the Guangdong High Court, was released online. It clearly provides that all kinds of local financial institutions approved by local government – including microfinance companies, financial guarantee companies, financial leasing companies and commercial factoring companies – are “financial institutions”.

Therefore, the new provisions do not apply to them. As of the date of finalising this article, the authenticity and effectiveness of the reply has not been officially confirmed. Whether it will change the new standard adopted in the past few months, and whether the above-mentioned institutions are no longer subject to the quadruple LPR upper protection limit, remain to be seen.

In judicial practice, whether APR or IRR is adopted for interest rate has not been unified

The new provisions do not give clear opinions or explanations on whether APR (nominal interest rate) or IRR (real interest rate) should be adopted for quadruple LPR. In previous supervision and judicial practice, both are adopted, and the authors observe this is still the case. It remains to be seen whether a unified judgment view will be formed in the future.


Wan Jun is a partner Han Kun Law Offices. He can be contacted on +86 21 6080 0995 or by email at jun.wan@hankunlaw.com

Quan Wei is a partner at Han Kun Law Offices. He can be contacted on +86 21 6080 0946 or by email at wei.quan@hankunlaw.com