简评跨境金融纠纷管辖新规

作者: 张光磊、陈程,竞天公诚律师事务所
0
67

近期,最高法院发布了《关于北京金融法院案件管辖的规定》(《北京管辖规定》),并随后对《关于上海金融法院案件管辖的规定》(《上海管辖规定》与《北京管辖规定》合称“京沪管辖规定”)进行了同步修订,京沪管辖规定首次对境内投资者所涉跨境金融纠纷诉讼的管辖作出了明确规定。

张光磊, Zhang Guanglei, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
张光磊
合伙人
竞天公诚律师事务所

实施跨区域集中管辖

基于对上海作为国际金融中心及北京作为国家金融管理中心的定位,中国先后在上海和北京设立了金融法院,在此基础上通过京沪管辖规定形成了京沪金融法院对跨境金融纠纷实施跨区域集中管辖的制度安排。

京沪管辖规定的第二条规定,就境内投资者以发生在境外的证券发行、交易活动或者期货交易活动损害其合法权益为由提起的诉讼,以及境内个人或者机构以境外金融机构销售的金融产品或者提供的金融服务损害其合法权益为由提起的诉讼,京沪金融法院均享有管辖权。

就上述安排可能产生的两地金融法院之间的管辖争议,最高法院民二庭负责人在就《上海管辖规定》答记者问中表示,可以通过《民事诉讼法》第35条和第37条的规则解决,由最先立案的法院管辖,如两家法院之间就管辖权发生争议可报请最高法院指定管辖。

法律依据

京沪管辖规定出台之前,虽然中国法院对跨境金融纠纷进行管辖的案例极为少见,但在规定层面上中国法院管辖此类纠纷于法有据。《关于审理证券市场因虚假陈述引发的民事赔偿案件的若干规定》(《虚假陈述赔偿规定》)第六章明确规定,虚假陈述行为人的责任属于“共同侵权责任”。根据《民事诉讼法》第28条、第265条和民诉法解释第24条的规定,侵权人位于境外的侵权纠纷可由侵权行为地(侵权行为实施地或结果发生地)或侵权行为人境内代表机构所在地的法院管辖。据此,对于境外金融活动引发的侵权纠纷,即使侵权主体住所地和侵权行为实施地位于境外,侵权主体境内代表处所在地或者受害人所在地的中国法院亦有管辖权。

陈程, Chen Cheng, Associate, Jingtian & Gongcheng
陈程
律师
竞天公诚律师事务所

此外,2019年修订的《证券法》第二条第四款规定:“中华人民共和国境外的证券发行和交易活动,扰乱中华人民共和国境内市场秩序,损害境内投资者合法权益的,依照本法有关规定处理并追究法律责任。”据此,《证券法》、《虚假陈述赔偿规定》等规范性文件具有了域外适用的效力。

最高法院基于全国人大常委会的决定确立京沪金融法院对跨境金融纠纷的管辖权。《人民法院组织法》第15条规定,专门人民法院(包括军事法院和海事法院、知识产权法院、金融法院)的设置、组织、职权和法官任免,由全国人大常委会规定。据此,全国人大常委会先后作出《关于设立上海金融法院的决定》、《关于设立北京金融法院的决定》(合称《决定》),《决定》在设立京沪金融法院的同时对其管辖范围作了一般性规定,并明确最高法院可以进一步确定其管辖案件的范围。最高法院正是根据上述《决定》确立了京沪金融法院对跨境金融纠纷的管辖权。

有待观察和解决的问题

在过去十余年里,包括中概股在内的境外上市公司虚假陈述责任纠纷频发,涉及中国投资者的亦不在少数。因相关诉讼主要在境外进行,境内投资者通过诉讼获得救济的难度很大。京沪管辖规定实施后,中国法院的管辖权得以明确,为解决此类纠纷提供了新的司法途径。特别是对于境外上市的中概股公司,其运营实体及相关人员皆位于境内,若中国投资者因境外上市公司虚假陈述遭受损失,则可在境内起诉,被告不限于境外上市公司,亦可包括参与虚假陈述的境内运营实体、相关管理人员、中介机构等其他主体。若侵权主体位于境内、在境内拥有资产或经营活动位于境内,则中国法院在调查取证、财产和证据保全、判决执行上皆存在较大的便利。

从这个角度而言,其相比境外诉讼更有利于中国投资者实现权利。当然,与此同时,中国法院审理此类纠纷亦面临新的挑战,诸如跨境取证的难度、境内外平行诉讼的协调、文书送达的效率、证据形式的要求等问题皆可能影响案件审理效果,也可能构成当事人参与诉讼活动和实现权利的障碍。因此,通过京沪管辖规定明确中国法院对跨境金融纠纷的管辖权,是中国立法和司法机关的重要举措,为保证其实现应有的效果,在既有的原则性规定基础上,仍需综合考虑此类诉讼的特点尽快制定有针对性的细化规则。

竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人张光磊、律师陈程。张光磊还是香港国际仲裁中心仲裁员

交通

竞天公诚律师事务所

北京市朝阳区建国路77号

华贸中心3号写字楼34层

邮编: 100025

电话: +86 10 5809 1515

传真: +86 10 5809 1100

电子信箱: zhang.guanglei@jingtian.com

www.jingtian.com

New jurisdictional regulations for cross-border financial disputes

By Zhang Guanglei and Chen Cheng, Jingtian & Gongcheng
0
150

The Supreme People’s Court (SPC) has released the Regulations on the Jurisdiction of Beijing Financial Court over Cases (Beijing regulations), and subsequently revised the Regulations on the Jurisdiction of Shanghai Financial Court over Cases (Shanghai regulations, together with Beijing as the regulations). The regulations provide for clarity on the jurisdiction of cross-border financial disputes involving domestic investors for the first time.

张光磊, Zhang Guanglei, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
Zhang Guanglei
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

Centralised jurisdiction

Based on the positioning of Shanghai as an international financial centre, and Beijing as the national financial management centre, China has set up financial courts in both cities. On this basis, the cross-regional centralised jurisdiction for cross-border financial disputes of Shanghai and Beijing financial courts has been formed through the enactment of the regulations.

Article 2 of the regulations provides that Beijing and Shanghai financial courts have jurisdiction over litigations brought by domestic investors on the grounds that securities issuance or trading activities, or futures trading activities occurring abroad, have harmed their legitimate rights and interests; and litigations brought by domestic individuals or entities on the grounds that financial products sold, or financial services provided by overseas financial institutions, have harmed their legitimate rights and interests.

As for potential jurisdiction conflicts between these two financial courts caused by the above-mentioned arrangements, the head of Second Civil Division of the SPC has stated that the conflicts can be solved by the rules of articles 35 and 37 of the Civil Procedure Law. The first court that registers the case has jurisdiction over the case, and if a dispute arises between two courts regarding jurisdiction, it can be reported to the SPC for designation of jurisdiction.

Legal basis

Before the introduction of the regulations, although there were very few cases in which Chinese courts have jurisdiction over cross-border financial disputes, there was a legal basis for Chinese courts to govern such disputes at the regulatory level. Chapter 6 of the Provisions on the Trial of Civil Compensation Cases Arising from Misrepresentation in the Securities Market (the misrepresentation compensation provisions) clearly stipulates that the liability of the perpetrators of misrepresentation is “joint tort liability”.

According to articles 28 and 265 of the Civil Procedure Law, and article 24 of the Interpretation of the Civil Procedure Law, infringement disputes where the infringers are located outside of China may be subject to the jurisdiction of the court in the place where the infringement was committed, or where the result occurred, or where the representative office of the infringers is located. Accordingly, for infringement disputes arising from offshore financial activities, even if the domicile of the infringer and the place where the infringing act is committed are located outside China, the Chinese court in the place where the domestic representative office of the infringer is located, or where the victim is located, also has jurisdiction.

In addition, article 2.4 of the Securities Law (revised in 2019) stipulates that: “Securities issuance and trading activities outside the People’s Republic of China, disrupting the order of the market in the People’s Republic of China, and harming the legitimate rights and interests of domestic investors, will be dealt with, and liability will be pursued in accordance with the relevant provisions of this law.” On this basis, the Securities Law, misrepresentation compensation provisions and other normative documents have the effect of extraterritorial application.

The SPC established the jurisdiction of the Beijing and Shanghai financial courts over cross-border financial disputes based on the National People’s Congress (NPC) Standing Committee’s decision. Article 15 of the Organic Law of the People’s Court stipulates that the establishment, organisation, authority, and appointment and removal of judges of specialised people’s courts (including military courts, maritime courts, IP courts and financial courts) are decided by NPC Standing Committee.

Therefore, the NPC Standing Committee issued the Decision on the Setup of Shanghai Financial Court and Decision on the Setup of Beijing Financial Court (the decisions). While setting up financial courts in Beijing and Shanghai, the decisions also specified the general jurisdictions of the Beijing-Shanghai financial courts, and clarified that the SPC might further determine the scope of the jurisdiction over cases. It is in accordance with the decisions that the SPC established the jurisdiction of the Beijing-Shanghai financial courts over cross-border financial disputes.

陈程, Chen Cheng, Associate, Jingtian & Gongcheng
Chen Cheng
Associate
Jingtian & Gongcheng

Issues to observe

In the past decade or so, large amounts of Chinese investors were frequently involved in disputes over liability for misrepresentation by overseas listed companies, including Chinese concept stocks. Since many litigations happened overseas, it was difficult for domestic investors to obtain remedies through litigation.

After the enactment of the regulations, the jurisdiction of Chinese courts has been clarified, providing new legal paths to solve the relevant disputes. In particular, for overseas listed Chinese companies with operating entities and related personnel located in China, if Chinese investors suffer losses due to misrepresentation of overseas listed companies, they can sue in China, and the defendants are not limited to overseas listed companies, but also include other subjects such as domestic operating entities, related managers, and intermediaries who participated in the misrepresentation.

If the infringer is located in China, owns assets or conducts business in China, the Chinese courts will have greater convenience in investigating and obtaining evidence, preserving property and evidence, and enforcing judgments.

From this perspective, domestic litigation is more conducive for the realisation of Chinese investors’ rights than offshore litigation. Certainly, Chinese courts face new challenges in adjudicating such disputes, such as the difficulty of cross-border evidence collection, the co-ordination of parallel litigation in and out of China, the efficiency of service of documents, and the requirements of the form of evidence, which may affect the effectiveness of the case trial, and may also constitute an obstacle for the parties to participate in litigation activities and realise their rights.

Therefore, it is an important step for the Chinese legislature and judiciary to clarify the jurisdiction of Chinese courts over cross-border financial disputes through the regulations. In order to ensure the proper effect, on the basis of the existing general provisions, it is still necessary to formulate specific and detailed rules as soon as possible, taking into account the characteristics of such litigation.

Zhang Guanglei is a partner and Chen Cheng is an associate at Jingtian & Gongcheng. Zhang is also an arbitrator of Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng

34/F, Tower 3, China Central Place

77 Jianguo Road
Beijing 100025, China

Tel: +86 10 5809 1515

Fax: +86 10 5809 1100

E-mail: zhang.guanglei@jingtian.com

www.jingtian.com