理财产品销售新规重点变化

作者: 任国兵、王晋,竞天公诚律师事务所
0
144

2021年5月11日,银保监会发布了《理财公司理财产品销售管理暂行办法》(下称《办法》),于2021年6月27日起正式施行。《办法》共八章69条,其内容涵盖了理财产品销售活动的各个方面,是理财产品销售领域最新的全面监管规定。

相较于既有的理财产品及其销售业务的监管规定,《办法》在理财产品代理销售机构范围、理财产品销售合规管理、业绩比较基准的宣传展示方式以及投资者保护等方面的规定都有新变化,对于理财产品的销售提出了新要求,本文将对这些重点变化作如下简要分析:

任国兵, Ren Guobing, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
任国兵
合伙人
竞天公诚律师事务所

重新界定代销机构

相较于既有的监管规定,《办法》中理财产品代销机构的范围既有放松又有收紧。

一方面,《办法》拓宽了理财产品的代销渠道。除银行外,理财公司在《办法》实施后还可委托其他理财公司代销其理财产品。虽然相较于公募基金,理财产品尚不能在如证券公司、第三方独立销售机构等更广泛的渠道销售,但其销售渠道已较《办法》出台前有所丰富。

另一方面,《办法》明确:“未经金融监督管理部门许可,任何非金融机构和个人不得代理销售理财产品。” 这也就意味着,第三方互联网平台等尚未持有代理销售牌照的专业机构短期内将无法代销理财公司产品。

目前持有理财产品代理销售牌照的金融机构以银行为主,银行具有庞大的销售网络和丰富的客群,如果能够按照《办法》的要求抢占先机,积极引入各理财公司的理财产品,其财富管理业务将有很大提升。

销售合规管理

为进一步强化对理财产品销售的合规性管理,《办法》规定,理财产品销售机构应当指定部门和人员,负责对理财产品销售业务活动的合法合规性进行审查、监督,并确保该部门和人员独立、有效履行职责,该部门人员不得兼任经营管理等与岗位职责存在利益冲突的职务;代销机构与理财公司均需对理财产品进行风险评估与产品评级,并对双方如何适用产品评级标准进行统一;理财公司对代销机构进行定期评估,为理财公司掌握代销渠道动态提供依据;明确代销机构与理财公司对外共同承担销售责任。

王晋, Wang Jin, Paralegal, Jingtian & Gongcheng
王晋
律师助理
竞天公诚律师事务所

业绩宣传和展示

《办法》另一个显著的变化是对理财产品销售过程中业绩比较基准的宣传、展示方式提出了更严格要求。《办法》明确理财产品均为无法保证本金和收益的净值化管理产品,在此基础上,《办法》明确禁止了对于净值型产品“预期收益率”的宣传。

在过去,业绩比较基准虽仅作为投资收益与产品管理人报酬计算依据,但其展示方式经常引起投资人误解。《办法》对其提出了新的宣传展示要求,禁止对其单独或突出展示,同时要求阐明选择原因、测算依据或计算方法。

目前,各家理财公司对于净值化产品的业绩比较基准的披露方式各异,包括绝对收益型、区间数值型、与证券指数挂钩、与定期存款基准利率相关联等。但无论采用何种方式,根据《办法》最新要求,理财公司及代销机构必须向客户解释数据的计算依据及其背景,例如对同类产品、同类策略的历史水平参考等。

《办法》的这一最新要求有利于防止变相宣传预期收益率,更好促进产品净值化转型,推进打破刚兑预期。

投资者保护

《办法》秉持将合适的产品销售给合适的投资者的销售适当性原则,在既有监管规定的基础上进一步明确了投资者风险承受能力评估及产品尽职调查与风险评估的具体要求。

此外,《办法》还新增或重申了禁止诱导投资者短期操作、调整收费项目应当允许投资者赎回等保护投资者利益的具体规则。

值得关注的是,《办法》新设信息保护规定,未经专门授权销售机构不得将客户信息提供给任何第三方。笔者建议,理财公司及销售机构应当据此修订各自理财产品的相关销售文件,以确保取得投资者对于信息使用的授权,适应《办法》的这一最新要求。

竞天公诚律师事务所合伙人任国兵、律师助理王晋

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng

上海市徐汇区淮海中路1010号
嘉华中心45层
邮编: 200031

电话: +86 135 8571 1176

电子信箱:

ren.guobing@jingtian.com
wang.jin@jingtian.com

www.jingtian.com

Key changes to regulations on sale of WMPs

By Ren Guobing and Wang Jin, Jingtian & Gongcheng
0
134

On 11 May 2021, China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission (CBIRC) issued the Provisional Measures for Sales Management of Wealth Management Products at Wealth Management Companies, to be effective from 27 June 2021. The measures contain eight chapters and 69 articles, covering all aspects of sales activities of wealth management products (WMPs), and are the latest comprehensive regulatory rules on the sale of WMPs.

Compared to existing regulatory rules on WMPs and related sales activities, the measures raise new requirements for the sales of WMPs, including the regulations on the scope of WMP sales agencies, sales compliance, and ways of advertising and presenting product performance relative to the benchmark and protection of investors. This article analyses the key changes.

任国兵, Ren Guobing, Partner, Jingtian & Gongcheng
Ren Guobing
Partner
Jingtian & Gongcheng

Scope of sales agencies

Compared to existing regulatory rules, the scope of WMP sales agencies stipulated by the measures has been eased in some ways but tightened in others.

On the one hand, the measures have expanded the sales channels for WMPs. A wealth management company could commission other wealth management companies outside of banks to sell its WMPs after the measures became effective. Although WMPs, unlike mutual funds, still cannot be sold on a commission basis via a broader range of channels such as securities firms, third-party independent sales agencies, etc., the sales channels have already been enriched compared to before the measures were announced.

On the other hand, the measures explicitly provide that “no non-financial institution or individual may sell WMPs on a commission basis unless it has been approved by the financial supervision and regulation departments”. This means that third-party internet platforms and other specialist agencies without licences for commissioned WMP sales cannot sell products of wealth management companies on a commission basis.

Currently, financial institutions with licences for commissioned WMP sales mainly consist of banks, which have massive sales networks and abundant client bases. If banks can seize the initiatives according to the requirements in the measures, and actively bring in WMPs of different wealth management companies, their wealth management business segment shall expect significant growth.

王晋, Wang Jin, Paralegal, Jingtian & Gongcheng
Wang Jin
Paralegal
Jingtian & Gongcheng

Sales compliance

To further strengthen compliance management on sales of WMPs, the measures stipulate that sales agencies of WMPs should appoint departments and personnel responsible for reviews and supervision of the legitimacy and compliance of sales activities related to WMPs, and should ensure that such departments and personnel can fulfil duties independently and effectively.

Personnel from the above-mentioned departments are prohibited from assuming additional positions such as operation or management roles, which may have potential conflicts of interest with their existing job responsibilities. Both sales agencies and wealth management companies are required to perform risk evaluations and product ratings on WMPs, and come to joint agreements on consistent product rating standards.

Periodic assessments on sales agencies should be made by wealth management companies, which provides the basis for wealth management companies to monitor sales channels. Shared sales responsibilities between sales agencies and wealth management companies should be clearly defined.

Advertising

Another significant change in the measures is that stricter rules are imposed on the advertising and presentation of performance relative to the benchmark during the sales of WMPs. The measures clearly define WMPs as net worth management products that cannot guarantee principals and returns. On such basis, the measures further prohibit advertising of “expected returns” of net worth products.

In the past, performance relative to the benchmark could only be used to calculate investment returns and compensation for product managers, but often caused confusion among investors due to its misleading presentation. The measures list new requirements for advertising and presentation of performance, prohibit its singled-out or highlighted presentation, and require companies to give a detailed explanation on reasons for the choice of benchmark, basis for measurement, or methods used in the calculation.

Currently, different wealth management companies have various ways to disclose the performance of net worth products relative to benchmarks, including absolute returns, return ranges, linkages to securities indices, correlation to the benchmark interest rate of fixed deposits, etc. Whichever way is adopted, based on the latest requirement of the measures, wealth management companies and sales agencies must explain the calculation basis and relevant background to clients, such as reference to historical levels of similar products or similar strategies.

The latest requirement of the measures is good for prohibiting covert advertising of expected returns. It can promote a better transition towards net worth products and propel the removal of rigid redemption of WMPs.

Investor protection

The measures uphold the principle of suitability, i.e., selling suitable products to suitable investors. Based on existing regulatory rules, the specific requirement on evaluation of investors’ risk tolerance, due diligence and risk evaluation of products is further clarified.

Furthermore, the measures add and restate specific rules that protect the interest of investors, including the prohibition of soliciting investors to take short-term positions, investors of products undergoing fee adjustments being allowed to redeem their shares, etc.

It is noteworthy that the measures added new rules to information protection, which prohibit commissioned sales agencies from unauthorised disclosure of client information to any third party. The authors suggest that wealth management companies and sales agencies should amend relevant sales documents about WMPs accordingly, so as to gain authorisation from investors to use their information in compliance with the latest requirement of the measures.

Ren Guobing is a partner and Wang Jin is a paralegal at Jingtian & Gongcheng

collateral

Jingtian & Gongcheng

45/F, K. Wah Centre

1010 Huai Hai M. Road
Shanghai 200031, China

Tel: +86 135 8571 1176

E-mail:

ren.guobing@jingtian.com

wang.jin@jingtian.com

www.jingtian.com