围绕日本自动驾驶汽车的法律趋势

作者: 佐藤典仁森和饭野悠介,滨田松本法律事务所
0
48
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

日本

泰国

在日本,私营和公共部门正在寻求开展自动驾驶服务。几家公司已经宣布推出自动驾驶服务的计划,日本政府的目标是到2026年3月在全国约50个地点推出此类服务。

在人口不断下降的日本,维持和加强出行服务,特别是农村地区的出行服务,被视为当务之急。政府正在讨论将支持自动驾驶公交车等区域出行服务的技术商业化。为服务的顺利推进,还应对有关自动驾驶汽车的法律法规的适用性和解释作出清晰的阐述,例如,事故中如何界定民事和刑事责任,以及提高法律风险的可预测性。已有多个部门讨论这些法律问题,如数字厅审查Al时代自动驾驶汽车社会规则小组(SWG),本文作者Norihito Sato是该小组的成员。

本文讨论了日本自动驾驶汽车相关法律制度的现状和近期围绕该制度的讨论。

现行法律法规

Norihito Sato
佐藤典仁森
合伙人
滨田松本法律事务所
东京办公室
电话:+81 3 6266 8717
电子邮件:norihito.sato@mhm-global.com

可适用于自动驾驶汽车的现行法律法规包括:

  1. 《道路交通法》等交通规则;
  2. 关于车辆安全的规定,包括《道路运输车辆法》和《道路运输车辆安全标准》(安全标准);
  3. 关于事故民事责任的法律,包括《汽车责任保障法》和《产品责任法》,以及《民法典》等一般法律;
  4. 关于刑事责任的法律,包括《刑法》及其特别法《机动车驾驶死伤行为处罚法》等。

此外,为运营自动驾驶汽车获取或使用的数据,如车内数据,属于《个人信息保护法》规定的个人信息范畴的,获取或使用此类数据的服务提供商应遵守该法律。

本节概述了日本当前有关自动驾驶汽车的主要法律法规。

《道路交通法》

在日本,《道路交通法》规定了最高速度限制、减速驾驶和停车等交通规则,以及禁止酒后驾驶等司机责任。

2019年的《道路交通法》修正案增加了关于使用自动驾驶系统的驾驶员义务以及自动驾驶系统运行状态数据记录仪需求的规定。《道路交通法》与《道路运输车辆法》修正案都针对可以部署在公共道路上的L3级自动驾驶车辆作出了规定。

此外,2022年《道路交通法》修正案针对特定级别的自动驾驶——相当于无人驾驶的L4级自动驾驶——建立了许可制度。服务提供商必须获得当地相关公共安全委员会的许可。这一许可机制仅适用于远程监控的公共汽车、出租车和卡车等运输服务。

《道路运输车辆法》和《道路运输车辆安全标准》

《道路运输车辆法》规定了安全标准,这些是针对安全、污染预防和其他环境保护方面的技术标准,比如油耗测量标准。

只有符合安全标准的车辆才能在公共道路上行驶。

2019年修订的《道路运输车辆法》要求相当于L3级或更高级别的自动驾驶系统符合安全标准。此外,法律规定,如果国土交通省(MLIT)确定自动驾驶系统在某些条件下的性能符合安全标准,则应划定运行设计域(ODD)。

与此同时,还制定了自动驾驶系统的安全标准。例如,自动驾驶系统在运行时不得干扰其他交通的安全,并且必须确保乘客的安全。

在2019年《道路运输车辆法》修订之前,国土交通省于2018年9月制定了L3级和4级自动化车辆必须满足的安全要求指南,以促进安全自动驾驶车辆的开发和商业化。指南中有一项车辆安全要求指出,“自动化车辆必须防止在自动化车辆的运行设计领域发生合理可预见和可预防的涉及人身伤害的事故。”

《道路运输法》和《机动车货物运输服务法》

关于规范客运和货运业务的《道路运输法》和《机动车货物运输服务法》,相关省令于2023年进行了修订。修正案新规定了确保运输安全的措施以及承运人使用自动化车辆开展业务时应采取的程序。具体而言,承运人必须始终配备自动驾驶安全人员,负责确保自动车辆的操作安全,但不负责始终监控车辆周围环境,因为这些人员不是驾驶员。

民事责任

Yusuke Lino_MHM
饭野悠介
资深律师
滨田松本法律事务所
东京办公室
电话:+81 3 6266 8942
电子邮件:yusuke.iino@mhm-global.com

《汽车责任保障法》对《民法典》中涉及汽车交通事故的一般侵权责任作出了特别规定。根据《民法典》,受害者(索赔人)必须主张并证明犯罪者(义务人)的疏忽。

相比之下,根据该法案,车主将对第三方的人身伤害承担责任,除非他们证明自己免于承担责任,例如:(1)车主和司机没有过错;以及(2)车辆无缺陷。

这种责任在一定金额内由车主的强制性保险承保,如果事故是由汽车缺陷引起的,车主将承担责任,保险公司将支付受害者的保险索赔。保险公司再向制造商索赔。

2018年,国土交通省发布了一份报告,讨论了在自动驾驶汽车事故中如何适用民事责任,包括基于该法案的责任。

报告的结论是,应维持适用该法案规定的民事责任,以实现迅速的受害者救济和现有保险制度的稳定运行。另一方面,由于已经支付保险金的保险公司实际上很难就汽车缺陷造成的损害向汽车制造商寻求赔偿,因此有必要考虑一种机制,使保险公司能够有效地寻求这种赔偿。

根据《产品责任法》,如果受害者(索赔人)主张并能够证明产品存在缺陷,那么,无须证明制造商的疏忽即可获得赔偿损失。但是,“产品”不包括软件,本法规定的产品责任不适用于软件本身的缺陷。此外,软件是否存在缺陷应以软件交付时为准,即使软件在交付几年后更新。只有当这些法律问题得到解决时才能切实保障受害者受益利益。

刑事责任

日本有一项特别法规,对车祸的惩罚比《刑法》下的过失杀人或非故意伤害罪更严厉。目前日本还没有将这项特别法规和《刑法》规定的过失杀人或非故意伤害罪适用于自动驾驶车辆的判例。

特别法规通常假定人类驾驶员有责任,因此不太可能适用于自动驾驶车辆。至于《刑法》规定的过失杀人或非故意伤害罪能否适用以及如何适用于自动驾驶车辆也尚无解释,日本政府正在讨论如何提高刑事责任的可预测性。

未来展望

日本政府成立了数字厅(SWG),讨论包括事故发生时的法律责任在内的法律问题,目前相关问题仍在讨论。SWG正在讨论一些短期和长期的法律问题,以及未来的监管方向,不过,可以确定的是,必须满足两个目标: (1)确保受害者得到充分补偿;以及(2)促进使用先进技术的自动化车辆负责任地运行。SWG争取在2024年5月左右达成共识。

SWG还讨论了事故调查和数据共享机制,以提升社会对自动化车辆的接受度。从中长期来看,这些讨论不仅将界定与自动驾驶汽车相关的法律责任,还将决定更广泛的与AI技

术有关的法律责任。SWG的结论相当重要,因为它们预示着日本自动驾驶车辆相关法律法规的未来方向。

Mori Hamada & Matsumoto

森・滨田松本法律事务所

东京都千代田区丸之内2丁目6番1号

丸之内PARK BUILDING16层

东京 100-8222,日本

电话: +81 3 6212 8330

电邮:mhm_info@mhm-global.com

www.mhmjapan.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Latest legal trends in Japan on automated vehicles

    0
    311
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    JAPAN

    THAILAND

    In Japan, the private and the public sectors are seeking to implement self-driving services. Several companies have been announcing plans to offer self-driving services, and the Japanese government aims to introduce such services in about 50 locations in the country by March 2026.

    Norihito Sato
    Norihito Sato
    Partner
    Mori Hamada
    & Matsumoto
    Tokyo
    Tel: +81 3 6266 8717
    Email: norihito.sato@mhm-global.com

    In Japan, where the population is declining, maintaining and strengthening mobility services, especially in rural areas, is seen as urgent. The government is discussing the commercialisation of technologies that support regional mobility services such as self-driving buses. To smoothly introduce those services, it is also important to clarify the applicability and interpretation of laws and regulations regarding automated vehicles, such as civil and criminal liabilities in accidents, and to improve the predictability of legal risks. The government is discussing those legal issues at various bodies such as the Sub-Working Group on the Examination of Social Rules Concerning Automated Vehicles within the AI Era, Digital Agency (SWG), of which an author of this article, Norihito Sato, is a member.

    This article discusses the status and recent discussions regarding the legal systems related to automated vehicles in Japan.

    Current laws and regulations

    The laws and regulations on automated vehicles include: (1) traffic rules such as the Road Traffic Act; (2) those on the safety of vehicles, including the Road Transport Vehicles Act and the Safety Standards for Road Transport Vehicles (Safety Standards); (3) laws on civil liability in accidents, including the Automobile Liability Security Act and the Product Liability Act, and general laws such as the Civil Code; and (4) laws on criminal liability, including the Penal Code and its special law, the Act on Punishment of Acts Inflicting Death or Injury on Others by Driving a Motor Vehicle, etc.

    In addition, when certain data such as in-vehicle data, which falls within the definition of personal information under the Act on the Protection of Personal Information, are obtained or used in connection with the operation of automated vehicles, the service provider obtaining or using such data should comply with that law.

    This section provides an overview of the major current laws and regulations on automated vehicles in Japan.

    Road Traffic Act

    Yusuke Lino_MHM
    Yusuke Iino
    Senior Associate
    Mori Hamada
    & Matsumoto
    Tokyo
    Tel: +81 3 6266 8942
    Email: yusuke.iino@mhm-global.com

    In Japan, the Road Traffic Act provides for traffic rules, such as maximum speed limits, driving at reduced speeds and coming to a stop, and drivers’ responsibilities such as a prohibition on driving under the influence of alcohol.

    The 2019 amendment to the Road Traffic Act added provisions regarding the obligations of drivers using automated driving systems and the need for data recorders for the operating status of automated driving systems. Together with the amendment to the Road Transport Vehicle Act, the Road Traffic Act established provisions for level 3 automated vehicles, which can be deployed on public roads.

    In addition, the 2022 amendment to the Road Traffic Act introduced a permit mechanism for a specified automated driving, which is equivalent to level 4 automated driving without a human driver. The service provider must obtain the permission of the relevant local public safety commission. This permit mechanism applies only to transport services such as buses, taxis and trucks monitored remotely.

    Road Transport Vehicle Act and safety standards

    The Road Transport Vehicle Act stipulates the safety standards, which are technical standards for safety, pollution prevention and other environmental preservation. For example, the standards specify how to measure fuel consumption. Only vehicles that conform to the safety standards may be operated on public roads.

    The 2019 revision of the Road Transport Vehicle Act subjected automated driving systems equivalent to level 3 or higher to the safety standards. In addition, a system was established to grant operational design domain (ODD) if the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism (MLIT) determines that the performance of automated driving systems under certain conditions meets the safety standards.

    At the same time, the safety standards for automated driving systems were also established. For example, automated driving systems must not interfere with the safety of other traffic while in operation, and must ensure the safety of occupants.

    In September 2018, before the 2019 revision, the MLIT established guidelines for safety requirements that level 3 and 4 automated vehicles must meet, to promote the development and commercialisation of safe automated vehicles. In the guidelines, one vehicle safety requirement states that “automated vehicles must prevent reasonably foreseeable and preventable accidents involving bodily injury in the operational design domain (ODD) of automated vehicles.”

    Road Transportation Act, Act on Motor Vehicle Cargo

    Regarding the Road Transportation Act and the Act on Motor Vehicle Cargo Transportation Services, which regulate the business of transporting passengers and freight, the relevant ministerial ordinances were amended in 2023. The amendment newly stipulated measures to ensure transportation safety and the procedures to be taken when carriers conduct business using automated vehicles. Specifically, carriers are required at all times to have automated-driving-safety personnel, who are responsible for ensuring the safety of operation of automated vehicles but are not responsible for always monitoring the surroundings of the vehicles as these personnel are not drivers.

    Civil liability

    The Automobile Liability Security Act provides for special provisions against general tort liability under the Civil Code with respect to traffic accidents involving automobiles. Under the Civil Code, the victim (claimant) must allege and prove the negligence of the offender (obligor).

    In contrast, under the act, vehicle owners will be liable for bodily injuries of third parties unless they prove that they are exempt from liability, such as:

    (1) no fault of the owners and drivers; and (2) non-defect of the vehicles.

    Such liability is covered by the mandatory insurance of owners up to a certain amount, and if the accident is caused by a defect in the car, the owner will be liable, and the insurance company will pay the victim’s insurance claim. In turn, the insurance company will claim compensation from the manufacturer.

    In 2018, the MLIT published a report discussing how civil liability, including liability based on the act, is applied in the case of automated-vehicle accidents. The report concluded that civil liability under the act should be maintained to achieve prompt victim relief and stable operation of the existing insurance system. On the other hand, since it is practically difficult for insurance companies that have paid insurance to seek compensation from automobile manufacturers for damages caused by automobile defects, it is necessary to consider a mechanism that allows insurance companies to effectively seek such compensation.

    Under the Product Liability Act, victims (claimants) can claim damages even without proving the manufacturer’s negligence if they allege and prove the existence of a defect in the product. However, “product” does not include software, and product liability under this law does not apply to a defect in the software itself. In addition, whether a defect exists is determined at the time of the delivery of the product, even if the software is updated several years after delivery. These points should be legally addressed for the law to effectively benefit the victims.

    Criminal liability

    Japan has a special statute that punishes automobile accidents more severely than negligent homicide or unintentional injury under the Penal Code. There is no precedent regarding whether the special statute, negligent homicide or unintentional injury under the Penal Code applies in the case of automated vehicles.

    The special statute generally assumes that human drivers have obligations and, thus, is unlikely to apply to automated vehicles. As it is not clear how negligent homicide or unintentional injury under the Penal Code applies, the Japanese government is discussing how the predictability of criminal liability can be improved.

    Outlook

    The Japanese government established the SWG, the digital agency, to discuss legal issues including legal liability in the event of accidents, and discussions are underway. The SWG is discussing short and long-term issues, and the direction that should be taken from the perspectives of: (1) ensuring full redress for victims; and (2) promoting responsible operation of automated vehicles using advanced technologies, with the aim of reaching a consensus by around May 2024.

    Accident-investigation and data-sharing mechanisms are also being discussed in the SWG to promote social acceptance of automated vehicles. In the mid to long term, the discussion may lead to legal liability not only in relation to automated vehicles, but also in relation to AI technology in general. The conclusions of the SWG will be considered important as they will indicate the future direction of laws and regulations related to automated vehicles in Japan.

    Mori Hamada & Matsumoto

    MORI HAMADA & MATSUMOTO
    16th Floor, Marunouchi Park Building
    2-6-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda-ku
    Tokyo 100-8222, Japan
    Tel: +81 3 6212 8330
    Email: mhm_info@mhm-global.com

    www.mhmjapan.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link