养老产业投资并购模式简析

作者: 胡晓华、杨嘉欣,天达共和律师事务所
0
84

自2013年9月国务院发布《关于加快发展养老服务业的若干意见》以来,养老行业政策持续向好。人口老龄化和日益增长的健康养老市场供给严重不足,使得社会资本加速涌入养老产业,投资风口正在形成。

Cindy Hu, Partner, East & Concord Partners
胡晓华
合伙人
天达共和律师事务所

目前社会资本投资养老产业在中国尚处在早期发展阶段。养老产业的 “公益性” “社会性” 属性,市场回报的长期性和不确定性,中国养老机构法律主体的多样性和特殊性,也为养老产业并购带来一定难度。本文将结合实操经验,对养老机构投资并购主要模式做分析。

投资并购主要模式

投资新建

养老机构按照 “是否以营利为目的 并向投资人或举办人进行利润分配” 为标准,可分为营利性与非营利性两大类,并分别于主管市场监督管理部门 (针对营利性养老机构) 、 事业单位登记管理机构 (针对事业法人性质的非营利性养老机构) 或民政部门 (针对民办非企业单位性质非营利性养老机构)办理登记,并向民政部门办理备案;医养结合的养老机构应具备医疗机构执业许可或在卫健部门备案。

公建民营

此模式多用于社会资本与政府出资设立的养老机构合作项目中。具体操作模式可分为以下几种:

委托经营。政府出资建设养老机构后将其部分或全部委托给社会资本经营、管理,由运营方自负盈亏,或政府向运营方支付管理费并保留经营收益权,或双方按照经营状况共同分享收益。

租赁经营。政府将养老机构的场地及设施出租给社会资本使用并收取租金,社会资本负责经营管理,保证资产安全,负责场地及硬件设施的维护责任,自负盈亏,并向政府缴纳租金。

BOT模式。养老机构作为公共基础设施,由社会资本和政府共同建设。该模式下,社会资本参与养老机构建设,向社会提供公共服务,包括建设、经营、移交三个过程,由社会资本负责运营,当经营权期满时,养老机构须无偿上交政府。

并购现有养老机构

营利性机构在法律主体上主要包括公司制及/非公司制企业法人、外商投资企业、个体工商户、个人独资企业、合伙企业等营利性法人或非法人主体。非营利性机构则主要包括事业单位法人、民办非企业单位两类。

社会资本并购营利性养老机构,尤其是公司制法人性质的机构,一般可采用股权或资产并购方式,操作相对简单。但如养老机构为个人独资企业、个体工商户等非法人主体类型,在 投资主体、并购模式上存在一定限制。

具体而言,公司、组织或其他非自然人不能对个人独资企业性质的养老机构实施股权并 购,该类养老机构的投资主体只能是自然人;国有企业、国有独资公司、上市公司、社会团 体不能收购普通合伙企业类型的养老机构,也不能受让有限合伙企业类型养老机构中普通 合伙人所持的财产份额,并成为普通合伙人。

Yang Jiaxin, Associate, East & Concord Partners
杨嘉欣
律师
天达共和律师事务所

社会资本并购事业单位法人性质养老机构目前存在法律障碍。一方面,事业单位法人不存在 “股东” “股权” 之概念,只有 “举办人” “举办权益”, “举办权” 是否可以视同公司 “股权” 出资或交易,目前缺乏法律依据。

另一方面,事业单位的举办人主要为各级政府(如民政局),实践中,政府举办的养老机构举办人变更,仅限于因政府机构改革或其他机构调整造成举办单位名称变化或事业单位隶属关系变更等情形,因此,社会资本也难以通过变更事业单位举办人方式实施并购。再者,事业单位是以公益目的成立,不向举办人分配利润,社会资本并购此类性质养老机构,难以实现投资回报。

因民办非盈利性养老机构 (下称 “民非”) 的非营利性、资产捐赠性、清算公益性,社会资本难以通过常见股权或资产并购方式实施并购。

社会资本并购民非主要采用间接股权并购或将其改制为营利性养老机构 (“改制模式”)。后者操作流程复杂、操作难度较大,实践中更普遍采用间接股权并购,具体分两种情形:

East & Concord Partners
“欢迎关注天达共和公众号”

(1)对于举办人为公司制法人情形的民非,社会资本可通过对举办人公司(包括其控股股东、实际控制人)进行股权收购 或增资扩股的方式取得举办人公司控股权方式,实施并购;

(2) 对于举办人为自然人或非法人主体情形,社会资本可通过对举办人及/或其控制人新设的服务/或管理公司作为运营实体 (“新主体”,新主体将享有对养老机构经营管理权)进行股权收购或增资扩股的方式取得新主体的控股权。

天达共和律师事务所合伙人胡晓华、 律师杨嘉欣

Reform天达共和律师事务所
北京市朝阳区东三环北路8号
亮马河大厦写字楼1座20层 邮编:100004
电话: +86 10 6590 6639
传真: +86 10 6510 7030
电子信箱:

cindyhu@east-concord.com
yangjiaxin@east-concord.com

www.east-concord.com

Investment and M&A modes in the senior care industry

By Cindy Hu and Yang Jiaxin, East & Concord Partners
0
53

Since the release of Several Opinions on Accelerating the Development of the Elderly Service Industry, policies towards the senior-care sector have continued to be positive. An aging population and the severe undersupply in the growing market for healthy aging have led to an accelerated influx of social capital into the senior-care industry, making it an appealing investment area.

Cindy Hu, Partner, East & Concord Partners
Cindy Hu
Partner
East & Concord Partners

At present, social capital investment in the industry is still in the early development stage in China. The “public welfare” and “social” attributes of the senior-care industry, the long-term nature and uncertainty of market returns, the diversity and particularity of legal subjects of our senior-care institutions, contribute to the difficulties of M&A in this industry. This article will draw on practical experience and make an analysis of M&A models for the sector.

The main models

New construction. Senior care institutions can be divided into for-profit and non-profit institutions according to the standard of whether they aim to make profits and distribute these to investors or organisers.

Have they registered with the competent market supervision and management department (for-profit institutions)? The public institution registration management authority (non-profit institutions with the nature of a public institution legal person)? Or the civil affairs department (non-profit institutions with the nature of a private non-enterprise unit)? They should all have filed with the civil affairs department. Senior-care institutions combining medical and elderly services should have a medical institution practice permit or filed with the health department for the record.

Public construction with private operation

This model is mainly applied in projects funded by both social capital and government. The operational model can be further divided into the following modes:

Authorised operation: After the government finances the construction of senior-care institutions and entrusts part or all of their operations and management to social capital, the operator will be responsible for profit and loss, or the government will pay management fees to the operator and retain the right to income, or both parties will share the income according to the operation status.

Lease model: The government leases out the sites and facilities of the institutions to social capital for use and collects rents. Social capital is responsible for the operation and management of the institutions, ensures the safety of assets, and is also responsible for the maintenance of the sites and facilities, and is responsible for profit and loss and pays rents to the government.

Build-operate-transfer (BOT): As public infrastructure, senior care institutions are jointly built by social capital and the government. Under this model, social capital can participate in the construction and provide a public service. This model includes three processes, i.e., building, operating and transferring. Social capital is responsible for their operation. When the operation right expires, senior care institutions must be handed over to the government without compensation.

Yang Jiaxin, Associate, East & Concord Partners
Yang Jiaxin
Associate
East & Concord Partners

Mergers of existing institutions

In terms of legal subjects, for-profit senior-care institutions mainly include corporate and/or unincorporated corporate entities, foreign-invested enterprises, individual entrepreneurs, sole proprietorships, partnerships and other for-profit legal or unincorporated entities. Non-profit institutions mainly include legal persons of public institutions and private non-enterprise units.

When social capital merges for-profit institutions, especially those of corporate entities, usually equity or asset acquisition may be adopted, which can be easily operated. But if the institution is an individual entrepreneur, sole proprietorship, partnership and other unincorporated entity, there are some limits in terms of the investor and model of M&A.

Specifically, companies, organisations or other entities than natural persons cannot merge or acquire the equity of a wholly individual-owned senior-care institution, which can only be invested by natural persons; state-owned enterprises, wholly state-owned companies, listed companies and social organisations cannot acquire a senior-care institution in the form of a general partnership, nor can they receive transfer of the property shares held by the general partners in a senior-care institution in the form of limited partnership and become a general partner.

There are legal obstacles for social capital to merge or acquire a senior-care institution in the form of the public institution legal person. On the one hand, there is no such concept as “shareholder” or “equity” in a public institution legal person, only “organiser” and “right to hold”. There is no legal basis to whether the “right to hold” can be treated as “equity”.

On the other hand, the organisers of institutions are mainly the governments at all levels (such as the civil affairs bureau), and in practice, the change of organisers of government-run senior-care institutions is limited to the change of the name of the organisers or the change of the affiliation of the institutions due to the reform of government agencies or other institutional adjustments. Thus, it is difficult for social capital to implement M&A by changing the organisers of institutions.

Moreover, institutions are established for public welfare purposes and do not distribute profits to the organisers. Thus, it is difficult for social capital to merge and acquire such institutions to achieve financial consolidation and return on investment.

Because of the non-profit, asset donation and public welfare nature of private non-profit senior-care institutions (“private institutions”), it is difficult for social capital to merge and acquire them through common equity or asset mergers and acquisitions.

Social capital acquisitions of private non-government institutions are mainly through indirect equity acquisitions or conversions to for-profit institutions (“conversion mode”). The latter is a complex and difficult process, and indirect equity M&A is more commonly used in practice, specifically in two situations:


(1)
in the case where the organiser is a corporate legal entity, social capital can acquire a controlling stake in the organiser’s company (including its controlling shareholder or actual controller) through equity acquisition or capital increase;

East & Concord Partners(2) in the case where the organiser is a natural person or an unincorporated entity, social capital may acquire a controlling stake in the new service/or management company established by the organiser and/or its controller as the operating entity (“new entity”, which will enjoy the right to operate and manage the institution) by way of equity acquisition or capital increase of the new entity.

Cindy Hu is a partner and Yang Jiaxin is an associate at East & Concord Partners

Reform

East & Concord Partners
20/F, Landmark Building Tower 1
8 East 3rd Ring Road North
Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Tel: +86 10 6590 6639
Fax: +86 10 6510 7030
E-mail:

cindyhu@east-concord.com
yangjiaxin@east-concord.com

www.east-concord.com