“中华老字号”上市的无形资产问题

作者: 刘璐,国枫律师事务所
0
63

“中华老字号”企业多为消费品生产销售企业,其商标及商号凝结着发行人多年来形成的核心品牌价值,而专利及非专利技术等亦决定着发行人与其他品牌的同类产品在产品性能、工艺等方面的核心差异,毋庸置疑地属于发行人的重要甚至是核心资产。因此,本文拟结合目前的审核政策对“中华老字号”企业的无形资产问题进行分析,以期为“中华老字号”们提供参考。

无形资产的来源

刘璐 国枫律师事务所
刘璐
实习律师
国枫律师事务所

“中华老字号”企业在长久的历史传承过程中,往往会存在多代传人,进而存在多个分支;加之传承者在前期对商标、商号及专利等知识产权的保护意识不强,因此极有可能在无形资产权属问题上陷入旷日持久的争议。

《首发业务若干问题解答》(二)规定,“对发行人业务经营或收入实现有重大影响的商标、专利、专有技术以及特许经营权等重要资产或技术存在重大纠纷或诉讼,已经或者未来将对发行人财务状况或经营成果产生重大影响”属于影响发行人持续经营能力的重要情形。因此,从监管机构的角度,首先会关注无形资产来源,具体而言:(1)说明现有的商标、商号及专利等知识产权的来源及历史演变过程,取得方式是否合法合规,如涉及所有权人的变更、转让,还需说明相关知识产权归属主体的历史变化过程,资产转让对价是否公平、合理;(2)如存在同源的商号或类似商标,通过与对方的来源及历史演变过程进行比对,进而说明双方的差异;(3)知识产权是否存在重大权属纠纷,是否对发行人构成不利影响。

其中,如发行人与其它主体就无形资产的权属存在权属纠纷,需说明发行人与案件其他方是否存在或曾存在授权或许可关系,发行人是否为侵权人,且如存在发行人撤诉、发行人诉讼请求被驳回、和解调解等方式结案的,需同时说明背景情况,涉诉情况是否对发行人存在重大不利影响。

值得注意的是,由于“中华老字号”企业早期多为集体所有制企业或全民所有制企业形式,随着国内商事法律的发展变化,陆续变更为现代化的有限责任公司或股份有限公司。因此,在涉及国有成分的前提下,其改制的过程中的无形资产转让亦为监管机构的关注重点,监管部门将结合国有资产监管规则,重点关注其是否完整履行国有资产转让的监管审批程序、是否获得国资主管部门的同意、是否存在国有资产或国有集体资产流失等情形。

无形资产的使用

一个具有悠久历史的“中华老字号”对消费者的影响是潜移默化且无可比拟的,其价值及复杂的历史沿革决定了在实际使用过程中会存在多种多样的问题,除要求发行人列明其名下商号、商标等知识产权的具体产品及其他情况外,监管机构通常会关注下述问题。

如存在同源商标或商号,且各方的商标、商号均取得有权部门的核准,需结合中国《反不正当竞争法》等法律法规说明是否存在商标、商号混同的情形,是否会导致消费者对发行人产品及其他品牌产品产生混淆。

如在商标、商号或专利等知识产权的使用过程中,存在对外授权他人使用发行人知识产权的情形,除需说明授权的具体安排(如有效期、权利及责任、义务等)及到期后的安排外,还需就对被授权方产品质量的管控措施进行说明,及发行人与被授权方使用同一商标生产同类产品是否构成直接市场竞争等。

无形资产的保护

鉴于“中华老字号”价值巨大,且常伴有权属纠纷或侵权行为的发生,监管机构通常会要求发行人说明其对知识产权等无形资产采取了何种保护措施,包括但不限于对商标商号侵权的事前预防措施、后续维权措施等、对非专利技术的保护措施,及该等措施是否有效。这也是需要“中华老字号”企业重点关注之所在。

近年来,从贵州茅台、全聚德、北京同仁堂,到张小泉、五芳斋等,越来越多的“中华老字号”企业在历久弥新的过程中欲借助现代资本市场的力量,焕发新的光彩与活力。但是知识产权这只拦路虎的力量不可小觑,希望“中华老字号”企业能够提前对企业知识产权进行布局、厘清权属问题、打击侵权行为、严格知识产权的使用,在做好充分准备的情况下接受监管及市场的检验。

domestic capital

Grandway Law Offices
北京市东城区建国门内大街26号
新闻大厦7、8层 邮编:100005

电话: +86 10 8800 4488
传真: +86 10 6609 0016

电子信箱: liulu@grandwaylaw.com

www.grandwaylaw.com

Intangible assets of issuers owning ‘time-honoured brands’

By Liu Lu, Grandway Law Offices
0
97

Most issuers owning a “China time-honoured brand”, a title granted by the Ministry of Commerce to enterprises existing before 1956, are manufacturers and merchants of consumer goods with trademarks and trade names embodying their core brand value entrenched over the years.

As technologies, patented or otherwise, continued setting an issuer’s products apart from those of other brands in terms of performance and craftsmanship, these are undoubtedly among their vital or even core assets.

In this article, the author analyses the intangible assets of China’s time-honoured brand owners based on current regulations, providing referential value to these reputed brands.

SOURCES AND OWNERSHIP

Liu Lu Grandway Law Offices
Liu Lu
Paralegal
Grandway Law Offices

Due to their lengthy histories, China time-honoured brands have been passed down through several generations, many splitting into multiple branches. In addition, early owners’ awareness of protecting such intellectual property rights as trademarks, trade names and patents was generally weak. As a result, ownership of these intangible assets frequently fell victim to long-term disputes.

In Certain Questions and Answers on IPO Business (II), the China Securities Regulatory Commission (CSRC) notes that “major disputes or lawsuits over trademarks, patents, know-hows, franchise rights and other important assets or technologies that have a material impact on the issuer’s business operation or revenue realisation, which have had or will have a material impact on the issuer’s financial status or operating results in the future” are important situations that affect the issuer’s capacity as a going concern.

Therefore, regulators will first pay attention to the sources of intangible assets, specifically: (1) explanation on the sources and historical development of existing trademarks, trade names, patents and other intellectual property rights, whether the acquisition is legal and compliant and, in the case of change and transfer of ownership, the historical record of asset transfer, and whether the consideration is fair and reasonable; (2) explanation on the differences between homologous trade names or similar trademarks through comparison on their sources and historical development; and (3) whether there is a material ownership dispute over intellectual property rights, and whether it adversely affects the issuer.

If there is a dispute between the issuer and others over ownership of intangible assets, it is necessary to explain whether there is, or has been, any authorisation or licensing relationship in the case, and whether the issuer is an infringer.

If a case is settled by the issuer’s withdrawal of lawsuit, rejection of the issuer’s claims, conciliation and mediation, it is also necessary to explain the background and whether the lawsuit involved has a material adverse impact on the issuer.

It is worth noting that most owners of China time-honoured brands used to be collectively owned, or owned by the whole people, in the early days. But with the development and changes of domestic commercial laws, they gradually morphed into modern limited liability companies or joint stock companies.

Therefore, if state-owned assets are involved, the transfer of intangible assets during the process of restructuring is also the focus of attention of regulators. They will consider whether such companies have fully fulfilled the regulatory approval procedures for transfer of state-owned assets, whether they have obtained consent of the competent department of state-owned assets, and whether there was loss of state-owned or collective-owned assets.

ACTUAL USE

The impact of China time-honoured brands on consumers can be subtle yet incomparable. Given their high value and complicated historical development, it is no surprise that various problems plague their actual use.

Apart from requiring issuers to list specific products concerning the trade names, trademarks and other intellectual property rights under its name, regulators usually pay attention to the following issues.

If there are homologous trademark or trade names, and the trademarks and trade names of all parties have been approved by the competent authorities, it is necessary to explain whether there is any confusion as set out under the Anti-Unfair Competition Law and other laws and regulations, and whether it will mislead consumers in confusing the issuer’s products with those of other brands.

If, when using trademarks, trade names, patents or other intellectual property rights, the issuer has authorised others to use the intellectual property rights, it is necessary to explain the specific authorisation arrangement (validity period, rights, responsibilities and obligations), and the arrangement after expiration. It is also necessary to explain the licensee’s product quality control measures, and whether it constitutes direct market competition for the issuer and licensee to use the same trademark to produce similar products.

PROTECTION MEASURES

Given the considerable value of China time-honoured brands and frequent occurrence of ownership disputes or infringements, regulators often require issuers to explain measures taken to protect such intangible assets as intellectual property rights. These include, but are not limited to: preventive measures for trademark infringement; follow-up rights protection measures; and protective measures for non-patented technologies, as well as their effectiveness. Owners of China time-honoured brands should likewise focus on these aspects.

KEY TAKEAWAY

In recent years, a growing number of owners of China time-honoured brands – such as iconic baijiu Kweichow Moutai, heritage duck restaurant Quanjude, imperial Chinese medicine Beijing Tongrentang, historical scissor manufacturer Zhang Xiaoquan and time-honoured zongzi dumpling brand WuFangZhai – aspire to harness the power of capital markets to sustain or rejuvenate their proud trajectories.

However, intellectual property rights, if improperly handled, can seriously hinder the process. Owners of China time-honoured brands are therefore advised to make preemptive plans for intellectual property rights, clarify ownership issues, crack down on infringement, strictly enforce their use, and fully prepare for regulatory and market inspection.

domestic capital

Grandway Law Offices
7-8/F News Plaza
No. 26, Jianguomennei Avenue
Beijing, 100005, China

Tel: +86 10 8800 4488
Fax: +86 10 6609 0016

E-mail: liulu@grandwaylaw.com

www.grandwaylaw.com