需要为基础设施建设建立一家开发性金融机构

作者: HSA Advocates律师事务所 Dipti Lavya Swain和Shruti Sundararajan
0
263

发性金融机构(DFI),也称开发银行或开发性金融公司,是为社会发展项目提供资金的机构。开发性金融机构一般由政府或慈善机构建立并所有,资助那些需要资金以抵消投资收益减少的项目,以追求社会发展目标。开发性金融机构在放贷和促进经济方面发挥着关键作用,特别是在发展中国家。

Dipti-Lavya-Swain,-Partner,-HSA-Advocates
Dipti Lavya Swain
合伙人
HSA Advocates律师事务所

基础设施领域的开发性金融机构

印度有多家机构为电力、农业、住房、外贸和工业发展等关键部门的基础设施建设提供帮助。但是,仍需一个能够快速开始帮助核心基础设施项目的机构。

印度政府有意推动基础设施建设。印度国家转型委员会(NITI Aayog,一家政府智库)估计,到2030年,印度将需要4.5万亿美元资助基础设施建设,而这一梦想仍然遥遥无期。持续流行的新冠疫情更增加了基础设施支出为经济增长提供动力的必要性,而以基础设施为重点的开发性金融机构将有助于启动经济。政府已提出6500多个需要大量资金的基础设施项目,这些项目给政府施加了压力,要求政府为这些项目建立一家开发性金融机构。大型金融机构历来向基础设施部门放贷,其巨额坏账更加剧了这种需求。考虑到基础设施项目的融资周期较长,银行资产和负债之间的缺口已因坏账而进一步加大,基础设施项目的投资将变得不可持续。

Shruti-Sundararajan,-Associate,-HSA-Advocates
Shruti Sundararajan
律师
HSA Advocates律师事务所

政府举措

2020年7月,印度储备银行行长表示,印度不应仅依赖银行为基础设施项目提供资金。政府似乎正考虑尽快设立一家新的开发性金融机构,以弥补基础设施融资的长期缺口,该机构将根据国家基础设施管道计划(NIP)为社会和经济基础设施项目提供资金。国家基础设施管道计划拟设立1.4万亿美元的基金,并由私营部门提供额外资金,支持国家和各邦政府实施的785个项目。

恰当的模式

这就产生了一个问题:开发性金融机构是一家国有机构,还是一家政府持有49%股份的公私合营机构。一方面,由政府拥有和控制的开发性金融机构将确保所需资金能够到位。然而,政府控制往往导致风险规避,违背开发性金融机构的宗旨。另一方面,私有化的开发性金融机构要求政府信任私营部门,并对待其与国有开发性金融机构一样。因此,需要仔细起草合同。作为少数股东的政府须允许该机构独立运作,以便其迅速作出决策,并确保向项目提供流动资金。监管和合规性要求不应过于复杂,以确保项目顺利完工。

为确保开发性金融机构(无论是政府控制的还是私有化的)有足够的资本,政府应提供协助,例如,将其证券指定为符合法定流动性比率的证券,以说服银行认购此类证券并履行附带义务,开发性金融机构能将其证券出售给银行,而银行反过来可从中获得利息,并确保偿付能力。鉴于开发性金融机构的投资组合将包括长期高风险项目融资,政府的另一项支持措施是贴现或低成本融资。而以市场利率筹集长期资金只会增加开发性金融机构的融资成本,并可能导致大量不良资产。

未来的道路

中国、巴西和新加坡的开发性金融机构在国内和国际市场都取得了成功。在印度,国家基础设施管道计划工作组正努力改变银行和金融机构的融资方式,并通过创建一家信贷增长12%到14%的开发性金融机构,为长期基础设施提供融资。私有化开发性金融机构似乎是更好的模式,因为目前私人资本远远超过公共资金。还需要建立标准化、精简的管理框架,尽管政府参与其中,但决策和管理责任仍由私营部门承担。无论如何,都应该存在一种共生关系,形成可靠高效的开发性金融机构,为项目融资,最终促进经济发展。

Dipti Lavya Swain是HAS Advocate律师事务所合伙人,Shruti Sundararajan是该所律师。

policy

HSA Advocates
81/1, Adchini, Sri Aurobindo Marg
New Delhi – 110 017
India
Construction House 5/F Walchand Hirachand Marg, Ballard Estate
Mumbai – 400 001
India
Contact details
Tel: +91 11 6638 7000 Fax: +91 11 6638 7099
Tel: +91 22 4340 0400 Fax: +91 22 4340 0444
Email: mail@hsalegal.com
Website: www.hsalegal.com

Infra needs a development finance institution

By Dipti Lavya Swain and Shruti Sundararajan, HSA Advocates
0
115

A development finance institution (DFI), also known as a development bank or a development finance company, is one that provides funding for social development projects. Generally established and owned by governments or charitable institutions, DFIs fund projects that require capital to offset reduced financial returns on investment as they pursue social development objectives. DFIs play a pivotal role in extending credit and boosting economies, especially in developing countries.

Dipti-Lavya-Swain,-Partner,-HSA-Advocates
Dipti Lavya Swain
Partner
HSA Advocates

DFIs in infrastructure

India has several institutions that aid infrastructure development in key sectors such as power, agriculture, housing, foreign trade and the development of industries. However, there is a clear need for an institution which can promptly take up and help core infrastructure projects.

The government is intent on boosting infrastructure development. NITI Aayog (the National Institution for Transforming India, a government think tank,) has estimated that US$4.5 trillion will be needed by 2030 to fund infrastructure, a dream that is still far-off. The ongoing pandemic has underlined the need for infrastructure spending to power economic growth, and an infrastructure-focused DFI will help to kickstart the economy. The government has already put forward over 6,500 infrastructure projects that will require significant funding, putting pressure on the government to establish a DFI for such projects. This need is exacerbated by significant bad debts carried by large financial institutions that have historically lent to the infrastructure sector. The gap between banks’ assets and liabilities, already increased by bad debts will become unsustainable in infrastructure investment, given the long funding periods of such projects.

Shruti-Sundararajan,-Associate,-HSA-Advocates
Shruti Sundararajan
Associate
HSA Advocates

Government initiatives

In July 2020, the governor of the Reserve Bank of India stated that the country should not rely only on banks for the funding of infrastructure projects. It seems that the government is considering setting up a new DFI, as quickly as possible, to bridge gaps in long-term infrastructure financing, which will finance social and economic infrastructure projects alike, under the National Infrastructure Pipeline (NIP). The NIP envisages setting up a fund of US$1.4 trillion, supporting 785 projects undertaken by the national and state governments, with additional financing from the private sector.

The appropriate model

There arises the question as to whether the DFI should be government owned, or a public private partnership with the government holding 49%. On the one hand, a government-owned and controlled DFI will ensure that required funding will be forthcoming. However, government control often leads to a risk-averse management, thus defeating the DFI’s purpose. On the other hand, a privatized DFI requires the government to trust the private sector and to treat such a DFI in the same way as a state-owned DFI. Careful contract drafting is required. The government as the minority stakeholder will have to allow the institution to function independently to enable swift decision-making and to ensure the provision of liquidity to projects. Regulatory and compliance requirements should be less onerous resulting in fewer delays to project completions.

To ensure that the DFI, whether government controlled or privatized, is sufficiently capitalized the government should assist it by, for example designating its securities as statutory liquidity ratio eligible, which will persuade banks to subscribe to such securities and fulfil incidental obligations and enable DFIs to sell their securities to banks which will, in turn, earn interest on them and ensure solvency. Another government support measure would be discounted or low cost financing, given that the investment portfolio of the DFI would comprise long-term high-risk project finance. Raising long-term funds at market rates will only increase financing costs for the DFI and may lead to a large number of non-performing assets.

The way forward

DFIs in China, Brazil and Singapore have been successful in both domestic and international markets. In India, a NIP task force is trying to change the financing approaches of banks and financial institutions as well as providing long-term infrastructure funding by creating a DFI with a credit growth of 12-14%. A privatized DFI would seem to be the better model, as at the moment private capital exceeds public funding by a large margin. What is needed is the establishment of standardized and streamlined regulatory frameworks where, despite government participation, decision-making and executive responsibilities rest with the private sector. In any event there should exist a symbiotic relationship, leading to a reliable and efficient DFI that provides project financing and eventually boosts the economy.

Dipti Lavya Swain is a partner and Shruti Sundararajan is an associate.

HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates
81/1, Adchini
Sri Aurobindo Marg
New Delhi – 110 017
India

 

Construction House

5/F Walchand Hirachand Marg
Ballard Estate
Mumbai – 400 001
India

 

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 6638 7000 Fax: +91 11 6638 7099
Tel: +91 22 4340 0400 Fax: +91 22 4340 0444
Email: mail@hsalegal.com
Website: www.hsalegal.com