香港拟以补贴吸引开放式基金型公司入驻

0
58
Hong Kong lures open-ended fund companies with subsidies, 香港拟以补贴吸引开放式基金型公司入驻

在2021-22年财政预算案演辞中,香港财政司司长确认了将于何时提交立法建议,允许外地投资基金迁册来港并注册为开放式基金型公司,他还宣布,政府将对此类公司的新设或迁册过程中产生的成本进行补贴。这些最新的措施代表了港府不断推进和激励使用香港开放式基金制度的重要举措。

香港于2018年开始推行开放式基金型公司制度,体现了政府巩固香港作为国际资产和财富管理中心这一地位的目标。2020年9月,香港证券及期货事务监察委员会(证监会)宣布了对《开放式基金型公司守则》的修订,其中涵盖了多项促进私人开放式基金型公司发展的激励措施,包括放开担任保管人的实体类型、取消投资限制,以及宣布持续发展迁册来港的能力。香港证监会于2020年12月宣布进一步改革措施,包括确认客户尽职调查的要求,同时通过更新常见问题的答复来澄清监管要求,从而加强指导。

财政预算案演辞中还包含其他措施,这些措施将继续努力使开放式基金型公司成为有吸引力的选择,包括:

(1) 确认拟于今年第二季度提交立法建议,允许外地投资基金迁册来港注册为开放式基金型公司

(2) 拟在未来三年内,为在香港设立或迁册来港的开放式基金型公司补贴其付予本地专业服务提供商费用的70%,上限为每家开放式基金型公司100万港元

香港证监会将会在适当时候公布如何获得补贴的相关详情。

总结

拟议的补贴措施是一项受欢迎的福利,可能会大幅降低在港设立开放式基金型公司或外地基金迁册来港的成本。在人们考虑资产和财富管理的注册地时,这些措施将进一步增强香港作为他们优先选择的信心。

《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。 读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

Hong Kong lures open-ended fund companies with subsidies

0
226
Hong Kong lures open-ended fund companies with subsidies, 香港拟以补贴吸引开放式基金型公司入驻

In the 2021-22 budget speech, the financial secretary of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region confirmed the intended timing for submission of a legislative proposal to allow foreign investment funds to re-domicile to Hong Kong for registration as an Open-ended Fund Company (OFC). The financial secretary also announced subsidies for the costs of setting up a new OFC or re-domiciling of foreign investment funds registering as an OFC in Hong Kong. The latest measures represent important steps in ongoing enhancements and incentives to promote the use of the OFC regime.

Hong Kong’s OFC regime started in 2018, reflecting the government’s aim to consolidate the city’s status as an international asset and wealth management centre. In September 2020, amendments to the Code on Open-ended Fund Companies announced by the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) contained several welcome enhancements for private OFCs, including liberalisation of the types of entities that can act as custodian, removal of investment restrictions, and announcement of ongoing development of a re-domiciliation capability. Further enhancements announced by the SFC in December 2020 included confirmation of customer due diligence requirements and enhanced guidance in the form of updated frequently asked questions to clarify custodial requirements.

The budget speech also contained additional measures that continue efforts to make OFCs a compelling option, including:

(1) Confirmation of the planned submission of a legislative proposal in the second quarter of this year to allow foreign investment funds to re-domicile to Hong Kong for registration as an OFC

(2) An intention to provide subsidies to cover 70% of the expenses paid to local professional service providers for OFCs set up in, or re-domiciled to Hong Kong in the coming three years, subject to a cap of HK$1 million per OFC

The SFC is expected to announce relevant details of how the subsidies may be obtained in due course.

Conclusion

The proposed subsidies are a welcome benefit, with the potential to significantly reduce the costs of establishing an OFC in Hong Kong or re-domiciling a foreign fund for registration. They provide further compelling argument to consider Hong Kong as a domicile of first choice for asset and wealth management.

Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com