澳大利亚采矿权益的持有模式

作者: 盛冕、黄保华,博雷道盛
0
690
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

澳大利亚,联邦和州政府及政府机构很少直接参与矿产资源开发事业,从事勘探和生产活动的一般是私人企业。企业依照法定的许可制度从相关政府部门取得许可证,从而获得开展勘探和生产活动的权利。

盛冕 Michael Sheng
盛冕
合伙人
博雷道盛

外国企业要持有澳大利亚采矿许可证的权益,最常见的途径是设立公司或投资于合资企业。

企业从事的采矿业务不同(例如勘探、生产以及设施作业),所需的安排可能随之而异。具体选择何种安排取决于有关各方的专业优势和风险偏好以及对下文所述事项的考量。

在合资结构中,合资协议阐明合资的范围、目的和期限,确定所交付的资产,明确并量化各方权益,并规定合资企业的运营、管理和控制。合资协议同时还涵盖资金的认缴、持有和支出,责任的分摊,违约后果,合资产品的使用和处置,权益转让以及退出合资结构等事项。

在澳大利亚,通常采用的合资结构有两种 –公司型合资和非公司型合资。两种结构各有不同的法律和税务影响,需要结合各方的商业目标加以审慎权衡和评估。

公司型合资

公司型合资即特殊目的公司,以各合资方为公司股东。合资企业具有独立于各投资人的法人实体地位。各方在签署股东协议的同时成立特殊目的公司,由特殊目的公司拥有和操作合资项目,并配置由各方任命的约定数量的董事。

非公司型合资

在非公司型合资中,各方约定进行商业合作,但每一方在合资项目中的权益和权利由该方单独(而非共同)持有。由于不存在公司结构,因此非公司型合资企业通过合资协议规定各方关系、合资项目的运营和各方彼此之间的义务。

对比

公司型合资和非公司型合资之分別上表归纳了公司型合资和非公司型合资的主要特征。

竞争法方面的考量

黄保华 Peter Hwang
黄保华
高级律师
博雷道盛

如果属于竞争者之间成立合资,则应注意避免违反澳大利亚2010年《竞争与消费者法》的禁止垄断行为规定。根据这项法律,达成或实行一项“垄断条款”可能同时导致民事和刑事处罚。

禁止垄断协议和安排的规定也允许存在例外情形。此类例外情形称之为合资例外规定,旨在避免正当的商业合作行为受到处罚,但只适用于特定形式的合资结构。

另一种选择是,可以就所拟议的垄断协议或安排向澳大利亚竞争和消费者委员会申请官方授权,从而免于被提起公诉。但是,鉴于授权程序相当耗时且需公开,在申请此项授权之前最好先尝试申请适用合资例外规定。

盛冕是博雷道盛上海代表处合伙人,黄保华是博雷道盛布里斯班办公室高级律师

Blake Dawson博雷道盛上海代表处

上海市南京西路1168号中信泰富广场3408-10

邮编 Postal code: 200041

电话 Tel: 86 21 5100 1796

传真 Fax: 86 21 5292 5161

电子信箱 E-mail:

michael.sheng@blakedawson.com

peter.hwang@blakedawson.com

www.blakedawson.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Holding mining interests in Australia

    By Michael Sheng and Peter Hwang, Blake Dawson
    0
    221

    In Australia, the federal and state governments and their agencies rarely participate directly in mining ventures. Private companies conduct exploration and production operations. Entities gain the right to undertake exploration and production activities through licences granted by the relevant authority under statutory licensing regimes.

    盛冕 Michael Sheng
    Michael Sheng
    Partner
    Blake Dawson

    Foreign entities most commonly hold interests in mining licences in Australia by way of a company structure or investment in a (JV).

    Different arrangements may be required for ventures formed for various mining related activities (e.g. exploration, production and the operation of a facility). The form of arrangement selected will depend on the respective expertise of the parties, the parties’ appetite for risk and consideration of the matters discussed below.

    A JV agreement signed between the parties will state the scope, purpose and duration of the JV and identify the assets committed to it. It will describe and quantify the interests of the parties and provide for the operation, management and control of the JV. It will also cover the subscription, holding and expenditure of funds, the apportionment of liability, the consequences of default, the use and disposal of the output of the JV, the assignment of interests, and withdrawal from the JV.

    There are two types of JV commonly used in Australia – incorporated and unincorporated. Each has different legal and taxation implications which need to be carefully assessed having regard to the commercial objectives of the parties.

    Incorporated joint ventures

    黄保华 Peter Hwang
    Peter Hwang
    Senior Associate
    Blake Dawson

    An incorporated JV is a special purpose company in which the parties to the JV are shareholders. The JV is a separate legal entity from the parties that have agreed to invest in it. A shareholders’ agreement between the parties is entered into and, at the same time, the special purpose company is formed to own and control the venture, with an agreed number of directors appointed by each party.

    Unincorporated joint ventures

    In unincorporated JVs, each of the parties agrees to cooperate in relation to a commercial undertaking, but the parties hold their interests and entitlements in the venture separately rather than jointly. As there is no company structure, the JV agreement between the parties will govern their relationship, the operation of the venture and their obligations to each other.

    Incorporated joint venture and unincorporated joint ventureThe above table summarizes the key features of incorporated and unincorporated joint ventures.

    Competition law considerations

    If a JV is formed between competitors, care needs to be taken to avoid contravening the cartel conduct prohibitions in the Competition and Consumer Act 2010. Under this act, making or giving effect to a “cartel provision” may attract both civil and criminal penalties.

    The prohibition on cartel agreements and arrangements is subject to an exception which aims to avoid punishing legitimate collaborative business activity. This is known as the joint venture exception. However, the joint venture exception only applies to certain types of JV.

    Alternatively, businesses may apply to the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission for an official authorization of a proposed cartel agreement or arrangement. Such an authorization provides immunity from prosecution. However, as the authorization process is time consuming and public, businesses may wish to consider whether they may fall within the joint venture exception before applying for authorization.

    Michael Sheng is a partner in the Shanghai office and Peter Hwang is a senior associate in the Brisbane office of Blake Dawson

    Blake DawsonBlake Dawson Shanghai office

    Suites 3408-10, CITIC Square

    1168 Nanjing Road West, Shanghai

    Postal code: 200041

    Tel: 86 21 5100 1796

    Fax: 86 21 5292 5161

    E-mail:

    michael.sheng@blakedawson.com

    peter.hwang@blakedawson.com

    www.blakedawson.com

    Law.asia subscripton ad red 2022