南澳大利亚州对外资亮起绿灯

作者: 盛冕、Tanya Denning,博雷道盛
0
536
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

默拉军事禁区位于南澳大利亚州,占地面积127,000平方公里,属于王室土地,由澳大利亚国防部管理。该地区面积广阔,地理位置偏僻,人口稀少,电磁环境理想,这些因素使伍默拉军事禁区成为世界级国防武器测试区。同时,伍默拉地区储有宝贵的矿产资源,蕴含澳大利亚全国62%的铜矿、78%的铀矿和大量金、银、铁等矿藏资源。

1947年,伍默拉被宣布为军事禁区。任何人欲进入伍默拉军事禁区,必须首先获得国防部允准,而且常常须签署准入契约。过去,根据国防部指令38-1,伍默拉军事禁区准入事项只在有临时需要时由伍默拉国防武器测试机构负责处理。

Hawke报告是受澳大利亚政府委托但保持独立的环境可持续性审查报告。Hawke报告建议,应全面修改国防部指令条款,使伍默拉地区的准入要求更为清晰明确。

对外国投资者的影响

南澳大利亚州日益成为外国资源项目投资者眼中的一方宝土。然而,由于国防部担心某些在伍默拉的投资项目会对国家安全造成影响,外国投资审查委员会会拒绝批准一些外国投资项目。

Michael Sheng Partner Blake Dawson
盛冕
博雷道盛
合伙人

Hawke报告指出,资源领域的外国投资项目涉及国家利益,并且分析了外国投资审查委员会与国防部应当如何管理伍默拉地区的外国投资项目。

Hawke报告建议:“对于伍默拉地区的外国投资项目,其性质、范围方面的前提条件要求应当由外国投资审查委员会负责处理”。而外国投资项目涉及的国家安全问题,应当由国防部根据其与外国投资者商定的伍默拉军事禁区准入条件进行处理。

此前外国投资审查委员会与国防部所采用的方式与上述建议相差甚远。对于在伍默拉的外国投资项目,外国投资审查委员会会听取国防部就外国人准入和国家安全问题提出的意见。这一方式使外国投资审查委员会能以国家安全为由,干净利落地拒绝批准某些外国投资项目。

Hawke报告提出的一项重点建议是,伍默拉地区应当以共享的模式管理,即优先考虑国防部作为该地区主要使用者的权益,同时兼顾该地区的其他用途。

准入交通信号灯模式

Tanya Denning 博雷道盛 合伙人 Tanya Denning Partner Blake Dawson
Tanya Denning
博雷道盛
合伙人

在现行准入模式下,国防部有权要求已获得伍默拉军事禁区准入的非国防部使用者一经通知即刻撤离。

而提议的共存模式将伍默拉地区划分为三个区域:红灯区、黄灯区和绿灯区,明确限定了每年国防部有权要求非国防部使用者撤离的天数。划分主要依据国防部使用该地区的优先级别进行。

区域边界的划分将最终由国防部与南澳大利亚州第一产业与资源部(PIRSA)协商确定。

红灯区域将不再允许新的非国防部使用者进入。黄灯区分为两个区域,两个区域内非国防部使用者每年可被要求撤离的时间上限,分别为140天和70天。绿灯区内,非国防部使用者每年最多可被要求撤离56天。

许可制度

许可制度将代替现行的协商准入契约制度,并根据新颁布的相关联邦法予以执行。在新实施的许可制度下,各区域将有权议定标准条件,分别适用于各区域使用者。

与现行协商准入制度不同,许可制度下的准入条件、申请程序及选择标准的详细情况都会公布于众。这将使许可程序更为流畅,并降低项目投资者承受的风险及不确定性。

许可制度很重要的一点在于,制定了一系列标准条件,并向伍默拉军事禁区准入申请者公布。标准条件将适用于处理下列事项:

  • 结构、人员及电磁辐射的限制;
  • 赋予国防部检查权;
  • 允许国防部出于对国家安全的考虑而没收设备及遣散伍默拉地区内的人员。

即将拟定的这些标准条件会用于处理外国投资项目在伍默拉地区涉及的任何国家安全问题。尤为重要的是,Hawke报告建议,进入伍默拉地区者无须取得国防部安检许可;相反,作出限制的依据应该仅仅是“国防部对非国防部使用者欲进入的伍默拉军事禁区区域所作的许可要求。”

未来发展动态

Hawke报告针对如何管理伍默拉军事禁区准入一事提出了切实可行的建议。然而,这些建议将如何执行一事还未有定论。伍默拉军事禁区准入申请将暂停六个月,与此同时,澳大利亚政府正构建新制度实施框架。

因此,在未来6至18个月的时间里,伍默拉地区的投资者以及计划在此投资的人,都需要耐心等待草拟法案获澳大利亚国会通过,以及实施标准条件和惩罚措施的制度最终建立。

盛冕是博雷道盛上海代表处合伙人, Tanya Denning是博雷道盛阿德莱德办公室合伙人

博雷道盛上海代表处上海市南京西路1168号中信泰富广场3408-10

邮编: 200041

电话: 86 21 5100 1796

传真: 86 21 5292 5161

E-mail:

michael.sheng@blakedawson.com

jeff.lynn@blakedawson.com

www.blakedawson.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Green light for foreign investors in South Australia

By Michael Sheng and Tanya Denning, Blake Dawson
0
558
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The Woomera Prohibited Area (WPA) is a 127,000 square kilometre area of Crown land located in South Australia operated by the Department of Defence. It is a world class defence testing range due to its large size, remote location, low population and quiet electromagnetic environment. It also contains valuable minerals with about 62% of Australia’s copper, 78% of Australia’s uranium and large amounts of gold, silver and iron ore.

Michael Sheng Partner Blake Dawson
Michael Sheng
Partner
Blake Dawson

Woomera was first declared a prohibited area in 1947. As a prohibited area, any person wishing to access the WPA must first gain permission from the Department of Defence, and must usually sign a deed of access. In the past, access to the WPA has been managed on an ad hoc basis by the Woomera Test Facility under the auspices of Defence Instruction 38-1.

The recommendations of the Hawke Report, a government-commissioned but independent review of environmental sustainability in Australia, include overhauling the provisions of the Defence Instruction and increasing transparency and certainty for those seeking access to Woomera.

Relevance for foreign investors

South Australia has increasingly been seen as an attractive place for foreign investment in resources projects. However, national security concerns have in some cases resulted in the Foreign Investment Review Board (FIRB) refusing approval to foreign investors where the Department of Defence has expressed concerns about a project’s coexistence with the WPA.

Tanya Denning 博雷道盛 合伙人 Tanya Denning Partner Blake Dawson
Tanya Denning
Partner
Blake Dawson

The Hawke Report found that foreign investment in resources is an issue of national interest, and considered how the FIRB and Department of Defence should manage foreign investment in the context of the WPA.

One of the report’s recommendations was that “preconditions on the nature and scope of potential foreign investment in the WPA should be dealt with by FIRB”. Any security concerns about foreign investment in the WPA should be managed by the Department of Defence through conditions imposed on access arrangements entered into with the foreign user.

This represents a significant departure from the approach to the WPA that was previously taken by the FIRB and Department of Defence, which involved the FIRB taking advice from the department about foreign access and security concerns. This approach has led to the FIRB rejecting some investments outright on national security grounds.

A key recommendation of the Hawke Report is that the WPA should be managed under a time-share model which prioritizes the Department of Defence’s position as the main user of the area, while facilitating other uses of the area.

The traffic light access model

Under the current access model, non-defence users’ access to the WPA is subject to the Department of Defence’s right to require them to evacuate with very little notice.

The proposed co-existence model divides the WPA into three zones: red, amber and green. It creates clear limits on the number of days per year that the Department of Defence can require non-defence users to evacuate land. The proposed zones are based on the areas of highest priority for use by the Department of Defence.

The boundaries of the zones are to be finalized based on consultation between the Department of Defence and the South Australian Department of Primary Industries and Resources (PIRSA).

No new non-defence users will be granted access to the proposed red zone. The proposed amber zone will be divided into two areas in which non-
defence users will be required to evacuate for a maximum of 140 and 70 days per year, respectively. In a proposed green zone, non-defence users will be required to evacuate for a maximum of 56 days per year.

Permit system

The current regime of negotiated access deeds will be replaced with a permit scheme to be implemented by new Commonwealth legislation. The new permit scheme will allow standard conditions to be drawn up, covering users in each zone.

Unlike the current access arrangements, the terms and conditions attached to permits and details of the application process and selection criteria will be publicly available. This is likely to streamline the process of obtaining access, and reduce risk and uncertainty for parties involved in investment and development projects.

A key aspect of the proposed permit system is the creation of a standard set of conditions that will be publicly available to parties seeking access to the WPA. It is envisaged these conditions will deal with issues including:

  • restrictions on physical structures, people and electromagnetic emissions;
  • providing the Department of Defence with powers of inspection; and
  • enabling the Department of Defence to confiscate equipment and remove people from the WPA for safety and security reasons.

These conditions would be drafted to manage any security concerns created by foreign investment in the WPA. Importantly, the Hawke Report recommends that there be no requirement for people accessing the WPA to obtain security clearance from the Department of Defence. Instead, restrictions would be based “exclusively on Defence requirements for the part of the WPA the non-defence user is seeking to access”.

Future developments

The Hawke Report provides solid recommendations on how to manage access to the WPA, but there is not yet certainty on how these recommendations will be implemented. A six-month moratorium is in place on applications to access the WPA while the Australian government puts in place frameworks to implement the new system.

As a result, investors and potential investors in the WPA will need to stay abreast of developments over the next six to 18 months as legislation is put before the federal parliament and the system of conditions and penalties is developed.

Michael Sheng is a partner in the Shanghai office and Tanya Denning is a partner in the Adelaide office of Blake Dawson

Blake Dawson Shanghai office Suites 3408-10, CITIC Square

1168 Nanjing Road West, Shanghai

Postal code: 200041

Tel: 86 21 5100 1796

Fax: 86 21 5292 5161

E-mail:

michael.sheng@blakedawson.com

jeff.lynn@blakedawson.com

www.blakedawson.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link