期待对公司集团理论未来的指导

作者: Ashish Anand,HSA Advocates
0
261
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

仲裁是合同的产物,在法律上受1996年《仲裁和调解法》的支持,该法旨在为纠纷提供快速有效的替代性救济措施。根据我们的经验,仲裁中具有挑战性的领域是涉及多个当事方和多项主张的程序。通常,仅仲裁协议的当事方参与仲裁,但法院曾适用公司集团理论来约束仲裁程序的非签约方。

Ashish Anand, HSA Advocates
Ashish Anand
初级合伙人
HSA Advocates

多年来,法院扩大了这一理论的范围。按照法院采纳的这种扩大的观点,最高法院最近在Cox and Kings Ltd v SAP India Pvt Ltd.一案中重新审视了这一理论。Cox and Kings Ltd. (“CKL”)与SAP India (“SAP”)签订了一项协议,提供软件相关服务。当事双方就项目的实施产生了争议。2017年,SAP对CKL提起仲裁。2019年10月,CKL被启动破产程序,仲裁被搁置。2019年11月,CKL发出新的通知,对SAP及其母公司提起仲裁。SAP及其母公司均未对通知做出回应,也未指定仲裁员。CKL请求最高法院指定一名国际商事仲裁的仲裁员。

法院在以前的案件中广泛应用了这一理论。因此,最高法院重新审视了这一问题,并得出结论,必须谨慎行事。法院表达了这样一种观点: Chloro Controls (India) Private Ltd. v Severn Trent Water Purification (2013) 案中确立的法律,以及该法律在随后的判决中的适用,显然需要重新审查。因此,这一问题被提交给大法官。法院还被问到,1996年《仲裁和调解法》第8条和第11条中的短语“通过或根据……提出主张”是否可以被解释为包括该理论。在作出这一裁决时,法院指出,这一理论起源于1982年的陶氏化学公司案,但在该案件中,非签约方并非抵制,而是希望参与诉讼。

在Sukanya Holdings (2003) 案中,法院认为,诉因不能分成两部分,仲裁协议的非当事方不能被包括在仲裁中。最高法院批评了在Chloro Controls案中的判决,因为它似乎在第三方何时受仲裁协议约束的问题上采取了不一致的立场。一方面,Chloro Controls案强调了当事方将非签约方包括在内的意图,但另一方面,指出在特殊情况下,可以在未经非签约方同意的情况下将非签约方加入仲裁程序。

《印度法律委员会第246次报告》建议在《仲裁和调解法》第2条和第8条中增加“任何人主张或通过或根据签约方主张”。该法于2015年修订,委员会的建议被纳入第8条,但第2条仍未修订。不修订第2条的影响需要加以审查。现在存在一种不正常的情况,通过或根据签约方提出主张之人可以仲裁,但无权根据该法第9条寻求临时救济。

Cheran Properties Ltd v Kasturi & Sons Ltd (2018) 案中,这一理论得到了进一步扩展,以针对非签约方执行裁决,即使该非签约方并未参与仲裁。最高法院认为,后来在Reckitt Benckiser (2019) 案和MTNL(2020) 案中的裁决没有提及《仲裁和调解法》第8条中“通过或根据……提出主张”的范围。Chloro Controls案中留下的空白领域使人们对这一理论有了广泛的理解,即这种理论是不可持续的,并且显然违背了公司的独特法律身份和当事人意思自治。此外,Vidya Droliya (2021)案主要论述了转介阶段司法干预的范围,但没有探讨这一理论。

值得注意的是,最高法院的大法官如何解释《仲裁和调解法》第8和第11条中的“通过或根据……提出主张”。我们现在等待最高法院的明确解释。

Ashish Anand为HSA Advocates律师事务所初级合伙人

HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates

81/1, Adchini

Sri Aurobindo Marg

New Delhi – 110 017
India

Construction House 5/F Walchand Hirachand Marg

Ballard Estate

Mumbai – 400 001
India

联系方式
电话: +91 11 6638 7000 / +91 22 4340 0400

电子邮件: mail@hsalegal.com
www.hsalegal.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Guidance awaited on future of group of companies doctrine

By Ashish Anand, HSA Advocates
0
44

Arbitration is a creature of contract statutorily backed by the Arbitration and Conciliation Act, 1996 (act), which is intended to provide quick and efficacious alternate dispute remedies. In our experience, challenging areas in arbitration are multi-party and multi-claim proceedings. Usually, the parties to the arbitration agreement arbitrate, but the courts have applied the group of companies doctrine to bind non-signatories to the arbitration proceedings.

Over the years, the scope of the doctrine has been widened by the courts. Following such an expanded view adopted by courts, the Supreme Court recently revisited the doctrine in Cox and Kings Ltd v SAP India Pvt Ltd. Cox and Kings Ltd (CKL) entered into an agreement with SAP India (SAP) to provide software-related services. Disputes arose between the parties in relation to the implementation of the project and in 2017 SAP invoked arbitration against CKL. In October 2019, insolvency proceedings were initiated against CKL and arbitration was kept in abeyance. In November 2019, CKL sent a fresh notice invoking arbitration against SAP and its parent company. Neither SAP nor its parent company responded to the notice or appointed arbitrators. CKL applied to the Supreme Court to appoint an arbitrator in an international commercial arbitration.

Ashish Anand, HSA Advocates
Ashish Anand
Associate Partner
HSA Advocates

The doctrine has been widely applied by the courts in previous matters. Therefore, the Supreme Court looked at it afresh and came to the conclusion that caution must be applied. The court has expressed a view that there is a clear need to re-examine the law laid down in Chloro Controls (India) Private Ltd v Severn Trent Water Purification (2013) and how it had been applied in subsequent decisions. Accordingly, the matter has been referred to a larger bench. The court has also been asked whether the phrase “claiming through or under” in sections 8 and 11 of the act can be interpreted to include the doctrine. In reaching this decision, the court noted that the doctrine originated in the year 1982 in the Dow Chemicals case, but it was a situation where the non-signatories did not resist, rather they wished to participate in the proceedings.

In Sukanya Holdings (2003), the court held that causes of action cannot be bifurcated and non-parties to the arbitration agreement cannot be included in the arbitration. The Supreme Court has criticised the decision in Chloro Controls because it seems to have taken inconsistent positions as to when a third party may be bound by the arbitration agreement. On one hand, Chloro Controls emphasised the intention of the parties to include the non-signatory party but, on the other hand went on to say that non-signatories may be added to the arbitration proceedings without their consent in exceptional cases.

The 246th Law Commission report recommended adding the words “any person claiming or through or under such party” in sections 2 and 8 of the act. The act was amended in 2015 and the commission’s suggestion was incorporated into section 8, but section 2 remained unamended. The impact of not amending section 2 needs to be examined. An anomalous situation now exists where a party claiming through or under could be referred to arbitration, but would not have the right to seek interim relief under section 9 of the act.

The doctrine was further expanded in Cheran Properties Ltd v Kasturi & Sons Ltd (2018) to enforce the award against a non-signatory, even though it did not participate. The Supreme Court held that the later decisions in Reckitt Benckiser (2019) and MTNL (2020) were decided without referring to the ambit of the phrase claiming through or under in section 8 of the act. The areas that were left open in Chloro Controls have created a broad-based understanding of the doctrine that may not be sustainable and clearly go against the distinct legal identities of companies and party autonomy. Moreover, Vidya Droliya (2021) predominantly dealt with the scope of judicial interference at the referral stage and did not explore the doctrine.

It will be interesting to see how the larger bench of the Supreme Court will interpret the words “claiming through or under” in sections 8 and 11 of the act. We now await clarity from the Supreme Court.

Ashish Anand is an associate partner at HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates

HSA Advocates

81/1, Adchini

Sri Aurobindo Marg

New Delhi – 110 017
India

Construction House 5/F Walchand Hirachand Marg

Ballard Estate

Mumbai – 400 001
India

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 6638 7000 / +91 22 4340 0400

Email: mail@hsalegal.com
www.hsalegal.com