专利说明书需要充分公开发明实施方法

作者: DPS Parmar,LexOrbis律师事务所
0
39

予专利的要求是充分公开发明,这是根据允许公众在专利期满后使用发明的公共政策提出的。专利申请人必须公开其所知道的使用有关发明的最佳方法。如果不这样做,后来的侵权者可能会以未充分公开为由作为其抗辩的部分理由。

DPS Parmar
特别顾问
LexOrbis律师事务所

《1970年专利法》并没有定义充分性公开,但专利说明书应该清楚地使普通技术人员能够实施发明。然而,《霍尔斯伯里英国判例法大全》指出,不充分性描述包括两个要素。一是信息的公平性或明确性,即,在信息的理解上不能有不必要的困难。二是说明书的完整性,如果说明书没有在每一项权利要求中描述发明的一个实施例,则该说明书是不完整的。说明书必须足以使在该发明领域实践的人能够在广泛的权利要求范围内实施该发明,而无需进一步的实验或发明。

《1970年专利法》第10条要求申请人公开发明人已知的实施发明最佳方法。发明人可以利用自己的酌情决定权,给出全面实施发明的最佳方法。然而,即使发明被授予专利,也很可能会以信息的不充分性为由受到质疑。这可能发生在对侵犯专利权的指控进行抗辩时,或发生在请求撤销专利时。问题在于,当有关技术人员能够实施专利中的某些内容,但不是全部内容时,信息是否充分。因此,须提出能复制专利客体所需技术水平的独立专家证据。

第107条和第64(1)(h)条规定,被告可以以“完整的说明书未充分公平地描述发明及其实施方法 ”为由申请专利无效。也就是说,对有关方法的描述或用于实施发明的说明本身不足以使本领域普通技术人员能实施该发明,或者说该说明书没有公开申请人已知的最佳实施方法。

在专利判例中,并没有明确指出这是否也适用于广泛的权利要求。在Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc v Kymab Ltd一案中,英国最高法院宣告有关专利无效,并指出 “权利要求必须被认为是针对一种产品的,而且……专利中的描述没有使技术人员能够在整个权利要求范围内制造该产品。……所促成的是该范围中价值较低的部分。此案中,双方目前制造和销售的产品,无疑具有很大的价值,但该产品处于范围的末端,只有在双方进一步的发明性开发后才能被制造出来。……就产品权利要求而言,充分性要求实质上使权利要求范围内的全部产品都能够被制造出来……而不是指发明可能对产品的价值和实用性做出的贡献,作出[这种]贡献的能力(如果有的话)在于未来”。

判决书强调了在考虑专利的有效性时确定正确的技术细节的重要性。如果发明的工作原理是基于专利授权后的进一步发展,则法院不会允许对该发明授予专利。如果专利权人主张普遍适用原则使整个产品范围都有合理的可能被包含在权利要求范围内,那么这一判决就削弱了专利权人支持普遍适用原则的论点。

专利权人对整个产品范围的合理可能性的推测性主张,有可能会受到基于不充分性的质疑。今后将不允许为实现发明而进行额外的描述。该决定可能对印度没有直接影响,但可能支持未来在生物技术和生命科学案件中对广泛权利要求提出不充分性质疑。如果整个权利要求范围的工作原理描述不充分,该决定会支持对有效授权专利的质疑。

DPS Parmar是LexOrbis律师事务所特别顾问

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India

 

Mumbai | Bengaluru

 

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Fax: +91 11 2371 6556
Email: mail@lexorbis.com
Website: www.lexorbis.com

Full disclosure of working methods may be required

By DPS Parmar, LexOrbis
0
351

The requirement for the grant of a patent is the full and public disclosure of the invention. This follows from the public policy of allowing public use of the invention after the expiry of the patent. The applicant must disclose the best method known to him of using the invention. If this is not done subsequent infringers may rely on the lack of full disclosure as part of their defence.

DPS Parmar
Special counsel
LexOrbis

The Patent Act, 1970 (act), does not define sufficiency of disclosure, but the patent specification should clearly enable an average skilled person to perform the invention. However, Halsbury’s Laws of England states that the insufficiency of description comprises two elements. The first is the fairness or clarity of information. That means that the information must not be unnecessarily difficult to follow. The second is that the specification is incomplete by not describing an embodiment of the invention in every claim. The description must be sufficient to enable someone practising in the field of the invention to perform the invention over the broad range of claims without further experiment or invention.

Section 10 of the act requires the applicant to disclose the best method of performing the invention known to the inventor. The inventor may use his discretion in giving the best method to perform the invention in general. However, even if the patent is granted it may well be challenged on the grounds of insufficiency. This may be in a defence to an allegation of infringement of the patent, or in a petition for revocation. The problem is whether the information is sufficient where the skilled person in question is able to perform some, but not all of the elements in the patent. Independent expert evidence must be adduced on the skill level required to reproduce the subject matter of the patent.

Section 107 read with section 64(1)(h) states that a defendant may apply to invalidate the patent on the grounds “that the complete specification does not sufficiently and fairly describe the invention and the method by which it is to be performed”. That means that the description of the method, or the instructions for the working of the invention are not by themselves sufficient to enable a person of average skill and knowledge in the relevant field, to work the invention, or that it does not disclose the best method of performing it known to the applicant.

There is no clear indication in patent jurisprudence whether this applies to the broad range of claims as well. In Regeneron Pharmaceuticals Inc. v Kymab Ltd. the UK Supreme Court invalidated the patent and observed that “the claims must be considered as directed to a product, and … the description in the patent did not enable the skilled person to make that product over the whole claimed range. … What was enabled was the less valuable part of the range. Here, the product as currently made and marketed by both parties, which was undoubtedly of great value, was at the end of the range, which could only be made after further inventive developments by both parties. … In relation to product claims the sufficiency requires substantially the whole range of products within the scope of the claim to be enabled to be made … not by the contribution which the invention may make to the value and utility of products, the ability to make [such], if at all, lies in the future”.

The judgment highlights the importance of identifying the correct technical details when considering the validity of the patent. The court would not enable the invention if its working is based on further developments after the grant of the patent. This decision undermines patentees’ arguments in favour of the principle of general application if they claim that the principle makes it reasonably likely that the whole range of products will be included in the scope of the claim.

A patentee’s speculative claims for what is reasonably likely for the whole range of products risks challenge on the basis of insufficiency. No additional description to enable the invention will be permitted later. This decision may have no direct impact in India but may support insufficiency challenges to broad claims in biotech and life sciences cases in the future. It may support challenges to validly granted patents if the working of whole range claims is not sufficiently described.

DPS Parmar is a special counsel at LexOrbis

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis
709/710 Tolstoy House
15-17 Tolstoy Marg
New Delhi – 110 001
India

 

Mumbai | Bengaluru

 

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Fax: +91 11 2371 6556
Email: mail@lexorbis.com
Website: www.lexorbis.com