国内商事法院

0
336
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

商法词汇专栏曾探讨过国际商事法庭的设立和运营(参阅《商法》第8期第10辑文章《国际商事法院》和第10期第6辑文章《“一带一路”建设与中国国际商事法庭》)。本文将视角转向国内商事法庭,首先浅析国际惯例认可的高效商事争议解决机制具备的特点,而后探讨设计国际商事法院时应考虑的几个因素,并介绍中国内地的经验,包括在2022年1月1日起实施的《民事诉讼法》修订案下,国内商事法庭的运作。

特点

普遍认为,高效的商事争议解决机制,包括法庭诉讼和其他争议解决形式,对经济的发展和稳定至关重要。如果通过法庭解决商事争议,那么一个高效的司法系统应当具备以下特点:

(1) 确定性、可预测性、透明度以及法律和法律程序的公平。对于商事争议,确定性要求指的是,对涉案合同争议或其他争议适用得到广泛理解的法律原则,可预测性指适用法庭的已知程序,而透明度意味着当事人了解程序以及程序对他们的影响,公平性要求既涵盖案件的处理方式,也涵盖法律内容和整体法律程序,包括权利的保护。
(2) 决策及时。毋庸置疑,商事争议应得到快速解决。无论是中间判决或最终判决,法庭应争取在合理时间内做出决策,不得无故拖延。
(3) 可负担、可触达。可负担是商事争议解决的一个重要特点,尤其对于索赔金额小、资金有限的小企业而言。可触达指当事人起诉或应诉不费力。可负担是可触达的一个重要部分,尤其对于小企业的索赔,在这种情况下,法庭通常采用简易程序。
(4) 积极高效的案件管理。前文提到,公平性要求涵盖案件的处理方式。商事法庭应以积极高效的方式进行案件管理,确保程序适当,公共资源得到适当、有效利用。
(5) 鼓励采用诉讼以外的争议解决方式。为实现高效运作,法庭程序应当与其他争议解决方式协同配合,并鼓励采用其他解决机制,例如调解(《商法》曾探讨过司法调解机制,见第9期第8辑文章《司法调解》)。调解促进私密的争议解决方式,也最大限度降低公共法庭资源的消耗。
(6) 有效结果。结果有效也至关重要,其中就包括判决的执行(如有必要)。
(7) 法官在商事争议方面的经验和专业技能。审理商事争议的法院应当配备在商业和商事问题方面具有经验和专业知识的法官,这是商界对法庭的预期之一。
(8) 独立。最后,司法独立,包括法院的独立和法官的独立性,也是公认的一个高效商事争议解决机制应具备的重要特点,在各司法管辖区都是如此。

设计国内商事法院

在设计商事法院时,须考虑的因素有很多。其中一个应考虑的问题是,应当另设商事法院,还是在现有法院中分设一个商事庭。世界银行曾介绍过设立专门的商事法院或商事分庭的好处(见此处):

针对商事案件设立专门的争议解决体系对提高司法有效性具有重要意义。设立专业的商事法院或分庭将减少主要一审法院的待判案件数量,从而缩短主要法院的诉讼时间,这是许多经济体设立专门的法庭进行案件管理的原因。不仅如此,商事法院和分庭通常能够促进法律适用的一致性,为法庭使用者提高案件的可预测性。这些法庭的法官也能积累相关领域的专业知识,进而提高争议解决的时效和质量。

世界银行根据2019年5月收集到的数据做出的分析表面,“在190个经济体中,有104个设立了专门的商事法庭,它们或成立专门、独立的法院,或在现有法院中分设商事专庭,或在通用民事庭内指派专门的法官。”

中国内地即是在通用法院内分设商事庭。《人民法院组织法》第二十六条对基层人民法院内设立若干法庭作出如下规定:

第二十六条

基层人民法院根据地区、人口和案件情况,可以设立若干人民法庭。

人民法庭是基层人民法院的组成部分。人民法庭的判决和裁定即基层人民法院的判决和裁定。

根据经验,在中国法院,商事相关的争议按以下归类分配予各庭:

    1. 合同、公司、证券、保险、金融工具;
    2. 知识产权和不正当竞争;
    3. 涉外商事案件和海事案件;以及
    4. 资源相关争议。

另一个在设计商事法院或分庭时应考虑的因素是支持调解的方式。于2022年1月1日起开始实施的《民事诉讼法》修订案加入了第二百零一条,对法院确认调解协议的有效性作出规定,还规定法院依第二百零二条执行经确认的调解协议。

第三个因素是对时间标准和延期开庭审理作出具体规定。上文提到,无论是中间判决还是最终判决,法院应争取在合理时间内做出决定,不得无故拖延。《民事诉讼法》第一百四十九条规定了可延期开庭审理的几个情形,如一方当事人有“正当理由”没有到庭,调取新的证据,或者“其他应当延期的情形”。

规定具体的标准或情形,让法院不会自由准许延期开庭,这是非常有必要的规定。基于同样理由,有必要就延期开庭设置一般时间限制,即便可能存在特殊情况,这样,法官会根据当前的情形考虑适当的做法。

第四个因素是如何确定何时采用法官一人独任审理而非合议庭审理。2022年1月1日起实施的《民事诉讼法》修订案加入第四十二条,列出了不能由法官一人独任审理的案件:

    1. 涉及国家利益、社会公共利益的案件;
    2. 涉及群体性纠纷,可能影响社会稳定的案件;
    3. 人民群众广泛关注或者其他社会影响较大的案件;
    4. 属于新类型或者疑难复杂的案件;
    5. 法律规定应当组成合议庭审理的案件;
    6. 其他不宜由审判员一个独任审理的案件

最后,还须注意的是,不仅应在成文法,即民事诉讼法中作出规定,法院也应为商事争议解决制定指南,为商事庭法官和其他商事法庭职能部门提供培训。

葛安德


葛安德目前是世界银行一个工作小组的成员,为亚洲某央行提供职能改革方面的咨询。他曾在上海以外国律师的身份执业(1996-2006),而后回到母校澳大利亚墨尔本法学院从事法律教学和研究工作(2006-2021年)。葛安德现在是墨尔本法学院亚洲法律中心的荣誉首席研究员,亦在多家机构担任顾问,其中包括年利达律师事务所、澳大利亚法律改革委员会和世界银行。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Domestic commercial courts

0
750
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

LEXICON has previously examined the establishment and operation of international commercial courts (China Business Law Journal, volume 8, issue 10: International Commercial Courts; and volume 10, issue 6: BRI and China’s international commercial courts). This column examines commercial courts in a domestic context. It outlines the features of efficient and effective commercial dispute resolution, as recognised by international practice. It then examines certain factors that are relevant to the design of domestic commercial courts and outlines the experience in mainland China, including under revisions to the Civil Procedure Law that came into effect on 1 January 2022.

WHAT ARE THE FEATURES?

It is widely recognised that an effective and efficient commercial dispute resolution system, which includes court litigation and other forms of dispute resolution, is essential for economic growth and stability. In terms of commercial dispute resolution by the courts, the features of an effective and efficient justice system include the following:

    1. Certainty, predictability,transparency and fairness of law and legal procedures. In the context of commercial disputes, the requirement of certainty relates to the application of widely understood legal principles to the underlying contractual or other dispute. The requirement of predictability relates to the application of known procedures by the court. The requirement of transparency exists where the parties are aware of the process and how it impacts on them. The requirement of fairness refers both to the way in which a case is dealt with, and also to the content of the law and legal procedures more generally, including the protection of rights.
    2. Timeliness of decision-making. The need for commercial disputes to be resolved quickly is widely recognised. Courts should endeavour to make decisions, in respect of both interlocutory matters and the judgment, within a reasonable time and without undue delay.
    3. Affordability and accessibility. Affordability is an important feature for commercial dispute resolution. This is particularly relevant in the context of small claims in view of the involvement of small businesses that have limited funds. Accessibility refers to the ease with which parties can bring or defend claims. Affordability is an important component of accessibility, particularly in relation to small business claims where courts often adopt simplified procedures.
    4. Active and efficient case management. As noted above, the concept of fairness includes the way in which a case is dealt with. It is generally accepted that commercial courts need to engage in active and efficient case management to ensure the proper handling of the proceedings and the proper and efficient use of public resources.
    5. An environment that encourages resolution by means other than trial. To operate effectively, court proceedings need to operate alongside and encourage resolution by other means such as mediation (for a discussion about judicial mediation, see China Business Law Journal, volume 9, issue 8: Judicial mediation). In addition to facilitating private settlement of disputes, mediation also provides a means to minimise the consumption of publicly funded court resources.
    6. Effective outcomes. The need for effective outcomes, including enforcement of judgments (where necessary) is also of critical importance.
    7. Experience and expertise of judges in commercial disputes. One of the expectations of the business community is that courts that hear commercial disputes will have judges with experience and expertise of commerce and commercial issues.
    8. Independence. Finally, the independence of the judiciary, both in respect of courts and in respect of individual judges, is recognised as a feature of an effective and efficient commercial dispute resolution system in all jurisdictions.

DESIGN OF DOMESTIC COMMERCIAL COURTS

Many factors need to be considered in the design of commercial courts. One factor is whether they should take the form of a separate court or, instead, a division or tribunal within the existing courts. The World Bank (see here) has noted the benefits of having specialised commercial courts or divisions as follows:

Dedicated systems for commercial cases can make a big difference in the effectiveness of a judiciary. Having specialised commercial courts or divisions reduces the number of cases pending before the main first-instance court and thus can lead to shorter resolution times within the main trial court one reason why economies have introduced specialised courts as a case management tool. But the benefits do not end there. Commercial courts and divisions tend to promote consistency in the application of the law, increasing predictability for court users. And judges in such courts develop expertise in their field, which may support faster and more qualitative dispute resolution.

An analysis undertaken by the World Bank based on data collected in May 2019 indicates that “104 of 190 economies… have a specialised commercial jurisdiction ‒ established by setting up a dedicated standalone court, a specialised commercial section within an existing court or specialised judges within a general civil court.”

Mainland China is an example of a jurisdiction where commercial divisions (or tribunals) have been established within the general courts. Article 26 of the Organic Law of the People’s Courts makes provisions for divisions within basic level people’s courts as follows:

Article 26

Basic level peoples courts may set up a number of people’s court divisions [tribunals] on the basis of regional, population or case conditions.

Peoples court divisions are component parts of basic level peoples courts. Judgments, rulings and decisions made by peoples court divisions are judgments, rulings and decisions of the basiclevel peoples courts.

Experience suggests that the allocation of commercial-related disputes between divisions within Chinese courts is typically as follows: (1) contracts, corporations, securities, insurance and financial instruments; (2) intellectual property rights and unfair competition; (3) foreign-related commercial cases and maritime cases; and (4) resources disputes.

Another factor that is relevant to the design of commercial courts or divisions is the way in which they support mediation. In mainland China, revisions to the Civil Procedure Law came into effect on 1 January 2022. Included in the revisions was the insertion of article 201, which makes provision for courts to confirm the effectiveness of mediation agreements and for confirmed mediation agreements to be enforced by the courts under article 202.

A third factor is the existence of specific provisions in respect of time standards and adjournments. As noted above, courts should endeavour to make decisions, in respect of both interlocutory matters and the judgment, within a reasonable time and without undue delay. Article 149 of the Civil Procedure Law specifies various circumstances in which a hearing can be adjourned, e.g., a party has a “valid reason” for not attending a hearing, new evidence needs to be tendered, or there are “other circumstances requiring an adjournment”.

It is useful to specify specific criteria or circumstances so that judges do not grant adjournments too freely. For the same reason, it is useful to specify general time limits for adjournments, even if exceptions might exist, so that judges are encouraged to consider what would be appropriate in the circumstances.

A fourth factor is how to determine when a case may be heard by a single judge and not a collegiate bench. Article 42 of the Civil Procedure Law, which was introduced by the revisions to the Civil Procedure Law that came into effect on 1 January 2022, does this in the negative by listing the following cases that a sole judge should not hear:

  1. Cases involving national interests, or social and public interests;
  2. Cases involving group disputes that may affect social stability;
  3. Cases of wide public interest, or with great social influence;
  4. New types of, or difficult and complex, cases;
  5. Cases that should be heard by a collegiate bench as required by law; and
  6. Other cases that are not suitable to be heard by a sole judge.

Finally, it is important to note that in addition to the need for written law, as contained in civil procedure laws, there is a need for courts to develop guidelines for commercial dispute resolution and to provide training programmes to commercial court judges and other commercial court functionaries.

Andrew Godwin 2015
Andrew Godwin

Andrew Godwin is currently a member of a World Bank team that is advising a central bank in Asia on potential reforms to its mandate. He previously practised as a foreign lawyer in Shanghai (1996-2006) before returning to his alma mater, Melbourne Law School in Australia, to teach and research law (2006-2021). Andrew is currently Principal Fellow (Honorary) at the Asian Law Centre, Melbourne Law School, and a consultant to various organisations, including Linklaters, the Australian Law Reform Commission and the World Bank.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link