公司决议类纠纷理解与法律适用

作者: 王鲲,天驰君泰律师事务所
0
19

公司是由股东投资并集合各种生产要素组成的组织体,依法具有法律人格。公司意志来源于个人意志,通过股东会/股东大会、董事会作出的决议即成为公司对外的意志体现,对公司和其股东以及利害关系人均具有重大影响。因此,围绕公司决议所产生的纠纷也是最为常见的公司类纠纷。

根据《民法典》《公司法》《公司法司法解释(四)》(下称《解释四》)的规定,公司决议纠纷主要涉及决议效力确认、决议可撤销和决议不成立三种情形,本文主要针对三者的区别和具体适用等问题进行简要梳理。

请求权基础

王鲲,天驰君泰律师事务所
王鲲
合伙人
天驰君泰律师事务所

《公司法》第22条第1款以及《解释四》第1条规定,违反法律、行政法规规定的股东会/股东大会、董事会决议无效,同时赋予了公司股东、董事、监事等向人民法院提起请求确认上述决议无效之诉的权利。

《民法典》第85条以及《公司法》第22条第2款规定了公司股东会/股东大会、董事会的会议召集程序、表决方式违反法律、行政法规或者公司章程,或者决议内容违反公司章程的,股东可以在决议作出之日起60日内向人民法院请求撤销。同时,《解释四》第4条进一步强调了会议召集程序或者表决方式仅存在轻微瑕疵,且未对决议产生实质影响的不属于可撤销范围。

《民法典》第134条第2款以及《解释四》第1条明确了公司股东、董事、监事等向人民法院提起请求确认股东会/股东大会、董事会决议不成立的权利;第5条则示明了对构成决议不成立所涉召集程序、表决程序中的严重瑕疵情形。

适用区别与要点

根据与决议效力相关的法律、法规可以看出,决议效力的评价主要基于内容和程序。

从诉讼当事人角度来看,决议不成立、决议无效纠纷当中,公司股东、董事、监事等主体均可作为原告,公司作为被告。其中,涉及与决议有关的其他利害关系人可列为第三人。在决议撤销纠纷中,被告及第三人的选择与适用问题上与前两者相同,但原告则仅限于公司股东,意味着提起撤销之诉必须有作为公司股东的特殊身份限制。

从瑕疵类型角度来看,决议内容存在严重瑕疵则决议无效,决议程序存在严重瑕疵则决议不成立。而决议内容或者程序存在轻微瑕疵的情形下,股东则可以灵活行使撤销权。裁判者审查公司决议程序时,应以该程序瑕疵是否会导致包括中小股东在内的各股东无法公平地参与多数意思的形成以及获取对此所需的信息为判定标准。

实务操作中,常见的可能被认定为决议无效的情形包括但不限于:侵害股东的分红权;非法变更股东出资额或持股比例;选举的董事、监事、高管不具有任职资格;未经财务核算分配公司资产;剥夺公司股东出资期限利益,适用资本多数决方式变更出资期限,使期限提前等。

而涉及决议可撤销的情形则主要集中表现在:通知内容与决议内容不符;决议内容与公司章程相悖;未按法定时间履行通知义务或短于法定时间通知;未提请公司的执行董事、监事等召集会议,径直召集并召开会议等。除此之外,涉及决议不成立的常见情形在《解释四》中已有较为明确的规定。

从期间与时效角度来看,决议无效、决议不成立均不适用除斥期间及诉讼时效的规定,而决议可撤销则适用除斥期间的规定,意味着若股东在决议作出之日起60日内未向人民法院提起撤销之诉的,撤销权将归于消灭。

从法律后果角度来看,若决议被认定无效则自始无效,即从行为开始就不发生当事人所预期的法律效力;若决议不成立,则自始不存在,可以通过重新召开会议的方式进行决议;若决议被撤销,撤销之后不发生效力,但公司依据该决议与善意相对人形成的民事法律关系不受影响。

综合上述内容可以看出,决议无效主要集中在实体权利被侵害的层面。而决议可撤销和不成立则相对集中体现在程序问题之上,两者的差别在于决议不成立问题所涉程序问题更为严重。

总结与建议

通常情况下,当公司决议的意思表示出现瑕疵时,应先行审查是否符合“决议不成立”的条件/情形;若不符合,则应继续审查决议内容是否违反法律或行政法规。若有,则应当按“决议无效”提起诉讼;若无,则应审查是否具备行使撤销权的条件,并及时在法定期限内提起诉讼。

公司决议无效、可撤销及不成立所涉诉讼是权益受侵害主体可以考虑采取的救济途径,但前述情形的最终结果不可避免地将对公司治理产生巨大影响,故而在公司日常经营管理过程中,应该着重从明确股东会/股东大会决议的权限、规范会议召集程序及决议表决程序等方面加强公司治理层面的合规管理。

天驰君泰律师事务所合伙人王鲲

trademarks

天驰君泰律师事务所
中国上海市长宁区长宁路1133号
长宁来福士广场T1幢29层
邮编: 200051
电话: +86 21 5237 7006
传真: +86 21 5237 7009
电子信箱 :

wangkun@tiantailaw.com

www.tiantailaw.com

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

Disputes over company resolutions and legal applications

By Wang Kun, Tiantai Law Firm
0
129

A company is an organisation made up of shareholder investment and various production factors, and has legal personality according to law. The will of a company, originating from the will of individuals, is expressed through resolutions passed by shareholder meetings/general meetings and the board of directors, which have a material effect on the company, its shareholders and stakeholders. Therefore, disputes arising from resolutions of a company are the most common.

Pursuant to the Civil Code, Company Law and Judicial Interpretation IV of the Company Law, disputes over resolutions of a company mainly involve three scenarios: confirmation of resolution validity; revocation of resolutions; and failure of resolutions. This article looks at their differences and specific applications.

BASIS FOR CLAIM

Wang Kun, Tiantai Law Firm
Wang Kun
Partner
Tiantai Law Firm

Article 22.1 of the Company Law and article 1 of Interpretation IV provide that a resolution passed by the shareholders’ meeting/general meeting and board of directors that violates laws and administrative regulations shall be void – while granting shareholders, directors and supervisors the right to request courts to confirm voidness of the resolution.

Article 85 of the Civil Code and article 22.2 of the Company Law provide that, where the convening procedures and voting method of shareholders’ meetings/general meetings and board meetings violate laws and administrative regulations or articles of association of a company, or where contents of a resolution violate the articles of association, shareholders may request courts for revocation of the resolution within 60 days from the date of resolution.

Article 4 of Interpretation IV further emphasises that a meeting should not be revocable if it only has minor defects in convening procedures or voting methods without substantial impact on the resolution.

Article 134.2 of the Civil Code and article 1 of Interpretation IV clarify the right of shareholders, directors and supervisors to request courts to confirm failure of resolutions passed by shareholders’ meetings/general meetings and boards of directors. Serious defects in the convening procedure and voting procedure that cause failure of the resolution are set out in article 5 of Interpretation IV.

DIFFERENCES, KEY POINTS

According to laws and regulations on validity of resolutions, evaluation mainly focuses on content and procedure.

In terms of litigants, shareholders, directors and supervisors may all act as plaintiffs in disputes over failure or voidness of resolutions, with the company as the defendant. Other stakeholders involved in the resolution may be listed as third parties.

In disputes over resolution revocation, rules on the defendant and third party are identical to those in the above-mentioned two scenarios, but the plaintiff can only be shareholders, which means the lawsuit of revocation may only be brought by shareholders.

In terms of defects, if there are serious defects in the resolution contents, the resolution will be void; if there are serious defects in the resolution procedures, the resolution will fail. If there are minor defects in the content or procedure of the resolution, shareholders may exercise the right of revocation more flexibly.

When reviewing the company’s resolution procedure, the adjudicator should examine whether defects in the procedure will result in shareholders, including minority shareholders, being unable to fairly participate in the formation of majority opinion and obtain the required information.

In practice, common situations where resolutions may be considered as void include but are not limited to: infringement of shareholders’ dividend rights; illegal change of shareholders’ capital contribution or shareholding ratio; non-qualification of elected directors, supervisors and officers; distributing company’s assets without financial accounting; depriving shareholders of their benefits during the capital contribution period; and applying the majority voting method to change or advance the capital contribution period.

Scenarios involving revocation of resolutions mainly include: inconsistency between the content of notice with that of resolution; inconsistency between the resolution content with the articles of association; failure to fulfil the notification obligation within the statutory period; and convening and holding a meeting without requesting the company’s managing directors and supervisors to convene the meeting. In addition, common scenarios involving failure of resolutions are clearly provided in Interpretation IV.

The provisions on statutory period and statutes of limitation are not applicable to voidness or failure of resolutions, while the provisions on statutory period are applicable to revocation of resolutions – which means if shareholders fail to file a lawsuit for revocation within 60 days from the date of resolution, the right of revocation will be extinguished.

In terms of legal consequences, if a resolution is deemed void, it is void since the beginning; in other words, the expected legal effect should be deemed as non-existent from the beginning of the act. If a resolution is failed, it will be deemed as non-existent from the beginning; and the resolution may be made by convening a new meeting. If a resolution is revoked, it will have no effect after revocation, but the civil legal relationship formed by the company and the bona fide counterparty based on the resolution will not be affected.

It can be seen that voidness of resolutions is mainly related to infringement of substantive rights. However, revocation and failure of resolutions are related to procedural issues. The difference between revocation and failure is that procedural issues involved in the failure of resolutions are more serious.

SUMMARY AND SUGGESTIONS

When there is a defect in the expression of a company’s resolution, the first examination is whether it meets the conditions/scenarios of “failure of resolutions”. If not, it should be determined whether the content of the resolution violates laws or administrative regulations. If there is such violation, a lawsuit for void resolution should be filed; otherwise, examine whether the conditions to exercise the right of revocation are met – and if so, a lawsuit should be filed within the statutory time limit. Lawsuits related to voidness, revocation and failure of resolutions of a company are remedies that aggrieved parties may consider. However, the result of the above-mentioned situations will inevitably have a great impact on corporate governance.

Therefore, in daily operations, it is necessary to strengthen compliance management at the corporate governance level, including clearly defining the authority of proposing resolutions of the shareholders’ meeting/general meeting – and setting up strict and express procedures for the convening of, and voting at, such meetings.

Wang Kun is a partner at Tiantai Law Firm

trademarks

Tiantai Law Firm
29/F, T1 Building, Raffles City
No.1133 Changning Road
Shanghai 200051, China
Tel: +86 21 5237 7006
Fax: +86 21 5237 7009
E-mail:

wangkun@tiantailaw.com

www.tiantailaw.com