股权投资中的对赌协议效力认定

作者: 王咏静,道可特律师事务所
0
870
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

股权投资实务中,股权投资与股权融资是股权资本运作的一体两面。投资方与融资方,是利害相关的矛盾对立方,也是资本利益的合作方。对赌,则是股权投融资实务中很普遍的一种投资安排。

王咏静, Wang Yongjing, Partner, DOCVIT Law Firm
王咏静
合伙人
道可特律师事务所

实践中俗称的“对赌协议”,又称估值调整协议,是指投资方与融资方在达成股权性融资协议时,为解决交易双方对目标公司未来发展的不确定性、信息不对称、以及代理成本而设计的包含了股权回购、金钱补偿等对未来目标公司的估值进行调整的协议。

对赌的概念其实跟企业息息相关,只要企业涉及融资,就会涉及对赌问题。企业需要资金,也需要给企业投资方一份信心,也是给投资方一份保障或担保,各方其实是利益共同体。

实务中的对赌,已有多起影响颇大的失败案例,让企业认识到对赌中资本的血腥,但也不乏成功案例,对赌也一直为投资领域推崇。为此,在树立对赌意识、建立对赌理念时,企业也要正确理性的认识对赌中的问题。

对赌类型及对赌主体

实务中,常见的对赌主要表现为五种类型,1)股权转让型对赌,2)现金补偿型对赌, 3)股权稀释型对赌,4)股权回购型对赌,5)股权激励型对赌等。

从订立“对赌协议”的主体来看,存在三种形式,1)投资方与目标公司的股东或者实际控制人“对赌”,2)投资方与目标公司“对赌”,3)投资方与目标公司的股东、目标公司“对赌”等形式。

对赌协议效力的司法判例

关于对赌,中国法律是没有规定的。关于对投资协议中的对赌条款,曾一度存在争议,直到 2012年11月,苏州工业园区海富投资有限公司诉甘肃世桓有色资源再利用有限公司、香港迪亚有限公司、陆波增资纠纷案【(2012)民提字第11号】经最高人民法院提审后,最终判决认定对赌条款部分有效,也一举确定了对赌协议在股权投资领域的法律地位。

根据该判例,基本确定了两点司法审判规则,1)对于投资方与股东之间的对赌协议效力采取认可态度;2)对于投资方与目标公司之间的对赌协议效力采取否定态度。

但是,中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会仲裁裁决的【(2014)中国贸仲京裁字第0056 】案例,则认定投资方与目标公司之间的对赌条款是有效的。该仲裁案一度在法律理论及实务界引起很大反响。

《九民纪要》关于对赌的论述

2019年11月8日,最高人民法院发布《全国法院民商事审判工作会议纪要》,因是第九次全国法院民商事审判工作会议纪要,也简称《九民纪要》。《九民纪要》基本确立了对赌协议的司法适用规则。纪要具有指导性,司法实践一般都会遵循适用该纪要规则。

纪要进一步明确了投资方与目标公司的股东或者实际控制人订立的“对赌协议”的效力。但对于投资方与目标公司订立的“对赌协议”是否有效以及能否实际履行,纪要作出了处理规则论述。

(1)投资方与目标公司订立的“对赌协议”在不存在法定无效事由的情况下,目标公司仅以存在股权回购或者金钱补偿约定为由,主张“对赌协议”无效的,人民法院不予支持;但投资方主张实际履行的,人民法院应当审查是否符合公司法关于“股东不得抽逃出资”及股份回购的强制性规定,判决是否支持其诉讼请求。

(2)投资方请求目标公司回购股权的,人民法院应当依据《公司法》第35条关于“股东不得抽逃出资”或者第142条关于股份回购的强制性规定进行审查。经审查,目标公司未完成减资程序的,人民法院应当驳回其诉讼请求。

(3)投资方请求目标公司承担金钱补偿义务的,人民法院应当依据《公司法》第35条关于“股东不得抽逃出资”和第166条关于利润分配的强制性规定进行审查。经审查,目标公司没有利润或者虽有利润但不足以补偿投资方的,人民法院应当驳回或者部分支持其诉讼请求。今后目标公司有利润时,投资方还可以依据该事实另行提起诉讼。

由上,关于投资方与目标公司对赌协议的法律效力认定,虽然有《九民纪要》的指导意见,但从股权投资实务上,为避免纪要规则适用不同情形造成不确定的风险,投资方大概率还是会选择与目标公司原始股东或实际控制人对赌,除非与目标公司对赌相比目标公司原始股东或实际控制人对赌更有利益保障。

道可特公众号
“欢迎关注道可特公众号”

但是,如果实务中确实需要跟目标公司对赌,投资方则应遵循纪要规则,规避纪要规则涉及的问题,不违反法律法规强制性规定,确保对赌协议合法有效可履行。

道可特律师事务所合伙人王咏静

李静 道可特律师事务所 不良资产

道可特律师事务所
北京市朝阳区东三环中路5号
财富金融中心56层 邮编: 100020
电话: +86 10 8586 1018
传真: +86 10 8586 3605-8006
电子信箱: dkt46@dtlawyers.com.cn
www.dtlawyers.com.cn

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Determining validity of VAMs in equity investment

By Wang Yongjing, DOCVIT Law Firm
0
27

In the practice of equity investment, equity investment and equity financing are two sides of the operation of equity capital. Investors and investees are conflicting parties of interest, and also partners of capital interest. The valuation adjustment mechanism (VAM) is a common investment arrangement in equity investment and financing practice.

王咏静, Wang Yongjing, Partner, DOCVIT Law Firm
Wang Yongjing
Partner
DOCVIT Law Firm

The VAM refers to the agreement designed by investors and investees when reaching an equity financing agreement to adjust the valuation of future target companies, including equity repurchase, monetary compensation, etc., for the purpose of solving the uncertainty, information asymmetry and agency cost of future development of target companies.

The concept of a VAM is actually closely related to enterprises. As long as the enterprise involves financing, it will involve a VAM. Enterprises need funds, and they also need to provide investors with confidence, which is also a protection or guarantee. The parties are actually in a community of interests.

In the practice of a VAM, there have been many failures that have had a great impact, which make enterprises realise the bloodiness of capital in a VAM. But there are also many successful cases, and the VAM has always been highly praised in the investment field. Therefore, enterprises should correctly and rationally understand the problems in a VAM, while establishing a conceptual awareness of the mechanism.

Types and subjects of VAM

In practice, a VAM is mainly manifested in: (1) equity transfer; (2) cash compensation; (3) equity dilution; (4) equity repurchase; and (5) equity incentive.

From the perspective of the subject, there are three forms of VAM: (1) between investors and shareholders or actual controllers of target companies; (2) between investors and target companies; and (3) between investors, on the one hand, and shareholders of target companies and target companies, on the other.

VAM validity judicial precedent

There is no regulation on VAMs in China, and there have been controversies about the VAM clauses in investment agreements. The legal status of a VAM in the field of equity investment was not established until November 2012, when the dispute case of Haifu Investment Co Ltd v Gansu Shiheng Nonferrous Resources Recycle Co Ltd, Wisdom Asia Limited and Lubo for capital increase, [(2012) Min Ti Zi No.11], was reviewed by the Supreme People’s Court (SPC) and the final judgment determined that the VAM clauses were partially valid.

Based on this case, two judicial trial rules were basically determined: (1) recognising the validity of VAM between investors and shareholders; and (2) denying the validity of VAM between investors and target companies.

However, in the arbitration award of China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC), [(2014) China Mao Zhong Jing Cai Zi No. 0056], the VAM clauses between the investor and the target company were determined to be valid. The arbitration case caused big repercussions in the field of legal theory and practice.

Descriptions on VAM in Minutes of the National Working Conference on the Trial of Civil and Commercial Cases by Courts

On 8 November 2019, the SPC issued the above-mentioned minutes, which basically established the judicial applicable rules of VAMs. The minutes are instructive, and judicial practice generally follows the rules of the minutes.

The minutes clarify the validity of a VAM between the investor and the shareholders or actual controllers of the target company. Regarding whether a VAM between the investor and the target company is valid, and whether it can be actually performed, the minutes discuss the following handling rules.

(1) If no situation of legal invalidity exists in a VAM between the investor and the target company, and the target company claims that the VAM is invalid only on the grounds of equity repurchase or monetary compensation agreement, the people’s court will not support the claim. However, if the investor claims for actual performance, the people’s court shall examine whether it complies with the mandatory provisions of the Company Law on “shareholders shall not withdraw their capital contribution” and share repurchase, and decide whether to support its claim.

(2) If the investor requests the target company to repurchase its shares, the people’s court shall examine it according to the mandatory provisions of article 35 of the Company Law, on “shareholders shall not withdraw their capital contribution”, or article 142, on share repurchase. After examination, if the target company fails to complete the capital reduction procedure, the people’s court shall reject its claim.

(3) If the investor requests the target company to undertake the obligation of monetary compensation, the people’s court shall examine it according to the mandatory provisions of article 35 of the Company Law, on “shareholders shall not withdraw their capital contribution”, and article 166, on profit distribution. After examination, if the target company has no profit, or if the profit is not enough to compensate the investor, the people’s court shall reject or partially support its claim. In future, when the target company has profit, the investor can file another lawsuit for the profit according to the fact.

In summary, although the legal validity of VAMs between the investor and the target company is endorsed by the minutes, in the practice of equity investment, in order to avoid the risk of uncertainty caused by the application of the rules of the minutes in different situations, the investor is likely to choose a VAM with the original shareholders or actual controllers of the target company, unless a VAM with the target company is more profitable than a VAM with the original shareholders or actual controllers of the target company.

道可特公众号However, if a VAM with the target company is required in practice, the investors should follow rules of the minutes, avoid problems involved in the rules of the minutes, and not violate the mandatory provisions of laws and regulations to ensure that the VAM is legal, valid and enforceable.

Wang Yongjing is a partner at DOCVIT Law Firm

Li Jing DOCVIT Law Firm non-performing assets

DOCVIT Law Firm
56/F Fortune Financial Center
No.5 East Third Ring MiddleRoad
Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Tel: +86 10 8586 1018
Fax: +86 10 8586 3605-8006
E-mail: dkt46@dtlawyers.com.cn

www.dtlawyers.com.cn