在香港设立企业财资中心

作者: 王霁虹、徐一白,中伦律师事务所
0
196

港背靠内地,面向世界,是重要的国际金融、航运、贸易中心,是全球公认的自由开放经济体,国际经贸联系广泛,服务业非常发达。香港服务业门类全、人才多、专业化和国际化程度高、知识产权保护完备、市场和法制与国际接轨,具有很强的国际竞争力。

Hong Kong
王霁虹
中伦律师事务所合伙人

很多中国内地企业看中香港的众多优势,在内地设立常规的集团企业财资中心的同时,也在香港设立集团的国际企业财资中心。也有很多跨国企业在香港设立其亚洲地区或大中华区的企业财资中心。香港金融管理局曾介绍过的成功案例包括:安富利、中广核华盛、中远海运、日立金融、宜家家居、嘉里物流等。本文将概括介绍在香港设立企业财资中心的政策和环境优势、近期面临的新挑战、可能涉及的香港牌照以及可能享受的优惠政策。

政策和环境优势

首先,香港是全球领先的国际金融中心之一,在银行业、股票市场、债券市场和资产管理领域的表现均非常优秀。

第二,香港的资金流动自由调配、外汇自由兑换和进出。

第三,香港服务业发达,特别是金融、会计、法律、设计、咨询等专业服务享誉全球。香港具有竞争力的国际化人才,尤其是金融人才。

Hong Kong
徐一白
中伦律师事务所律师

第四,香港税制简单透明、税负较低,直接税只有三种:利得税、个人薪俸税和物业税。香港没有其他法域常见的销售税/消费税/增值税、预扣税、资本增值税、股息税、遗产税。

此外,香港还有优越的营商环境、全方位的人民币业务、与内地之间的多个资本流通渠道、是粤港澳大湾区的重要城市等众多优势。

近期挑战

不过,自2019年以来围绕着香港发生的一系列事件也在不断地引发外界的关切:

(1)“反修例”引发的不安定使得香港国际声誉受损;(2)基于香港的特殊经济结构,此次新冠疫情对香港造成较大影响;(3)关于制定《国安法》的决定引发美国取消香港某些特殊地位的威胁;(4)甚至中国推出海南自由贸易港的政策也引发了此举是否会挑战香港贸易中心地位的猜测。

在国际评级方面,穆迪于2020年1月20日将香港长期信贷评级由“Aa2”降至“Aa3”;
惠誉于2019年9月下调香港的信用评级为“AA“,又于2020年4月再次下调香港信用评级至“AA-”。由此可见,香港确实面临着很多现实存在的新情况和新挑战。

涉及的牌照

企业财资中心经常从事的业务内容可能会涉及香港《证券及期货条例》附表五所规定的十二类受规管活动,尤其是第4类(就证券提供意见)、第6类(就机构融资提供意见)和第9类(资产管理)。此外,企业财资中心的运营内容也可能会涉及香港《放债条例》规定的放债人牌照和《打击洗钱及恐怖分子资金筹集条例》规定的金钱服务经营者牌照等。

因此,如在香港设立企业财资中心,应动态关注其逐步开展的业务是否落入特殊的、受规管的领域,提前研判是否需要取得相关牌照、相关牌照的具体要求以及法定可豁免申领牌照的情形,避免出现不持牌从事受规管业务或经营行为不符合牌照要求等违规情况,规避由此引发的合规风险。

可能享受的优惠政策

根据香港《2016年税务(修订)(第2号)条例》,合格的企业财资中心主要可以享受两种税务优惠:(1)“合资格企业财资中心”的“合资格利润”扣减50%利得税,税率从17.5%降至8.25%;(2)在香港经营集团内部融资业务的借款人的相关利息支出,在计算利得税时可获扣免。而且,企业只需在报税时以书面方式选择半额税率,不用预先申请成为合资格企业财资中心。

总的来说,每个有国际企业财资中心设立计划的企业应该提前对设立候选地的环境、政策、法律法规进行综合调研、横向比较,根据最新的国际形势选择最适合企业情况的地点。但是,笔者综合多方面信息后认为,香港得益于其优越的国际地位、与内地的紧密联系、具有竞争力的人才、制度,虽然近期面临众多挑战,但目前仍是内地企业设立国际企业财资中心的首选地之一。

作者:中伦律师事务所合伙人王霁虹、律师徐一白

subcontracts

中伦律师事务所
北京市建国门外大街甲6号
SK大厦36-37层 邮编: 100022
电话: +86 10 8800 4223
传真: +86 10 6655 5566
电子信箱:
wangjihong@zhonglun.com
xuyibai@zhonglun.com
www.zhonglun.com

Establishing CTCs in a changing Hong Kong environment

By Wang Jihong and Xu Yibai, Zhonglun Law Firm
0
140

With proximity to mainland China, Hong Kong is an important international financial, shipping and trade centre, and a globally recognized free and open economy, with extensive international economic and trade links and a well-developed service industry. The service industry of Hong Kong is equipped with many talents, a high degree of professionalism and globalization, a complete protection mechanism of intellectual property rights, a market and legal system in line with international standards, and a strong international competitiveness.

Hong Kong
Wang Jihong
Partner
Zhong Lun Law Firm

Many mainland Chinese enterprises have taken a fancy to Hong Kong’s many advantages and choose to set up international corporate treasury centres (CTCs) in Hong Kong, even if they already have general CTCs on the mainland. Many multinational enterprises also choose to set up their Asian or Greater China CTCs in Hong Kong.

Successful cases demonstrated by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority include: Avnet, CGNPC Huasheng Investment, COSCO Shipping, Hitachi Capital, IKEA, and Kerry Logistics. This article outlines policy and environmental advantages, new challenges faced recently, and some that may be faced in the near future, possible Hong Kong licences involved, and possible preferential policies when it comes to setting up a CTC in Hong Kong.

The advantages

First of all, Hong Kong is one of the global leading financial centres, with excellent performance in banking, stock markets, bond markets and asset management.

Hong Kong
Xu Yibai
Associate
Zhong Lun Law Firm

Second, Hong Kong enjoys free flow of capital, free exchange of foreign currencies, and free flow in and out of the territory.

Third, Hong Kong’s service industry is well developed, especially in finance, accounting, law, design, consulting and other professional services. It has competitive international talent, especially financial talent. Fourth, Hong Kong has a simple and transparent taxation system with relatively light tax burden.

There are only three types of direct taxes: profits tax, salaries tax and property tax. Taxes commonly seen in other jurisdictions, such as sales tax/consumption tax/VAT, withholding tax, capital VAT, dividend tax and inheritance tax are not imposed in Hong Kong.

In addition, Hong Kong has many other advantages such as a predominant business environment, a comprehensive renminbi business, multiple capital flow channels with the mainland, and being an important city in the Greater Bay Area (Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macau) plan.

Recent challenges

However, since 2019, a series of events around Hong Kong have raised concerns including: (1) the unrest caused by the Anti-Extradition Law Amendment Bill (anti-ELAB) movement has damaged Hong Kong’s international reputation; (2) covid-19 has imposed a great impact on Hong Kong because of its special economic structure; (3) Beijing’s decision to enact the National Security Law has triggered the US threat to strip Hong Kong of its special status; and (4) even China’s policy of transforming Hainan to a free-trade port has raised speculation about whether the move will challenge Hong Kong’s position as a trade centre.

In terms of international ratings, Moody’s downgraded Hong Kong’s long-term credit rating from “Aa2” to “Aa3” on 20 January 2020. Fitch lowered Hong Kong’s credit rating in September 2019 to “AA”, and downgraded it further to “AA-” in April 2020, all proof that Hong Kong is facing many new situations and challenges.

Licensed activities

A CTC may engage in the 12 types of regulated activities prescribed in schedule 5 of Hong Kong’s Securities and Futures Ordinance, Type 4 (advising on securities), Type 6 (advising on corporate treasury), and Type 9 (asset management) in particular. In addition, the operation of the CTC may also involve the money lender licence stipulated by Hong Kong’s Money Lenders Ordinance, and the money service operator licence stipulated by the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance.

Therefore, if enterprises were to set up a CTC in Hong Kong, they should pay close attention to whether their gradually unfolding business falls into special regulated areas, and analyze in advance whether they need to obtain relevant licences, with their specific requirements and potential applicability of statutory exemptions from applying for licences, so as to avoid compliance risks caused by unlicensed or non-compliant operations.

Preferential policies

Under the Hong Kong Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No.2) Ordinance 2016, there are two main tax benefits available for qualifying CTCs: (1) a qualifying CTC will receive a 50% profits tax deduction for “qualifying profits”, reducing the tax rate from 17.5% to 8.25%; and (2) borrowers’ interest expenses from intra-group financing business are deductible when it comes to profits tax calculation. Enterprises only need to choose the half-amount tax rate in writing at the time of tax declaration, and there is no need to apply in advance for setting up the qualifying CTC.

Generally speaking, enterprises planning to set up a CTC should conduct a comprehensive investigation and horizontal comparison of the environment, policies, laws and regulations of the candidate sites beforehand, and choose the most suitable ones according to the latest international situation.

However, with everything considered, the authors believe that Hong Kong is still among the top choices for mainland enterprises to set up international CTCs, with its advantages from superior international status, close ties with the mainland, and competitive talent pool and systems, regardless of the many recent challenges.

Wang Jihong is a partner and Xu Yibai is an associate at Zhonglun Law Firm

energyZhong Lun Law Firm
36-37/F, SK Tower
6A Jianguomenwai Avenue
Beijing 100022, China
Tel: +86 10 8800 4223
Fax: +86 10 6655 5566
E-mail:
[email protected]
[email protected]

www.zhonglun.com