新刑法修正案对上市公司并购重组刑事风险的影响

作者: 杜连军、褚智林,天达共和律师事务所
0
333

 

中国《刑法修正案(十一)》于2020年12月26日正式通过。本次修正案共有47个修正条文,针对证券犯罪的修改涉及:欺诈发行股票、债券罪、违规披露、不披露重要信息罪、提供虚假证明文件罪和操纵证券、期货交易市场罪。

杜连军
合伙人
天达共和律师事务所

在上市公司进行并购重组过程中,募集资金的体量巨大,往往需要通过发行新股或企业债券的方式募集资金;在具体并购重组的筹划及实施过程中,上市公司作为公众公司,又需要承担较高程度的信息披露义务,不可避免地会面临此次《刑法》修改带来的刑事风险。这些风险主要体现在以下三个方面:

刑事责任骤然加重

对于上市公司并购领域密切相关的违法犯罪行为,如欺诈发行、违规披露、操纵证券市场等,《刑法修正案(十一)》的处罚力度和范围均以扩大。

欺诈发行、违规披露相关罪名的自由刑全面加重。

欺诈发行股票、债券罪从原来只有“5年以下有期徒刑或拘役”一档自由刑,调整为两档自由刑,最高可被判处15年有期徒刑。

违规披露或者不披露重要信息罪,由原来的“3年以下有期徒刑或者拘役”一档自由刑修改为两档法定刑,不仅提高第一档刑期的上限,更提高了法定最高刑的上限,最高为10年有期徒刑。

取消相关罪名的财产刑上限限制,加大了罚金力度,提高违法成本。本次刑法修改前,欺诈发行股票、债券罪的罚金刑最高为“非法募集资金金额百分之五”,违规披露、不披露重要信息罪的罚金刑最高仅为20万元。《刑法修正案(十一)》直接修改为“并处罚金”,取消了对上述罪名罚金刑的立法上限,留给司法解释和法官裁量予以决断。

完善对欺诈发行、操纵市场行为的打击范围。

本次修正案完善了欺诈发行证券的类型,从原来的“股票、债券”增加了“存托凭证或者国务院依法认定的其他证券”,以适应证券市场的最新发展。新增三类操纵证券市场的情形,进一步明确对“幌骗交易操纵”“蛊惑交易操纵”和“抢帽子交易操纵”等新型操纵市场行为追究刑事责任。

褚智林, Chu Zhilin, Associate, East & Concord Partners
褚智林
律师
天达共和律师事务所

相关人员刑事责任

明确控股股东、实际控制人组织、指使欺诈发行、违规披露行为应负刑事责任。

需要强调的是,增设的对应条款均为单纯的量刑规则或注意条款,即使不规定相关条款,对于控股股东、实际控制人的相关行为,也可依照单位犯罪的处罚原则,以追究“两责人员”的方式追究上述人员的刑事责任,而不需要单独增设对应条款。

此举系立法者意图指导司法实践,对于证券违法行为,打击重要的关键少数,才是控制相关违法犯罪行为的重中之重。因此在上市公司进行并购过程中,公司的“关键少数”必须时刻谨记刑法利剑高悬,注意合规经营防范严峻刑事风险。

关于单位犯罪认定的注意事项。

值得注意的是,对于违规披露、不披露重要信息罪,虽然罪状明确显示责任主体是依法负有信息披露义务的公司、企业,看似属于绝对的单位犯罪。但是根据《刑法》对单位犯罪的处罚原则,由于该条并未规定单位的处罚条款,因此不能对涉嫌违规披露信息的单位追究该罪的刑事责任。如此规定是考虑到上市公司涉及多元利益群体,触犯涉案单位将造成中小股东的双重损害。

加重处罚力度

随着对证券市场的监管力度逐步加强,承担资产评估、验资、保荐等中介机构的审慎义务需相应提高。本次修法明确列举出保荐等人员,增加了犯罪主体范围。同时修正案还加大了该类犯罪的处罚力度,若该类中介机构提供了虚假评估、证明等文件,最高将从原来的五年增加到十年有期徒刑。不仅如此,之前受贿情节也由加重情节修改为择一重罪论处。将证券市场“中介机构”与市场真正行为主体的刑事责任“一视同仁”,进一步看出中国对证券市场强监管,严厉打击该市场违法犯罪行为的决心。

社会经济飞速前进,随着资本市场迅速发展,证券期货犯罪案件也呈逐年上升态势,特别是在上市公司并购重组中,欺诈发行证券、违规披露、不披露信息都可能构成刑事犯罪,而且刑事责任日趋严峻,上市公司的董监高、中介机构服务人员都应该全面提高自己的认识水平,牢固树立风险意识,注意合规经营,避免误踩刑事红线。

天达共和律师事务所合伙人杜连军、律师褚智林

Reform天达共和律师事务所
北京市朝阳区东三环北路8号
亮马河大厦写字楼1座20层 邮编:100004
电话: +86 10 6590 6639
传真: +86 10 6510 7030
电子信箱:

dulj@east-concord.com
chuzhilin@east-concord.com

www.east-concord.com

Criminal Law amendment address risk for M&A and reorganisations

By Du Lianjun and Chu Zhilin, East & Concord Partners 
0
58

China’s Amendment (XI) to the Criminal Law was officially adopted on 26 December 2020. There are 47 clauses in this amendment, and the amendments to the area of securities crime involve crimes of fraudulent issuance of stocks and bonds, crimes of illegal disclosure and non-disclosure of important information, crimes of providing false certificates, and crimes of manipulating the securities and futures market.

Du Lianjun
Partner
East & Concord Partners

In the process of M&A and the reorganisation of listed companies, funds, in huge amounts, are often raised through the issuance of new shares or corporate bonds. In the specific planning and implementation process of M&A and reorganisation, listed companies, as public companies, also need to undertake many more obligations of information disclosure, which will inevitably force them to face criminal risks under the amendment. These risks are reflected in the following three aspects.

Increased criminal liability

For illegal and criminal acts closely related to the M&A of listed companies – such as fraudulent issuance, illegal disclosure, and manipulation of the securities market – both the intensity and scope of punishment stipulated in Amendment (XI) to the Criminal Law are increased.

The penalties against crimes of fraud issuance and illegal disclosure get heavier.

For the crime of fraudulent issuance of stocks and bonds, the original one-level penalty of “fixed-term imprisonment of less than five years” was adjusted to two levels of penalties, with a maximum of 15 years’ imprisonment.

For the crime of illegal disclosure and non-disclosure of important information, the original one-level penalty of fixed-term imprisonment of less than three years was revised to two levels of penalties, which not only increases the upper limit of the term of imprisonment of the first-level penalty, but also increases the upper limit of the term of imprisonment of the maximum legal penalty – up to 10 years’ imprisonment.

The upper limit of property penalty for related crimes has been cancelled, and the fine has been increased. Before the amendment, the maximum fine for the crime of fraudulent issuance of stocks and bonds was “5% of the amount of illegally raised funds”, and the maximum fine for the crime of illegal disclosure and non-disclosure of important information was RMB200,000 (US$31,000). In the amendment, these are directly revised to “concurrently impose a fine”, cancelling the legislative upper limit of the fine, and leaving space for judicial interpretation and the discretion for judges.

褚智林, Chu Zhilin, Associate, East & Concord Partners
Chu Zhilin
Associate
East & Concord Partners

The scope of cracking down on fraudulent issuance and market manipulation has improved.

The amendment adds to the types of securities issued fraudulently “depository receipts or other securities legally recognised by the State Council according to law”, to the original “stocks and bonds”. Three new types of manipulation of securities market are also added to clarify the criminal liability for new types of market manipulation, such as “spoofing trading”, “misleading trading” and “scalping trading”.

Liability of related personnel

It has been made clear that the controlling shareholder, the effective controller, the instigator of fraudulent issuance, and illegal disclosure actor, should bear criminal liability.

The additional corresponding provisions are attention clauses, or simple sentencing rules. Even if there is no relevant provision for the relevant acts of controlling shareholder and effective controller, the criminal liability of investigating the above-mentioned persons can also be investigated by way of investigating the “two kinds of responsible persons”, in accordance with the punishment principle of unit crime, and there is no need to add corresponding provisions separately.

This is an attempt by legislators to guide judicial practice. For securities-related illegal acts, cracking down on important and key minorities is the top priority in controlling related illegal and criminal acts. Therefore, in the process of M&A of listed companies, the “key minority” of the company must always bear in mind this “sharp sword” of the Criminal Law, pay attention to compliance management, and prevent criminal risks.

Matters needing attention in the determination of unit crime.

It is worth noting that for the crime of illegal disclosure and non-disclosure of important information, the accusation clearly shows that the subject of responsibility is the company or enterprise that has the obligation of information disclosure according to law, and it seems that the subject commits an absolute unit crime.

However, according to the punishment principle of unit crime in the Criminal Law, since the clause does not stipulate the punishment on the unit, the unit suspected of illegal disclosure of information cannot be investigated for the criminal liability of this crime. Such a provision is based on the fact that listed companies involve multiple stakeholders, and the punishment on the units involved would cause double damage to minority shareholders.

Imposing heavier punishment

With the gradual strengthening of the supervision on the securities market, the prudence obligations of intermediaries undertaking asset assessment, capital verification and recommendation with guarantee should be increased accordingly. This amendment expands the scope of the subject of crime by clearly including the sponsors and other personnel.

The amendment also increases the penalties against such crimes. If securities intermediaries provide false assessment, certification and other documents, the maximum penalty will be increased from the original five years’ imprisonment to 10 years. The handling of previous bribery circumstances is also changed from aggravating circumstances to one felony punishment, so in terms of crime liability, the “intermediaries” in the securities market can be equally treated with the real acting subjects in the market. This further shows China’s determination to strengthen its supervision on the securities market and severely crack down on illegal and criminal acts in the market.

With the rapid development of the social economy and capital market, crimes related to securities and futures are also on the rise. Especially in the M&A and reorganisation of listed companies, fraudulent issuance of securities, illegal disclosure and non-disclosure of information may constitute criminal crimes, and the criminal liability has become more severe. The directors, supervisors and senior executives of listed companies, as well as service personnel of intermediaries, should improve their level of understanding, firmly establish risk awareness, pay attention to compliance management, and avoid mistakenly committing criminal offences.

Du Lianjun is a partner and Chu Zhilin is an associate at East & Concord Partners

Reform

East & Concord Partners
20/F, Landmark Building Tower 1
8 East 3rd Ring Road North
Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Tel: +86 10 6590 6639
Fax: +86 10 6510 7030
E-mail:

dulj@east-concord.com
chuzhilin@east-concord.com

www.east-concord.com