中国与东欧前共产主义国家的昔日友情,正在二十一世纪的今天续写新的篇章
作者:高小云

1989年以来,中东欧的发展史堪称由计划经济向市场经济成功转型的典范。”马格努松律师事务所在华沙的合伙人Andrzej Tokaj说道。该律所在波罗的海地区设有不少分所

“虽然中东欧各国仍需承受历史留下的重负,但其国力的增长、法制与商业的发展成就依然令人惊叹。” 翰宇国际律师事务所在布拉格(捷克首都)的管理合伙人Val Papirnik说道。

这些话不禁让人联想到中国的经济发展历程,难怪中国投资者能看到中东欧蕴藏的商机。中国企业在该地区颇为活跃,他们在波罗的海各国投资运输与物流行业、在匈牙利投资太阳能发电,在波兰投资道路建设。

Wolf Theiss律师事务所在布加勒斯特(罗马尼亚首都)的合伙人Bryan Jardine认为,中国投资者“学得很快”、“目光长远”。“对某些项目,中国企业不怎么看重能获利多少。” Pachiu Associates律师事务所布加勒斯特总所的管理合伙人Laurentiu Pachiu说。

Alexandra Doytchinova 管理合伙人 Managing Partner Schoenherr 索非亚 Sofia中东欧地区是通往欧盟统一市场的康庄大道。近年来中国企业在基础建设、航空、铁路运输、可再生能源等行业领域获得了不少专业知识,对他们来说,中东欧地区正是其用武之地。

在一些律师看来,来自中国的投资正在填补08年全球金融海啸造成的空白。“来自欧洲内部的投资增长乏力,中国的投资却显得越发突出。”Schoenherr律师事务所在索非亚(保加利亚首都)的管理合伙人Alexandra Doytchinova解释道。

中东欧一体?

本文将论及的国家包括匈牙利、波兰、捷克、斯洛伐克及波罗的海三国——爱沙尼亚、拉脱维亚、立陶宛,这些国家都已经在2004年成为了欧盟成员国。本文还将论及罗马尼亚和保加利亚,两国在2007年也加入了欧盟。

Richard Lock 合伙人 Partner Lakatos Köves and Partners 布达佩斯 Budapest许多在中东欧投资的国际公司都将这一地区视为整体。“在境外投资者眼中,这些国家有颇多相似之处。” Kinstellar律师事务所在布拉格的合伙人兼项目及基础设施业务主管Kamil Blažek说道。(Kinstellar律所与年利达律所(Linklaters)渊源颇深,2008年Linklaters在中欧及东欧几处分所脱离出去,组成了Kinstellar;其实,Kinstellar这个名字就是将Linklaters一名的字母重新排列顺序而成的。)

然而,这一地区有如此众多的国家,各国间绝不会毫无差异。正如Tokaj所说:“谈到文化、语言、经济表现、市场规模、发展前景等方面,这些国家间差异明显。” Tokaj接着举例补充说:“2009年,拉脱维亚是世界上经济最萧条的国家,GDP下降了大约18%,而同一年波兰的经济却是增长的。”

Vladimira Papirnik 管理合伙人 Managing Partner Squire Sanders & Dempsey布拉格 Prague“在制订规范的商业计划书时,应该密切关注每个国家的具体情况,” Lakatos Köves and Partners律师事务所在布达佩斯(匈牙利首都)的公司业务主管 Richard Lock解释说:“争相取得境外投资是这个地区的常态。”不同国家间,投资奖励、税收优惠,社会保障、劳动力成本等方面差异巨大。然而这对境外投资者倒未尝不是件好事,他们可以让各国鹤蚌相争,从中渔利。

“要是计划中的投资数额巨大,这些中东欧国家就会绞尽脑汁取悦投资者,不仅实行鼓励投资的政策,还采取务实的措施,比如提高签证办理、政府审批的效率。”Papirnik说。

文化差异

中国与中东欧国家的差异颇大,要越过众多文化、语言的障碍恐非易事。举例来说,匈牙利语的难度就与汉语不相上下。

但Doytchinova认为,语言不是问题,因为其中国客户与当地人可以用英语沟通。Pachiu也觉得文化差异并没人们所想的那么大,他认为“领导投资的中国团队大多在美国受过教育,能明白西方的制度”。

位于华沙的Gessel 律师事务所中国业务主管Bartek Swietlik认为,“优质翻译”的重要性不容小视。Swietlik提到Gessel律所与权亚律所之间建立的紧密关系,认为关键就在于GESSEL有能力提供高质量的双语文件。在竞标公共采购项目时需要遵行一系列形式化的程序,这时翻译的好坏就显得尤为重要了。

或许有人会认为,由于中国投资者了解由国家控制的经济体制,他们会对中东欧国家过往政权遗留下的官僚作风特别敏感。Papirnik就有这方面的经验,他注意到,中国投资者“明白我们是从哪里来的”,所以很容易就会想到哪些程序、限制仍残留在捷克的政治体制中。

位于布拉格的Weinhold Legal律师事务所的合伙人Pav Younis说:“政府从旧时共产政权沿袭而来的官僚作风,可能会给境外投资者造成困难,但并非不能克服。”

商业策略 政治意志

随着中国与中东欧国家的关系不断发展,双方的商贸联系也不断增强。政府机构也有志于推动双边贸易与投资的增长。

今年,匈牙利政府曾派出代表团访问中国,立陶宛政府最近也接待了来自中国的代表团。两次外事交流中,中外双方都展示了致力发展贸易关系的诚意。

捷克投资局中国及东南亚业务主任Lenka Hrebícková说,吸引中国投资是第一要务,“必须知道中国的合作伙伴需要什么、希望得到什么服务”。捷克投资局是捷克政府的投资与商业发展机构,在香港和上海都设有办事处,负责向中国投资者提供信息,以助其在捷克设立业务,包括帮助中国投资者寻找潜在的业务伙伴。

中波经济文化交流基金会(SINOPOL)作为非官方机构,致力于发展中国与波兰之间的商贸关系。今年六月,VARUL成为了波罗的海地区第一个加入中国欧洲法律协会(CELA)的律师事务所。中国欧洲法律协会是2008年成立的非营利组织,旨在支持、促进中欧之间的跨文化法律交流,推广替代性争议解决方式(CELA也于2008年在德国汉堡设立了中欧仲裁中心)。

除了贸易促进机构,中东欧当地律师事务所亦主动寻求与中国律师事务所建立有效的合作关系。马格努松律师事务所曾调派一名律师前往北京万商天勤律师事务所工作了六个月;另外,上文也提到,Gessel律师事务所与权亚律师事务所建立了紧密的合作关系。一些中国投资者常常寻求在中东欧地区拥有投资组合,能在中东欧提供跨区域法律服务的律所特别受中国投资者的欢迎。“地区性律师事务所的真正优势在于能切合中国投资者的需要。” Wolf Theiss律师事务所在布加勒斯特的合伙人 Jardine说道。

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022

Old partnerships between China and the former communist nations of Europe are being renewed for the 21st century. By Alice Gartland

The history of central and eastern Europe since 1989 is a true success story of moving from a centrally steered economy to a market economy” says Andrzej Tokaj, a partner in the Warsaw office of Magnusson, a law firm with offices across the Baltic region.

“Even ash country is still dealing with historical burdens, the amount of growth and legal and commercial development is astounding” adds Vladimira Papirnik, managing partner of Squire Sanders & Dempsey’s Prague office.

There are echoes of China’s own economic development in such statements, and perhaps it is no surprise that Chinese investors are able to see the opportunities that central and eastern Europe – often abbreviated to CEE – present. Chinese companies are active across the region, investing in transport and logistics hubs in the Baltic states and solar power in Hungary, and building roads in Poland.

Chinese investors are “quick learners” and “take a long term view” says Bryan Jardine, a partner at Wolf Theiss in Bucharest. They are “not as strict about the bankability of certain projects,” says Laurentiu Pachiu, managing partner at Pachiu Associates, also in the Romanian capital.

The region is a gateway to the European Union and its single market.

Alexandra Doytchinova 管理合伙人 Managing Partner Schoenherr 索非亚 SofiaIt is also a place where Chinese companies can apply their recently acquired expertise in infrastructure, aviation, rail travel, renewable energy and other sectors.

And Chinese investment is, according to some lawyers, filling a void that has existed since the global financial crisis started in earnest in 2008. “Intra-Europe investment has slowed and Chinese investment has become more visible,” explains Alexandra Doytchinova, managing partner of Schoenherr’s Sofia office.

CEE United?

This article covers Hungary, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia and the Baltic states (Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania), which all became members of the European Union in 2004, and Romania and Bulgaria which joined the EU in 2007.

Many international companies managing investments in the region view CEE as a single entity. “There are a large number of similarities [between the various countries] from the point of view of the foreign investor,” says Kamil Blažek, a partner and head of projects and infrastructure at Kinstellar’s Prague office. (Kinstellar traces its origins to the CEE offices of Linklaters which were spun off in 2008. The name Kinstellar is an anagram of Linklaters.)

Yet as the long list of countries suggests, the region is not a homogenous entity. There are “significant differences when it comes to culture, language, economic performance, market size and forecasts for the future,” says Tokaj. “While Latvia has suffered one of the deepest recessions in the world, Richard Lock 合伙人 Partner Lakatos Köves and Partners 布达佩斯 Budapestwith a decline in GDP of approximately 18% in 2009, Poland has reported positive growth for the same year,” adds Tokaj by way of illustration.

“In the context of any serious business proposal, close attention should be paid to specific factors in each particular country,” explains Richard Lock, head of the corporate practice at Lakatos Köves and Partners in Budapest. “Competition for foreign investment is a constant issue within the region.” Investment Vladimira Papirnik 管理合伙人 Managing Partner Squire Sanders & Dempsey布拉格 Pragueincentives, tax policies, social security and labour costs vary dramatically from country to country. This can be to the advantage of inward investors, who can play one country off against another.

“If the planned investment is large enough, then countries will court the investor aggressively, not only with incentives but also with the more mundane matters, such as smoothing the way for quick visas and bureaucratic approvals,” says Papirnik.

Cultural differences

China and the CEE are very different places, and there can be significant cultural and linguistic barriers to overcome. Hungarian, for one, is a language often ranked alongside Chinese in difficulty.

Doytchinova says that the language barrier is not an issue because Chinese clients and local people can communicate in English. Pachiu has also found the cultural divide not to be as great as one may first assume. The Chinese teams leading an investment are, “often schooled in America and can understand the Western system,” he says.

However, the importance of good quality translation should not be underestimated, according to Bartek Swietlik, head of the China desk at Gessel in Warsaw. Swietlik points to Gessel’s close relationship with TransAsia Lawyers as key to ensuring the production of quality documentation in both languages. This is particularly so when following formalistic procedures required when bidding for public procurement projects.

One might also assume that Chinese investors’ understanding of state-controlled economies would lead them to be sensitive to the bureaucratic legacy of the region’s communist past. This is certainly the experience of Papirnik, who observes that Chinese investors “understand where we came from” and so it’s easier for them “to relate to some of the processes and constraints” that remain in the Czech system.

“Certain inherent bureaucratic tendencies inherited from [a country’s] communist past can prove difficult for an inward investor, but not insurmountable,” says Pav Younis, a partner at Weinhold Legal in Prague.

Business strategy, political will

The growing ties between China and CEE countries have spurred the growth of business associations and governmental organizations aimed at promoting trade and investment between the two sides.

The Hungarian government sent a delegation to China this year, and the Lithuanian government recently played host to a delegation from China. In each case, both sides wanted to demonstrate their commitment to building trade.

Lenka Hrebícková, director of China and Southeast Asia operations at CzechInvest, says that attracting investment from China is a priority and it is essential to “get to know what Chinese partners need, the type of services they prefer”. CzechInvest, the Czech government’s investment and business development agency, has offices in Hong Kong and Shanghai and provides information to Chinese investors about setting up in the Czech Republic, including identifying potential business partners.

In Poland, SINOPOL is a private organization that works to develop links between Chinese and Polish businesses. And in June this year VARUL became the first Baltic law firm to join the Chinese European Legal Association (CELA). CELA is a non-profit organization which was founded in 2008 to support and foster intercultural legal exchange between China and Europe and to promote alternative dispute resolution CELA also set up the China European Arbitration Centre in Hamburg in 2008.

Besides trade promotion organizations, law firms are reaching out to develop effective working relationships with PRC firms. Magnusson sent an associate on secondment to V&T Law Firm in Beijing for six months, and as mentioned above, Gessel has developed a close relationship with TransAsia. Firms able to offer services in jurisdictions across central and eastern Europe may be particularly attractive to Chinese investors, who are often seeking to manage a portfolio of investments across the region. “Being a regional firm is a real advantage in terms of providing the coverage that Chinese investors need,” says Jardine at Wolf Theiss.

Law.asia subscripton ad red 2022