《民法典》时代,商事纠纷新挑战

作者: 韩惠虓、唐杰,大成律师事务所
0
456

2020年5月28日,经立法机关表决通过,中国由此开启《民法典》时代。目前,距《民法典》施行不到半年,笔者以法解释学角度,重点分析《民法典》所带来的影响和变化,以应对未来商事纠纷案件的新挑战。

韩惠虓 大成律师事务所 民法典
韩惠虓
高级合伙人
大成律师事务所

文义解释

《民法典》中,约三分之一条文系对现行法及相关司法解释作非实质性修订而来。在不改变条文文义的情况下,立法者通过对字词或标点的修改、法条的整合、不完全列举的增补,使法律条文的核心文义更为清晰,减轻文义解释工作负担。

另外,《民法典》还修改、统一诸多概念,如将部分条文中的“要求”改为“请求”、“合同的权利”改为“债权”、使用“民事主体”概念等,既回归传统民法,也更为精简。对文义解释工作而言,此种修改使得“同一解释规则”有了更多用武之地,同时,这还有助于增进法律共同体在法学领域的共识,借助法理进行解释由此拥有广阔天地。

唐杰 大成律师事务所 民法典
唐杰
合伙人
大成律师事务所

体系解释

民法典是大陆法系的民族史诗。编纂《民法典》,是将民法规范和制度按照一定的逻辑、体例编纂为一个整体,以消除各单行法之间的矛盾、漏洞和重复,构建统一、体系化的民法规范。就《民法典》而言,诸种解释方法中,以对体系解释方法的功能强化最为显著。

同时,中国《民法典》采“民商合一”体例,《民法典》总则编统一适用于所有民商事关系、涵盖民商事交易规则,其他各编中的部分法律规范对商事审判也有适用效力。因此,在《民法典》自身的体系化之外,还要关注《民法典》和商事特别法的关系,在特定商事纠纷中,可依据《民法典》和商事特别法之间的体系进行法律解释。

兼顾主客观立法目的

目的解释是狭义法律解释方法的“王冠”。一方面,解释离不开立法目的考量,以目的解释为基础;另一方面,目的解释还有验证其他解释结论的功能。而目的解释,又有主观和客观之分,前者是指历史上立法者的主观目的,后者是法律文本所表现出来的规范目的。

在目的解释中,通常强调客观立法目的优先,因法律有滞后性,用历史上立法者主观目的进行解释将可能脱离社会实际。例如,《民法通则》是在中国计划经济时期制定,以当时立法者的主观目的进行解释,难以有效解决当今市场经济时期的争议。而《民法典》是一部新法,是对当下中国社会和经济领域的现实法律需求的回应,立法者主观的立法目的对未来一定时期内的民商事审判工作具有现实的指导意义。因此,对《民法典》条文的目的解释,应当主客观兼顾,全面探究立法者的真意。

历史解释

在中国司法实务中,历史解释极少获得适用,原因之一是中国立法资料较少,且难以考察。《民法典》实施后,或许这一解释方法将有可能得到更多适用机会。原因在于:首先,《民法典》修改了《民法通则》《合同法》《担保法》等多部单行法的部分规定,其中的修改本身就是历史解释方法的重要参考;其次,《民法典》制定过程中曾公布多个草案,部分条文反复修改,这些公开的立法过程,有助于解释者探究立法者的真意,从而作出妥当的历史解释。

漏洞

法谚有云:法典不可能没有缝隙。中国《民法典》合计1260个条文,对比来看,法国民法典2281条,德国民法典2385条,单从条文数量来看,中国《民法典》不够精细,可能存在较多的法律漏洞。

具体而言,例如,《民法典》第519条规定连带债务人在履行额超过分担额时享有追偿权,但在某一连带债务人的履行额低于分担额时,若债权人免除剩余债权,该债务人是否能向其他未履行债务的连带债务人追偿,却未做规定,构成法律漏洞。商事纠纷中,遇到此类问题,需完成漏洞填补的法律解释工作方可解决纠纷。

“法律非经解释不得适用”,法律解释是立法和司法的桥梁。笔者提示,除关注《民法典》对法律解释工作的影响外,还要关注最高院进行中的司法解释清理和新司法解释制定工作,这些变革对将来的商事审判影响深远,对律师群体而言,其中的挑战与机遇不可忽视。《民法典》时代,既要做到准确理解和解读,还要在具体案件中进行妥当的法律解释,方可实现商事纠纷的妥善解决。

作者:大成律师事务所高级合伙人韩惠虓、合伙人唐杰

韩惠虓 唐杰 大成律师事务所 民法典大成律师事务所
上海市黄浦区湖滨路150号
企业天地5号楼16层/22层 邮编 200021
电话: +86 21 5878 5888
传真: +86 21 5878 6866
电子信箱:

huixiao.han@dentons.cn

tang.jie@dentons.cn
www.dentons.com

New challenges of commercial disputes in Civil Code era

By Han Huixiao and Tang Jie, Dentons
0
58

On 28 May 2020, the Civil Code era in China began with its approval by the legislature. It is less than half a year since its implementation, and from a perspective of legal interpretation the authors will focus on the impact and changes brought by the Civil Code in order to meet the new challenges of future commercial dispute cases.

Han Huixiao Dentons Civil Code
Han Huixiao
Senior Partner
Dentons

Literal interpretation

In the Civil Code, about a third of the provisions are non-substantial amendments to existing laws and relevant judicial interpretations. Without changing the literal meaning of the provisions, legislators can make the core literal meaning of the legal provisions clearer and reduce the burden of literal interpretation by modifying words or punctuation, integrating the legal provisions and supplementing incomplete enumerations.

In addition, the Civil Code revises and unifies many concepts, such as changing “requirement” into “request”, “right of contract” into “creditor’s right”, and using the concept of “civil subject”, which not only returns to the traditional civil law, but also becomes more concise. As far as literal interpretation is concerned, such modification makes the “identical interpretation rule” more useful. It also helps to enhance the consensus of the legal community, and there lies a broad world for interpretation with the help of jurisprudence.

Tang Jie Dentons Civil Code
Tang Jie
Partner
Dentons

Systematic interpretation

The Civil Code is a national epic of the civil law system. To compile the Civil Code is to compile the norms and systems of civil law into a whole, according to certain logic and style, so as to eliminate the contradictions, loopholes and repetitions among separate laws and build a unified and systematic civil law norm system. As far as the Civil Code is concerned, among all kinds of interpretation methods, the functional enhancement of the systematic interpretation method is the most remarkable.

China’s Civil Code adopts the style of “civil and commercial integration”, and the general provisions of the code are uniformly applicable to all civil and commercial relations, covering the rules of civil and commercial transactions, while some legal norms in other parts are also applicable to commercial trials. Therefore, apart from the systematization of the Civil Code itself, we should also pay attention to the relationship between the Civil Code and the special commercial law. In specific commercial disputes, we can make legal interpretations based on the system between the Civil Code and the special commercial law.

Subjective, objective purposes

Teleological interpretation is the “crown” of the narrow legal interpretation. On the one hand, interpretation cannot be separated from the consideration of legislative purpose, and is based on teleological interpretation; on the other hand, the teleological interpretation has the function of verifying other interpretation conclusions. There are subjective and objective teleological interpretations. The former refers to the subjective purpose of legislators in history, while the latter is the normative purpose expressed in legal texts.

The priority of objective legislative purpose is usually emphasized in teleological interpretation. Because of the lag of law, it may be divorced from social reality to interpret with the subjective purpose of legislators in history. For example, General Principles of the Civil Law were formulated in China’s “planned economy” period, so it is difficult to effectively solve the disputes in today’s market economy period if interpreted according to the subjective purpose of legislators at that time.

However, the Civil Code is a new law, which is a response to the realistic legal needs in China’s social and economic fields. The subjective legislative purpose of legislators has practical guiding significance for civil and commercial trials in a certain period of time in the future. Therefore, to make teleological interpretation of the provisions of the Civil Code, we should take both subjective and objective purposes into consideration, and fully explore the true intent of legislators.

Historical interpretation

In China’s judicial practice, historical interpretation is rarely applicable. One of the reasons is that there are few legislative materials in China, and it is difficult to examine them. After the implementation of the Civil Code, perhaps this interpretation method will get more opportunities for application. The reasons are as follows: (1) the Civil Code has revised some provisions of several separate laws such as General Principles of the Civil Law, Contract Law and Security Law, and the revision itself is an important reference for historical interpretation; and (2) many drafts were published during the formulation of the Civil Code, and some provisions were revised repeatedly. These open legislative processes are helpful for interpreters to explore the true intent of legislators and make a proper historical interpretation.

The loopholes

As a saying in law goes, a code cannot be without its gaps. There are 1,260 articles in China’s Civil Code. By comparison, there are 2,281 articles in the French Civil Code and 2,385 articles in the German Civil Code. In terms of the number of articles, China’s Civil Code is not detailed enough, and there may be many legal loopholes.

Specifically, for example, article 519 of the Civil Code provides that joint and several debtors shall have the right of recovery when the performance amount exceeds the contribution amount. However, when the performance amount of a joint and several debtor is lower than the contribution amount, if the creditor exempts the remaining creditor’s rights, whether the debtor can recover from other joint and several debtors who have failed to perform their debts is not specified, which constitutes a legal loophole. In commercial disputes, in case of such problems, it is necessary to complete the legal interpretation to fill the loopholes before the disputes can be resolved.

“Law shall not be applied without interpretation” and legal interpretation is the bridge between legislation and judicature. The authors suggest that apart from paying attention to the influence of the Civil Code on legal interpretation, we should also pay attention to the ongoing judicial interpretation cleanup and new judicial interpretation formulation of the Supreme People’s Court.

These changes have a far-reaching impact on future commercial trials, and for lawyers the challenges and opportunities cannot be ignored. In the Civil Code era it is necessary not only to have accurate understanding and construction of laws, but also to make proper legal interpretation in specific cases, so as to realize proper settlement of commercial disputes.

Han Huixiao is a senior partner, and Tang Jie is a partner at Dentons

Han Huixiao Tang Jie Dentons Civil CodeDentons
16th/22nd Floor, 5 Corporate Avenue,
No. 150 Hubin Road, Huangpu District
Shanghai 200021
Tel: +86 21 5878 5888
Fax: +86 21 5878 6866
E-mail:

[email protected]dentons.cn

[email protected]dentons.cn

www.dentons.com