中国银保监会整改银行保险业

0
56
Follow-up-Checks-for-the-Rectification-of-Market-Problems-in-the-Banking-and-Insurance-Sectors

2020 年 6 月 24 日,中国银行保险监 督管理委员会(银保监会)发布了《关于开展银行业保险业市场乱象整治“回头看”工作的通知》。 鉴于银行业保险业内重大案件仍时有发生,尤其是在公司治理、风险管控和屡次违法违规方面,银保监会拟针对近三年行业乱象整改工作的落实情况,开展“回头看”工作。

近三年来,银保监会一直在督促银行业、保险业公司解决包括公司治理不健全、侵害消 费者权益、行业内廉洁风险在内的各类问题。银保监会要求银行和保险公司对日常经营中发现的重大问题和潜在风险进行审查, 采取纠正措施并追究相关人员的责任。

目前,银保监会正着手开展“回头看”工作,其将重点关注以下方面:

      • 对于已发现的问题,相关单位和人员是否履行了整改职责;
      • 经济是否从整改工作中受益;
      • 整改措施是否严实有效;
      • 违法违规是否得到明显遏制;
      • 公司的合规机制是否健全有效。

《通知》还明确指出,对业务执行过程中(包括公司治理、业务经营和股权管理)涉及的金融违法违规问题,将依法严肃处理。2020年7月4日,银保监会公布了38名涉嫌实施不当行为的股东名单,包括从非法交易中获利、伪造材料、使用不符合监管规定的资金来源和藐视监管规定等。银监会表示,今后其将定期发布此类名单。

建议采取的行动

银保监会开展的此类“回头看”工作与全球范 围内的银行和保险业监管机构为推动公司实 施健全的合规制度所做的努力是一致的。业内公司需要立即采取措施,确保自身落实了 有效的合规制度,以抵御银保监会的审查。

此类措施应当包括:

  • 审查现行的政策和程序,尤其是涉及公司治理、反腐败和反洗钱的政策和程序。该审查计划应全面覆盖公司业务所面临的风险,并健全向公司最高层或高管上报问题的流程(例如有效的举报制度和内部报告机制)。 笔者观察到在亚太的许多司法辖区,举报程序实际上并没有发挥应有的作用。因为在这些司法辖区,举报人必须使用当地语言进行举报,或者直接向本国的管理层或法务举报,从而降低了当地员工使用举报程序来反映问题的可能性。
  • 弥补制度中的所有漏洞。当前形势可能引发额外的反腐败或反洗钱风险,需要特别加以重视。例如,公司的尽职调查或背景调查程序是否能够有效应对因聘用新的或不熟悉的第三方所引发的风险(例如“了解你的客户”程序、管理代理机构与第三方之间的互动)?在评估此类调查程序 时,很多调查程序所设定的调查范围不准确,或者没有对已识别出的风险点进行进 一步审查。
  • 核查高风险交易和违规行为。 金融服务业中的个别领域有着较高的风险。《通知》 明确指出,银行业和保险业公司需要关注此类高风险领域,并切实采取措施来积极监控相关风险。公司应确保其合规制度中包含了与风险程度相称的交易和记录审查程序,并委派负责人员对交易和记录进行审查。
  • 确保高级管理人员积极参与合规制度构建和落实。高级管理人员应充分参与公司合规制度的建设和实施。管理层应确保为公司合规体制调配适当的资源以满足其需求,并积极参与合规制度的推广和施行。


《商法摘要》由贝克·麦坚时国际律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。 读者可通过以下电邮与贝克·麦坚时联系:吴昊(上海)howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com

CBIRC checks up on banking, insurance sector

0
39
Follow-up-Checks-for-the-Rectification-of-Market-Problems-in-the-Banking-and-Insurance-Sectors

On 24 June 2020, the China Banking and Insurance Regulatory Commission (CBIRC) issued a circular on Carrying out the Follow-up Checks for the Rectification of Market Problems in the Banking and Insurance Sectors.

The CBIRC proposes to launch follow-up checks to review the steps taken to correct industry problems identified in the past three years following some high-profile cases, particularly in the areas of corporate governance, risk management and repeated violations of several laws and regulations.

In the past three years, the CBIRC has been pushing companies in the banking and insurance sectors to address various issues including insufficient corporate governance, infringement on consumer rights, and industry-specific integrity risks. The CBIRC required banks and insurance companies to review major issues identified and potential risks existing in their daily operations, take corrective action, and hold individuals concerned liable.

The CBIRC is now undertaking follow up checks to see if:

  • Relevant entities and persons have fulfilled their responsibilities to rectify identified problems;
  • The economy has benefitted from the rectification;
  • Rectification measures are thorough and effective;
  • Violations have been greatly contained; and
  • Compliance mechanisms are sound and function effectively.

The circular also makes clear that any financial irregularities or violations in the execution of business (including corporate governance, business operations and equity management) will be handled seriously in accordance with the law.

On 4 July 2020, the CBIRC published a list of 38 shareholders who have allegedly engaged in improper activities, such as profiting from illegal transactions, fabricating material, using unqualified sources of material, and flouting regulatory rules. The CBIRC stated that it will regularly publish such lists in the future.

The follow-up checks are consistent with a global push by regulators in the banking and insurance sectors to ensure that companies implement robust compliance programmes. Companies need to take steps now to ensure that they have in place an effective compliance programme that will hold up against CBIRC scrutiny. Such steps should include the following:

• Reviewing existing policies and procedures, particularly in relation to corporate governance, anti-corruption and money laundering. The programme should adequately cover the risks to the business, which should include a robust procedure (e.g., effective whistleblowing programme and internal reporting mechanism) for escalating issues to top or senior-level management. The authors have seen ineffective whistleblowing programmes in many jurisdictions in Asia where the local language is a must, or where reports are directed to country management or legal counsel, thus reducing the likelihood of local employees utilizing the system to report issues.

• Addressing any gaps in the programme. The current environment may give rise to additional anti-corruption or money laundering risks that need to be addressed. For example, are the organization’s due diligence/background check procedures effective to deal with risks associated with engaging new or unfamiliar third parties (e.g., KYC [know your customer] procedures, and managing interactions between agents and third parties). It is common when assessing these procedures to see that many are scoped incorrectly, or the red flags are not followed up with additional scrutiny.

• Reviewing high-risk transactions and irregularities. There are certain areas that carry a higher degree of risk in the financial services industry. The circular makes clear that banking and insurance companies need to be aware of these areas and take steps to actively monitor them. Companies should make sure that their compliance programme includes a process that delegates responsible personnel to review transactions and records in a manner that is commensurate to the risk.

• Ensuring top-level management is actively involved in the programme. Top-level management should be heavily involved in the construction and implementation of the compliance programme. Management should take responsibility for ensuring that the programme is appropriately resourced for the company’s needs, and it should be proactively involved in the programme’s dissemination and practical implementation at an operational level.

Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Baker McKenzie. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice. You can contact Baker McKenzie by e-mailing Howard Wu (Shanghai) at howard.wu@bakermckenzie.com