简易合并对开曼公司的吸引力

作者: 林大维(David Lamb),康德明律师事务所
0
179

开曼群岛注册成立并在主要证券交易所上市的公众公司,由于财务、监管等多方面原因而再现私有化浪潮。例如,美国《外国公司问责法案》规定,如果公众公司会计监督委员会连续三年无法检查某公司外国审计师的审计报告,将禁止该公司股份的交易,而该法案尤其针对中国公司。

stocks
林大维
康德明律师事务所资深法律顾问

私有化可通过下列方式进行:(1)全面要约和强制收购;(2)计划安排;或(3) 长式或简易合并。

自2009年实施合并条文以来,长式合并是美国市场公司私有化的主要方式。但是,长式合并(至少现金挤出式合并)中,异议股东向开曼群岛大法院申请由该法院评估其股份的公允价值的风险较高。

简易合并可由买方团成立一家收购载体(收购公司),再由收购公司收购附带可在目标公司股东大会行使的至少90%表决权的股份。届时,收购公司会成为目标公司的母公司,可实施简易合并,而目标公司成为合并后的存续公司。

根据《公司法》第238(1)条,目标公司股东有权获支付其所持股份的公允价值,但前提条件是该股东对合并提出异议。

简易合并的优势在于无需股东批准(《公司法》第233(7)条)。因此,简易合并不必征求股东批准,而且法定程序要求也与长式合并大不相同。在简易合并中,股东不可对表决或决定表示“异议”,长式合并中行使评估权所需达到的任何先行条件均无法满足。

评估权并非孤立存在,不能凭空创造。只有参与合并公司的股东,即根据《公司法》第38条名列公司股东名册的人士,才享有评估权。美国存托股份(ADS)或存托凭证的持有人不在此列。

收购方取得90%的股份后可行使简易合并的法定权利,小股东虽有表决权但无评估权,而在全面要约后强制收购(90%接受)和计划安排(持有计划股份面值的75%而且人数过半的股东批准)这两种方式中,小股东同样没有评估权。

曾有一段时期,评估裁决可按合并对价的235%作出(盛大游戏案,编号:2016年FSD第14号,未经登载,判决日期:2017年4月25日)。这段令人困惑的时期过去后,最近的几起评估裁决或许让人一定程度上回到了现实:其中一宗案件中,法院裁定的公允价值仅比合并对价高1.2%(去哪儿网案,编号:2019 (1) CILR 611),而且,法院还裁定可对小股东适用一定折扣(Maso Capital Investments Ltd等v.盛大游戏案,编号:[2020] UKPC 2)。但是,正如我们一直所强调的,每项公允价值裁决在很大程度上取决于本身的事实,以及估值专家对每宗案件中的估值模型或其组成部分的认可或不认可,估值案件不一定可以作为可借鉴的先例。

因此,从买方来看,简易合并非常有吸引力,因为它消除了与买断有异议的小股东的股份相关的末端价格风险,这种风险是指,买断所采用的价格一旦普遍适用于买方,可能会让私有化的定价变得不切实际。

纽交所(NYSE)上市的聚美优品的私有化是简易合并的一个例子。也曾有其它公众公司进行过简易合并,但聚美优品的交易是开曼群岛的首宗两步式合并。

聚美优品采用双重股权结构,其中买方团持有的是B类股份(每股10票表决权),约占已发行股份的44.6%,并附带可在股东大会上行使的88.9%的表决权。

为了实施简易合并,买方团必须进一步收购股份,以持有至少90%的表决权。因此,买方团对聚美优品的全部已发行A类股份(每股一票表决权)发出了全面要约(第一步),接受条件要求交出足够多的A类股份,确保买方团持有可在股东大会上行使的至少90%表决权。

对于聚美优品在纽交所的美国存托股份,要约价格比其在私有化方案宣布前最后一个交易日的收盘价高14.7%,比其在合并协议签署前最后一个交易日的收盘价高29.3%。

要约收购完成后,未根据要约交出的剩余股份在简易合并(第二步)中按要约价格注销,不适用评估权。两步式简易合并成为了一种风潮。

林大维(David Lamb)是康德明律师事务所资深法律顾问,在聚美优品私有化交易中担任买方团的开曼群岛首席法律顾问。其联系方式为电话+852 6469 3377以及电邮[email protected]

Cayman privatizations back in vogue

By David Lamb, Conyers Dill & Pearman
0
171

Privatizations of public companies incorporated in the Cayman Islands and listed on a major stock exchange are in vogue again for a variety of reasons, financial and regulatory. In the US, for example, the Holding Foreign Companies Accountable Act will prohibit trading in the shares of a company if the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board is unable to conduct an inspection of the audit papers of the company’s foreign auditor for three consecutive years. Chinese companies are a particular target.

stocks
David Lamb
Consultant
Conyers Dill & Pearman

Privatizations can be effected by: (1) a general offer and compulsory acquisition; (2) a scheme of arrangement; or (3) a long-form or short-form merger.

Long-form mergers have been the predominant method of taking a company private in US markets since the merger provisions were introduced in 2009. But a long-form merger, at least a cash squeeze-out merger, carries a high risk of dissentient shareholders applying to the Grand Court to have the fair value of their shares assessed by the court.

A short-form merger can be undertaken by the buying consortium forming a bid vehicle (Bidco), and the Bidco acquiring shares carrying at least 90% of the voting rights exercisable in general meetings of the target company. The Bidco will then become the parent of the target company and can effect a short-form merger, with the target company being the surviving company in the merger.

Under section 238(1) of the Companies Law, shareholders of the target are entitled to payment of the fair value of their shares, but only upon dissenting from a merger.

The advantage of the short-form merger is that shareholder approval is specifically not required (section 233(7) of the Companies Law), and so is not sought, and the statutory procedural requirements are very different from a long-form merger. There is no vote or decision from which shareholders can “dissent”, and none of the antecedent conditions that are required to be met to exercise appraisal rights in a long-form merger can be satisfied in the case of a short-form merger.

Appraisal rights do not stand in isolation and cannot be crafted out of thin air. Only a member – i.e., a person who is a shareholder entered in the register of members of the company pursuant to section 38 of the Companies Law – of a constituent company in a merger is entitled to an appraisal right. It does not include the holders of American Depositary Shares (ADS) or the holders of depositary instruments.

The exercise of a statutory right to effect a short-form merger, without appraisal rights, at a 90% threshold (albeit voting rights) is consistent with a compulsory acquisition following a general offer (90% acceptances) and to a scheme of arrangement (majority in number of members holding 75% in nominal value of the scheme shares), neither of which carry appraisal rights.

In a retreat from the dizzy days of an appraisal award being made at 235% of the merger consideration (in the matter of Shanda Games FSD 14 of 2016, 25 April 2017), perhaps some semblance of reality has crept into recent appraisal awards where, in one case, the fair value was found to be a mere 1.2% over the merger consideration (in the matter of Qunar, 2019) and a minority discount might be found to apply (Maso Capital Investments Ltd & ors v Shanda Games Ltd [2020]).

However, as the author perpetually stresses, each determination of fair value is highly dependent on its own facts, and upon agreement or disagreement of the valuation models or their components by the valuation experts in each case. Valuation cases do not necessarily form transferable precedents.

From a buy-side perspective, short-form mergers are therefore highly attractive, since they may eliminate the tail-end price risk associated with buying out dissentient minority shareholders at a price which, if applied to the buy-side generally, would potentially make the pricing for the privatization unrealistic.

One example of a short-form merger is the privatization of Jumei International Holding, which was listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE). There have been other public company short-form mergers, but the Jumei transaction is the first two-step merger in the Cayman Islands.

Jumei had a dual-class share structure with the buying consortium holding class B shares (10 votes per share) representing approximately 44.6% of the issued shares and carrying 88.9% of the votes exercisable in general meetings.

The buying consortium had to acquire further shares so that it held at least 90% of the total voting rights to effect the short-form merger. A general offer (the first step) was therefore made for all the issued class A shares (one vote per share) of Jumei, with an acceptance condition that required the tender of sufficient class A shares to enable the buying consortium to hold at least 90% of the total voting rights exercisable in general meetings.

The offer price represented a premium of 14.7% to the closing price of Jumei’s ADS on the NYSE on the last trading day prior to the announcement of the going-private proposal, and a premium of 29.3% to the closing price of Jumei’s ADS on the last trading day prior to the execution of the merger agreement.

After completion of the offer, the remainder of the shares not tendered to the offer were cancelled in a short-form merger (the second step) for the same price as the offer price. Appraisal rights did not apply. Two-step short-form mergers are here to stay.

David Lamb is a consultant at Conyers Dill & Pearman, and acted as the leading Cayman counsel for the buying consortium in Jumei’s privatization. He can be contacted on +852 6469 3377 or by email at [email protected]