《2010年反贿赂法案》及其国际影响

作者: Neill Blundell、安睿律师事务所
0
124
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

惩治跨境贪污腐败行为方面,多年以来英国的反贿赂法案一直都被批评为太过软弱。随着《英国2010年反贿赂法案》的推出,英国再次走到了国际反贿赂反腐败阵线的前列。

该新法案是世界上最严厉的反贿赂法律之一,并将于2011年4月生效。由于该新法案有一部分适用非英国企业,且涉及到域外范围,其影响甚为深远。

因为该法案不仅涵盖了商业对商业的交易,还涵盖与外国公职人员或公司实体进行的交易,并禁止收受疏通费,因此它比《美国1977 年反海外腐败法》范围更为宽广。

英国《2010年反贿赂法案》适用于在英国有实体或在英国开展部分业务活动的企业。因而,若一家跨国公司在英国运营部分业务,则它有可能会因其在亚洲所犯的腐败罪行而在英国遭到起诉。因此,该法案将影响到所有拟收购设在英国或涉足英国之企业的中国公司。

由于该法案的处罚包括无限额罚金及禁止在欧洲订立公共合同,所以这是一部各企业需要了解的法律。

四项新罪名

该新法案设立了四项新罪名:

Neill Blundell
Neill Blundell
合伙人
安睿律师事务所

行贿罪:包括以诱使受贿人行为不当为目的,给与、提供或承诺给予贿赂。贿赂可以是现金形式,也可以是招待、礼物和其他“好处”。

受贿罪:包括索取、接受或同意收取贿金或“好处”以换取不当行为。

贿赂外国公职人员罪:此罪名定义广泛,涵盖那些担任立法、司法或行政职能的人员,不论他们是被委任还是被选举,同时还包括任何行使公共职能的个人,或身为公共国际组织官员者。但是,该罪名仅适用于行贿(给与、提供或承诺好处),即如果一名外国公职人员受贿,则根据该法案的这部分规定之下,则不构成犯罪。

公司未能制止贿赂罪:即如果一家公司未能制止“相关人员”(例如员工、代理、附属公司或中介)为了公司的利益行贿,则构成此罪。公司对贿赂是否知情并不影响该罪名的成立与否。有争议的是,该罪名不包括任何不当行为的概念,即只要以公司赢得或保留业务为目的而提供贿金或其他好处,则构成此罪。以下将对“充分措施”的有限抗辩进行讨论。

上述四项罪名中的前三项影响在英国注册成立的公司及其员工和代理,且涵盖他们在英国境外和境内所犯的贿赂罪。第四项罪名则适用于在英国开展全部或部分业务的英国公司和海外公司,因此,该罪名对中国公司会有直接影响。

“充分措施”抗辩

虽然“公司未能制止贿赂罪”给各家公司带来合规负担,但若有关公司能够证明其为了将贿赂风险降至最低而已采取“充分措施”,则该法案允许公司据此提出无罪抗辩。

该法案并未给出“充分措施”的定义,但是英国司法部在其立法征求意见程序中已颁布了指引的草案。该指引的最终版本将于2011年1月发布。

该指引草案明确了有关指引是原则性规定,由相关公司决定其如何落实合适的反腐败措施。指引中列出了6项原则,有关公司需要以此为基础采取反腐败措施:

  • 风险评估:有关公司必须定期全面评估其所面临的贿赂风险的性质和范围;
  • 高层投入:公司董事会必须在公司内部形成绝对禁止贿赂的公司文化,并采取措施确保该绝对禁止贿赂政策清楚地传达到管理层各个层面、员工和任何相关外部第三方。
  • 勤勉尽责:公司必须设有勤勉尽责政策和程序,其应涵盖业务关系的所有各方,包括公司的供应链、代理商和中介、所有形式的合营和类似关系以及其业务所在的所有市场;
  • 清楚、实际和透明的政策和程序:以包括政治和慈善捐赠的政策、礼品和款待政策、相关法律法规咨询并与举报政策挂钩;
  • 有效实施:公司必须在机构内有效落实政策,而非仅仅停留在纸面。
  • 监督和复核:必须设有监督和复核机制,以确保遵守相关政策和程序并发现问题。若有必要,公司必须实施变更。

了解腐败风险

对拟收购总部设在英国或在英国开展部分业务的企业的任何中国公司来说,它们都需要确保公司符合该法案的规定以及已采取“充分措施”。对任何目标公司所作的尽职调查必须覆盖所有腐败风险,因为过去和现有的贿赂行为都可能遭到调查和起诉。

中国企业可能因为收购犯贿赂罪的企业而承担潜在的刑事责任。根据该法案的规定,非英国公司可以因其附属公司的贿赂行为而被起诉,这样一来,该非英国公司本身就必须依赖“充分措施”抗辩。

在欧洲开展业务的中国公司需要考虑公司内部具备哪些反腐败措施,以及如何确保自己满足“充分措施”抗辩的要求,否则,该公司则可能会承担刑事责任。

Neill Blundell 是安睿律师事务所合伙人及反欺诈与金融犯罪业务主管

伦敦
1 Wood Street, London EC2V 7WS,
United Kingdom
电话: +44 20 7919 4500
传真: +44 20 7919 4919
电子信箱: neillblundell@eversheds.com

香港
21/F Gloucester Tower, The Landmark
15 Queen’s Road Central, Hong Kong
电话: +852 2186 3200
传真: +852 2186 3201
电子信箱: markyeadon@eversheds.com
http://www.eversheds.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The Bribery Act 2010 and its international impact

By Neill Blundell, Eversheds LLP
0
217
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

After years of criticism for anti-bribery laws regarded as too weak to tackle cross-border corruption, the UK has positioned itself as an international frontrunner in clamping down on bribery and corruption with the introduction of the Bribery Act 2010.

The act comes into force in April 2011 and introduces one of the strictest anti-bribery regimes in the world. As it applies in part to non-UK businesses and has extra-territorial reach, its impact is far reaching.

The Bribery Act is wider than the US Foreign Corrupt Practices act of 1977 as it covers commercial-to-commercial transactions as well as transactions with foreign public officials or entities, and prohibits facilitation payments.

The Bribery Act applies to businesses that have entities in the UK or do part of their business in the UK. An international company could therefore be prosecuted in the UK for corrupt acts it commits in Asia, simply because it does part of its business in the UK. As such, the act will affect any Chinese company that acquires a business that is based in the United Kingdom or which has a footprint within the UK.

As the penalties in the act include unlimited fines and debarment from entering into public contracts in Europe, this is a piece of legislation businesses need to understand.

Four new offences

The act creates four new offences:

Neill Blundell
Neill Blundell
Partner
Eversheds LLP

Active bribery, which entails the giving, offering or promising of a bribe intending to induce the recipient to act improperly. A bribe can take the form of cash but also hospitality, gifts and other “advantages”.

Passive bribery, which is the requesting, accepting or agreeing to receive a payment or “advantage” in return for improper conduct.

Bribery of a foreign public official (FPO). This has a wide definition and extends to those in a legislative, judicial or administrative capacity regardless of whether they were appointed or elected, as well as anyone who performs a public function or is an official of a public international organization. The offence, however, applies only to active bribery (the giving, offering or promising of an advantage). This means that if an FPO were to accept the bribe, he or she would not be culpable under this part of the Bribery Act.

Failure of a commercial organization to prevent bribery, meaning that if a company fails to prevent an “associated person” (such as an employee, agent, subsidiary or intermediary) from paying a bribe for its benefit, an offence is committed. It is irrelevant that the company was unaware of the bribe being paid. Controversially, this offence does not include any notion of improper conduct. It simply requires a payment or other advantage offered for the winning or retention of business. There is a limited defence of “adequate procedures”, which is discussed below.

The first three of the four offences listed above affect UK-incorporated businesses, their employees and agents, and cover offences committed both inside and outside the UK. The fourth offence applies to UK companies and overseas companies which carry on a business, or part of a business, in the UK. It could, therefore have a direct impact on a Chinese company.

“Adequate procedures” defence

The corporate offence of “failure to prevent bribery” imposes a burden on companies to comply with its provisions, but allows for a defence in circumstances where the company can show it had “adequate procedures” in place to minimize the risk of bribery.

The Bribery Act does not define “adequate procedures” but the UK Ministry of Justice has published draft as part of its consultation process. It will publish the finalized version in January 2011.

From the draft guidance, it is clear that the guidelines are principle-based and it will be therefore up to individual companies to decide how to implements an appropriate anti-corruption programme. The six principles contained in the guidance, around which the company will need to build its anti-corruption programme around are:

Risk assessment: a company must regularly and comprehensively assess the nature and extent of the risks relating to bribery to which it is exposed;

Top level commitment: the board of directors of a company must establish a culture within the company in which bribery is never acceptable, and take steps to ensure that the organization’s policy to operate without bribery is clearly communicated to all levels of management, the workforce and any relevant external third parties;

Due diligence: the company must have due diligence policies and procedures which cover all parties to a business relationship, including the company’s supply chain, agents and intermediaries, all forms of joint venture and similar relationships, and all markets in which the company does business;

Clear, practical and accessible polices and procedures: these should include polices on political and charitable donations, gifts and entertainments, and advice on relevant laws and regulations. They should also be linked to a whistle blowing policy;

Effective implementation: the company must effectively embed the polices within the organisation. This is not a simple tick box approach;

Monitoring and review: there must be monitoring and review mechanisms to ensure compliance with relevant policies and procedures and identify any issues as they arise. The company must implement changes where appropriate.

Understanding corruption risk

Any Chinese company that acquires a business which is either based in the UK or does part of its business in the UK will need to ensure that this company complies with the Bribery Act and that it has “adequate procedures” in place. Due diligence on any target company will need to cover any corruption risk, as historic and on-going acts of bribery could be the subject matter of both an investigation and a prosecution.

By acquiring a company that commits acts of bribery, the Chinese company will expose itself to potential criminal liability. Under the provisions of the Bribery Act, a non-UK company can be prosecuted where a subsidiary commits acts of bribery on its behalf. It would then itself need to rely upon the defence of “adequate procedures”.

Chinese companies that operate in Europe are going to need to consider what anti-corruption procedures they have in place and how they can ensure they meet the requirements of the “adequate procedures” defence. Without such procedures they could be exposed to criminal liability.

Neill Blundell is a partner and head of Fraud and Financial Crime at Eversheds

London
1 Wood Street, London EC2V 7WS,
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 20 7919 4500
Fax: +44 20 7919 4919
E-mail: neillblundell@eversheds.com

Hong Kong
21/F Gloucester Tower, The Landmark
15 Queen’s Road Central, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 2186 3200
Fax: +852 2186 3201
E-mail: markyeadon@eversheds.com
http://www.eversheds.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link