制止侵权函相关商业诋毁风险控制

作者: 刘建强,上海市太平洋律师事务所
0
153

发送制止侵权的律师函或公司函件是知识产权权利人维权的常用方式之一。然而,近年来在一些案例中遇到权利人因发函时措辞不慎被涉嫌侵权人反诉商誉诋毁并因此败诉的情况。这种结果会令发函的权利人极为沮丧,甚至对维权的信心产生动摇。为了减少或避免权利人在维权时可能遭遇到的不必要风险,本文就笔者个人经验做如下初步探讨。

刘建强
合伙人
上海市太平洋律师事务所

发函主体

作为权利人的法务部门或业务部门,往往对侵权人及其侵权情况以及对权利人的危害等事实方面了解比外聘律师更有优势,而且内部发函也可以节省相应开支。然而,如果以权利人自己的名义发函,因为其和侵权人均是同一市场的商事竞争主体,公司函件威慑力往往相对有限;另一方面权利人在发函时往往因和侵权人的直接商业利益冲突而容易在措辞上更为激烈;虽然公司法务部门发函时在措辞方面会更为谨慎,但有时也难免会受到业务部门的影响。在这种情况下,若有部分措辞不当,就会有可能在被侵权人提起的商业诋毁诉讼中败诉。

为了降低风险,建议权利人在具备预算的情况下,尽量聘请外部律师向侵权人以律师事务所名义发送律师函而非发送公司函件。一方面因为律师作为法律从业者其律师函往往更具有严肃性和威慑作用,另一方面律师一般会积累更多和不同侵权人打交道的经验,对法律市场动态也更为敏感;因此,在函件措辞方面不仅更具备独立性,也会更多考虑相关市场动态的影响。而且,从实践而言,侵权人起诉律师事务所发送律师函的概率也要远远低于起诉权利人发送公司函件的概率。

发函的对象

根据笔者处理过的案例,及对相关商业诋毁案例的检索分析,在发函对象上,如果依据事实针对侵权对象(往往也是商业竞争对手)发送的函件,被判定为商业诋毁的情况较少;但如果扩大发函对象至相关下游经销商甚至客户,则被认定为商业诋毁的风险就会增加。因此,在发函对象的考量上,要尽量控制在直接侵权方的范围以避免商业诋毁风险。

关注措辞

就函件措辞而言,也需要非常谨慎。首先,要尽量在事实描述方面做到准确客观;鉴于侵权证据(尤其是网上侵权证据)容易灭失,一般建议在证据固定之后再发送相关函件。另外,在事实描述方面要尽量避免过于主观的措辞,尤其要避免夸大或过于情绪性的措辞,以降低可能的商业诋毁风险。

目的

我们理解一些权利人在发函时会希望能起到支持其商业竞争的目的;然而,为了避免可能的商业诋毁风险,在起草函件时要尽量控制在制止侵权的目的方面;虽然制止侵权在客观上也可以支持商业竞争,但函件本身在起草时若含有过多支持商业竞争的目的,也会被更容易认定为商业诋毁。

应对

权利人即便尽到了谨慎义务,但也难免会遇到被侵权人诉商业诋毁的情况;更何况在函件措辞也有待商榷的情况下。在这种情况下,权利人首先要将商业诋毁作为单独的诉讼案件冷静应对,而不要纠结于知识产权侵权带来的情绪因素。毕竟,理性处理好已经发生的案件,才对自己更为有利。

在应对商业诋毁诉讼时,首先要从发函的背景,即是否有侵权事实存在作为案件着眼点。作为商业诋毁诉由根本依据的《反不正当竞争法》第十一条,以“编造、传播虚假信息或者误导性信息”为前提。因此,要以侵权事实的分析及认定为基础,继而从是否具备“编造”、“传播”以及信息本身是否属于“虚假”或“误导性”等方面着力,对商业诋毁的诉求进行驳斥和抗辩。

思考和建议

在处理了数起因权利人发函不慎被侵权人起诉商业诋毁的案件以及关注了相关案例检索之后,笔者感觉到个别案件中可能存在对权利人苛以过高注意义务的情况。在部分案件中,虽然侵权人明确构成了知识产权侵权,但还是仅仅因为函件措辞而被判定商业诋毁,让权利人难以接受。当然,作为知识产权的权利人,我们在面对侵权发函时的确需要更为谨慎,但同时作为起一定引导作用的司法裁决,我们也希望能够更多考虑保护知识产权的大趋势及需要,减少权利人因迫切维权中的并不过度的疏忽而最终构成商业诋毁,致使其对后期维权懈怠或信心不足情况的出现。

上海市太平洋律师事务所合伙人刘建强

上海市静安区南京西路1266号
恒隆广场2号楼2709室 邮编:200040
电话: +86 21 6086 0199
传真: +86 21 6086 0111
电子信箱: frank.liu@shanghaipacificlegal.com
www.shanghaipacificlegal.com

Reducing risks of commercial libel in letters to cease infringement

By Frank Liu, Shanghai Pacific Legal
0
140

Sending a lawyer’s letter or company letter to cease infringement is one of the common means used by an IP rights holder to defend its rights. However, in recent years, in certain cases there have been instances where the alleged infringer has countersued the rights holder for trade libel due to the latter’s imprudent wording of the letter sent by it, resulting in losing the case. Such a result can be extremely dispiriting to the rights holder, and even shake its confidence in defending its rights. In light of this, the author provides a preliminary examination of the matter below in light of his personal experience.

Frank Liu
Partner
Pacific Legal

Entity sending the letter

The legal department or business department of the rights holder will usually have an advantage over outside counsel in understanding the infringer, the infringement, and such facts as the harm incurred by the rights holder. The attendant expenditures may be avoided if the letter is sent by internal departments. However, if the letter is sent in the name of the rights holder itself, its deterrent effect will usually be relatively limited, because both it and the infringer are commercial competitors in the same market.

The rights holder will often use more aggressive language when sending the letter because of the direct conflict of commercial interests with the infringer, and although the company’s legal department will usually be more careful in its language when sending a letter, avoiding being influenced by the business department may be difficult at times. Under such a circumstance, some inappropriate wording could result in the rights holder losing in a commercial defamation action instituted by the infringer.

The author would recommend that a rights holder, provided that it has the budget, endeavour to engage outside counsel to send a letter in the name of the law firm, rather than sending a company letter. A letter from a lawyer, as a legal practitioner, will usually project greater gravity and have a greater deterrent effect, and a lawyer will generally have accumulated more experience in dealing with different infringers, and be more sensitive to legal market dynamics.

The wording of a letter from a lawyer will not only be more independent, but is also more likely to take into account the impact of the dynamics of the relevant market. Furthermore, from a practical perspective, the probability of an infringer instituting a legal action against a law firm for sending a lawyer’s letter is far and away lower than the probability of its instituting a legal action against a rights holder who sends a company letter.

Recipient and wording

Based on the author’s experience and his analysis of relevant commercial defamation cases, in terms of the recipient of a letter, if it is sent to the infringing party (which is usually also a business competitor) based on the facts, the instances of its being determined as being commercial defamation are relatively rare. However, if the recipients of the letter are broadened to include relevant downstream distributors and even customers, the risk of a finding of commercial defamation increases. Accordingly, when considering recipients, the scope should be limited to the direct infringer so as to avoid the risk of commercial defamation.

Great care is needed for the wording of a letter. First of all, it is crucial to be accurate and objective in describing the facts. Given that evidence of infringement (particularly online evidence of infringement) can easily disappear, it is generally recommended to send the relevant letter after the evidence is fixed. Furthermore, it is important to avoid overly subjective wording in the description of facts, in particular exaggerated or overly emotional language, so as to reduce the possible risk of commercial defamation.

The objective

We understand that some rights holders may wish to send letters with the aim of supporting their commercial competition, however, for the purpose of avoiding the potential risk of commercial defamation it is important, when drafting the letter, to limit the objective to halting the infringement. Although, objectively, halting infringement can also support commercial competition, if the letter itself, when drafted, contains too much of the objective of supporting commercial competition, it is more likely to be found to constitute commercial defamation.

The response

Even though the rights holder has exercised due care, there may still be instances where it will be charged for commercial defamation by the infringer, particularly when the wording of the letter is questionable. In such cases, the rights holder needs first to respond calmly to the commercial defamation as a separate legal action, rather than dwelling on the emotional factors brought about by the infringement. After all, it is in its best interest to deal rationally with a case that has already arisen.

When responding to a commercial defamation action, it is necessary to first treat the background of the letter, i.e., whether the fact of the infringement exists, as the focus of the case. Article 11 of the Anti-Unfair Competition Law, which is the fundamental basis for a commercial defamation action, is premised on the “fabrication or dissemination of false or misleading information”. Accordingly, the analysis and determination of the fact of infringement needs to be treated as the basis, and then the focus placed on whether there is “fabrication” or “dissemination”, and whether the information itself is “false” or “misleading” in refuting and arguing against the claim of commercial defamation.

Reflections and recommendations

After handling several cases in which rights holders were sued for commercial defamation by the infringers due to their carelessness in sending letters and paying attention to a relevant case search, the author feels that there may be individual cases in which the rights holder is subject to an excessive duty of care. Although the infringers clearly committed IP infringement, a judgment of commercial defamation was rendered simply because of the wording of the letter, which was difficult for the rights holders to accept.

Needless to say, IP rights holders genuinely need to be more cautious when sending infringement letters, but at the same time, as a judicial decision with a certain guiding force, we also hope that more consideration be given to the general trend and IP protection, so as to reduce the instances in which a rights holder, pressed to defend its rights, is somewhat negligent, ultimately constituting commercial defamation, which results in its being lax or lacking confidence in defending its rights subsequently.

Frank Liu is a partner at Shanghai Pacific Legal

Room 2709, 27/F, Plaza 66 II
1266 Nanjing Road West, Shanghai 200040, China
Tel: +86 21 6086 0199
Fax: +86 21 6086 0111
Email: frank.liu@shanghaipacificlegal.com
www.shanghaipacificlegal.com