数据隐私法一览:日本

作者: 新泽纯和橿渕阳,日本中央总合法律事务所
0
110
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

本文介绍了日本《个人信息保护法》(APPI)的规定,包括控制者和处理者在内的外国商业实体(“外国商业实体”或“外国经营者”)在处理日本国内个人信息时应特别注意这些规定。

个人信息保护法的域外适用效力

如果APPI不适用于域外,则无需考虑其规定。但根据APPI第171条规定,日本境外企业从事下列活动的,APPI产生域外适用效力:(1)处理位于日本境内的个人(“数据主体”)的数据;以及(2)在向日本境内公司和/或个人提供商品或服务时处理上述个人数据。

“商业实体”是境内还是境外实体并不重要。“日本境内个人”包括的数据主体无国籍限制,也不区分其在日本是否为短暂逗留。关键是,APPI的适用范围仅限于与提供商品或服务有关的情况。

例如,如果外国商业实体在整理全球员工信息时处理了旗下日本分支机构的员工的个人数据,则该活动不属于APPI的域外适用范围,因其与提供商品或服务无关。

跨境数据传输

Jun Niizawa
新泽纯
律师
日本中央总合法律事务所
东京
电邮: niizawa_j@clo.gr.jp

如上所述,为在日本提供服务而获取个人信息属于APPI的适用范围。数据可以直接取自数据主体,也可取自国内商业实体,涉及第二种情况时,适用规定更复杂。尽管这些规定的适用对象是打算向外国企业提供个人信息的国内商业实体,但外国经营者也须了解这些规定。

APPI第28条第1款和第2款规定,当国内商业实体将数据主体的个人数据传输给其他国家的第三方(“跨境数据传输”)时,应向数据主体提供有关其他国家的具体参考信息(“参考信息”),提前征得数据主体的同意。

  1. 须向数据主体提供的参考信息包括:

    1. 有关国家的名称:如果在征询数据主体的同意时不能明确指出目的地国家,商业实体须说明理由,并提供其他信息替代国家名称 (例如,如确定了目的地国家的潜在范围,则应提供该范围);以及

    2. 关于国外个人信息保护制度的信息:此要求旨在使数据主体了解国内外法律制度的差异。日本个人信息保护委员会(PPC)在其网站(https://www.ppc.go.jp/enforcement/infoprovision/laws/)上列出了主要几个国家的制度,国内实体可将这些信息作为参考信息提供给数据主体。如信息接收方所属国家未在列表之中,国内实体可能需要首先向外国经营者问询了解相关法律制度。

    3. 第三方为保障个人数据安全而实施的保护措施:如外国经营者已采取了《经合组织隐私指南》八项原则要求的所有措施,则只需提供此信息即可。如外国经营者采取的措施不明,提供事实和理由即可,但建议在了解清楚了这些措施后补充说明。

  2. “外国”的范围。欧盟和英国被排除在APPI第28条的“外国”定义之外,在APPI下被视为等同于在日本境内传输。但根据APPI第27条第1款规定,在将个人数据转移到国内第三方之前,也需要征得数据主体的同意。不过,对境内传输的法规要求相对简单。

  3. “第三方”的范围。已采取适当保护措施的外国经营者被排除在APPI第28条“第三方”定义之外。具体来说,如果外国第三方采取的措施被证实符合APPI对国内商业实体的标准,或者该外国第三方获得了亚太经济合作组织(APEC)跨境隐私规则体系的认证,则该第三方被视为已采取适当措施。

    即使外国第三方被视为已采取充分的措施,无需征得数据主体同意,但APPI第28条第3款要求国内信息提供商须确保外国第三方维持充分的措施。可通过年度认证等方式确保外国第三方持续实施充分的保护措施。此举可能给国内信息提供者造成重大负担。因此,对充分措施的要求对相关方并不便利。

  4. 对违规行为的处罚。根据APPI第148条规定,国内商业实体违反规定的,PPC可以建议其采取纠正措施,拒不纠正错误的,PPC可下发命令 。如国内实体不遵守这些命令,违规实体的代表可能面临最高一年的监禁或最高100万日元(6700美元)的罚款,雇用这些个人的实体可能面临最高1亿日元的罚款(相关规定见APPI第178条和第184条第1款第1项)。

有关数据泄漏的规定

Yo Kashibuchi
橿渕阳
律师
日本中央总合法律事务所
东京
电邮:kashibuchi_y@clo.gr.jp

APPI第26条规定,因勒索软件攻击或其他事件导致个人数据泄露、丢失或损坏(“数据泄露”)时,企业应向PPC和数据主体报告数据泄露情况。

  1. 在以下情况下,需要向PPC报告并通知受影响的数据主体:

    1. 个人数据,包括有关数据主体的敏感个人数据,包括但不限于种族、信仰、社会地位、病史和犯罪记录相关信息(见APPI第2条第3款规定),已经泄露或存在数据泄露风险;

    2. 个人数据的泄露或潜在泄露可能导致财务损失,例如信用卡号码泄露;

    3. 由于恶意意图,例如第三方攻击,个人数据已经泄露或有泄露风险;及

    4. 数据泄露或潜在泄露涉及超过1,000多人的个人数据

  2. 向PPC报告数据泄露事件以及通知受影响数据主体的责任由经历数据泄漏事件的商业实体承担。在信息控制方(商业实体)经历数据泄露的情况下,责任主体很明确。但是,如果信息处理方(分包商)经历数据泄露,控制方和分包商均承担报告和通知责任。为避免重复报告,如分包商将数据泄露通知给控制方,则认为分包商履行了报告和通知义务。

  3. PPC报告规定如下:

    1. 在发现泄漏事件后三至五天内提供初步报告,详细说明所知情况;

    2. 在发现泄漏事件后的三十天内(如果事件涉及恶意意图,则为六十天)提交一份详细报告,包括事件概述、涉及的个人数据类型、受影响的数据主体数量、事件原因、是否存在二次损害及损害性质或是否有二次损害的风险、对数据主体的回应状况、公开披露状况、避免再次发生泄漏的保护措施和其他相关信息;以及

    3. 一般通过填写PPC的在线报告表格(https://roueihoukoku.ppc.go.jp/incident/?top=r2.kojindata)报告,表格以日文填写,这就要求报告方精通日语。报告方应考虑翻译时间,尤其是提交初步报告。

  4. 关于通知受影响数据主体的规定:

    1. 依情况立即通知,不过,具体通知时间逐案确定。

    2. 通知内容应包括对事件的概述、所涉及的个人数据类型、事件的原因、是否存在二次损害及损害性质或是否有二次损害风险,以及其他相关信息。

    3. 标准做法是通过文件或电子邮件直接通知数据主体,但如果直接联系不可行,则可以使用公开披露或其他方法。

  5. 未按要求向PPC报告或通知受影响的数据主体的,可能面临与上文第(4)节“跨境数据传输”中介绍的跨境数据传输违规行为处罚相同的处罚。

以上是APPI针对外国经营者处理日本境内自然人的个人数据的一般监管框架,商业实体在处理这些个人数据时,必须遵守APPI条款,保护日本数据主体的个人数据。

Chuo Sogo Law Office

CHUO SOGO LAW OFFICE, P.C.

Hibiya Kokusai Building, 18th floor
2-2-3, Uchisaiwaicho, Chiyoda-ku
Tokyo, 100-0011, Japan
Tel: +852 2926 9300
Tel: +81-3-3539-1877
Fax: +81-3-3539-1878
www.clo.jp/english/

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Keeping watch on Data Privacy: Japan

    By Jun Niizawa and Yo Kashibuchi, Chuo Sogo Law Office
    0
    871
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    This article introduces the regulations of Japan’s Act on the Protection of Personal Information (APPI) to which foreign business entities including controllers and processors (“foreign business entities” or “foreign operators”) should pay particular attention when handling personal information of individuals located in Japan.

    EXTRATERRITORIAL APPLICATION

    If the APPI does not apply extraterritorially, there is no need to consider its regulations. The APPI stipulates that it applies extraterritorially if a business entity is located outside Japan:

    1. handles the personal data of individuals located in Japan (“data subjects”); and

    2. handles this personal data in connection with providing goods or services to corporations and/or individuals located in Japan (article 171 of the APPI).

    It does not matter whether the “business entity” is domestic or foreign. “Individuals located in Japan” includes data subjects regardless of their nationality, and whether their stay is temporary. The key point is that it is limited to cases related to the provision of goods or services.

    For example, if a foreign business entity handles the personal data of employees of its branch in Japan as part of its global employee information management, that activity does not fall within the extraterritorial application of the APPI since it is not related to the provision of goods or services.

    CROSS-BORDER TRANSFERS

    Jun Niizawa
    Jun Niizawa
    Associate
    Chuo Sogo Law Office
    Tokyo
    Email: niizawa_j@clo.gr.jp

    As described, acquiring personal information for services targeted at Japan falls under the APPI. The methods of acquisition can be directly from data subjects or from domestic business entities, with the latter scenario involving complicated regulations. Although the subjects of these regulations are the domestic business entities intending to provide personal information to foreign businesses, understanding these regulations is imperative for foreign operators as well.

    The APPI prescribes that when the domestic business entities transfer the personal data of data subjects to third parties in other countries (“cross-border data transfer”), the domestic entities shall obtain the consent of the data subjects in advance after providing them with specific reference information about the other countries (“reference information”, article 28, paragraphs 1 and 2 of APPI).

      1. The information to be provided includes:

        1. The name of the country concerned: If the destination country cannot be specified at the time of obtaining consent, it is necessary to provide the reason for this, along with information alternative to the name of the country (e.g. if the range of potential foreign countries is determined, that range should be provided); and

        2. Information about the personal information protection system in the foreign country: This requirement is aimed at making data subjects aware of the differences between domestic and foreign legal systems. Japan’s Personal Information Protection Commission (PPC) publishes summaries of major foreign systems on its website, and domestic entities can comply with the requirement with the provision of this information. If the foreign country of the recipient is not listed, the domestic entities would be likely first to inquire about the legal system from the foreign operator.

        3. The protective measures implemented by the third party for safeguarding personal data: If the foreign operator has taken all measures corresponding to the eight principles of the OECD Privacy Guidelines, simply providing this information suffices. If the measures taken by the foreign operator are unclear, providing that fact and the reasons suffice, but it is desirable to add explanations as they become clear.

      2. Scope of “foreign country”. The EU and the UK are excluded from the definition of “foreign country” in article 28 of the APPI and are treated as equivalent to transferring inside of Japan under the APPI. The APPI requires consent from data subjects before transference of personal data to a domestic third party as well (article 27, paragraph 1), but the regulations for transferring to a domestic third party are not as complex.

      3. Scope of “third party”. Foreign operators that have taken appropriate measures are excluded from the definition of “third party” in article 28 of the APPI. Specifically, if the measures taken by a third party in the foreign country are verified to meet the standards required for domestic business entities under the APPI, or if the third party in the foreign country has obtained certification under the Cross Border Privacy Rules system of the APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Co-operation), it qualifies as having taken appropriate measures.

        Even when the third party in the foreign country qualifies as having taken adequate measures, where obtaining consent from the data subjects is not necessary, the domestic provider must ensure that the third party in the foreign country maintains adequate measures (article 28, paragraph 3 of the APPI). This involves taking actions such as annual certification to ensure the ongoing implementation of adequate measures, which can significantly burden the domestic provider. Thus, the requirement for adequate measures is not user-friendly.

      4. Penalties for violations. For domestic business entities that violate these regulations, the PPC may recommend corrective actions and, if not complied with, issue orders (article 148 of the APPI). If domestic entities fail to comply with these orders, the representatives of the entities in breach could face imprisonment for up to one year or a fine of up to JPY1 million (USD6,700), and the entities employing those individuals could be fined up to JPY100 million (USD670,000) (articles 178 and 184, paragraph 1, item 1 of the APPI).

    DATA BREACH RULES

    Yo Kashibuchi
    Yo Kashibuchi
    Associate
    Chuo Sogo Law Office Tokyo
    Email: kashibuchi_y@clo.gr.jp

    In the event of leakage, loss or damage of personal data (“data breach”) because of ransomware attacks or other incidents, the businesses shall report the data breaches to the PPC and to the data subjects (article 26 of the APPI).

    1. PPC reporting and notification to affected data subjects are required in situations where:

      1. Personal data including sensitive personal data about the data subject, including but not limited to race, creed, social status, medical history and criminal record (see article 2, paragraph 3 of the APPI), has resulted in a data breach or is at risk of a data breach;

      2. The breach, or potential breach, of personal data could lead to financial harm, such as with leaked credit card numbers;

      3. Personal data has been breached or is at risk of a breach, because of malicious intent, such as in a third-party attack; and

      4. Where the breach or potential breach of data involves the personal data of more than 1,000 individuals.

    2. The responsibility for PPC reporting and notification to the affected data subjects lies with the business entity that experiences the breach. This is straightforward in a case where the controller (business entity) experiences the data breach. However, if a processor (the subcontractor) experiences a data breach, both the controller and the subcontractor are responsible for reporting and notification. To prevent duplicate reporting, if the subcontractor informs the controller of the data breach, the subcontractor’s obligation to report and notify is considered fulfilled.

    3. Reporting to the PPC involves:

      1. A preliminary report made within three to five days on the discovery of the incident, detailing what is known;

      2. A detailed report to be submitted within 30 days (60 days if the incident involves malicious intent) of discovery of the incident, including an overview of the incident, the types of personal data involved, the number of data subjects affected, the cause of the incident, the presence and nature of secondary harm or the risk thereof, the status of responses to data subjects, the status of public disclosure, protective measures for preventing recurrence and other relevant information; and

      3. Reports typically use the online reporting form of the PPC (https://roueihoukoku.ppc.go.jp/incident/?top=r2.kojindata), which requires Japanese-language proficiency. The time to be spent for translation should be considered, especially for the preliminary report.

    4. In notifying the affected data subjects:

      1. There is an expectation of prompt notification according to the situation. However, the timing should be determined case by case.

      2. The notification should include an overview of the incident, the types of personal data involved, the cause of the incident, the presence and nature of secondary harm or the risk of such, and other relevant information.

      3. Direct notification to data subjects through documentation or email is standard, but if direct contact is not feasible, public disclosure or other methods might be used.

    5. Failure to report to the PPC or to notify affected data subjects as required can result in the same penalties previously outlined for cross-border data transfer violations discussed in section (4) under the above-mentioned section: “Cross-border data transfer”.

    In conclusion, this article outlined the general regulatory framework of the APPI for foreign operators handling personal data of individuals located in Japan and emphasised the importance of compliance with the provisions of the APPI for protecting personal data of data subjects in Japan.

    Chuo Sogo Law Office

    CHUO SOGO LAW OFFICE, P.C.

    Hibiya Kokusai Building, 18th floor
    2-2-3, Uchisaiwaicho, Chiyoda-ku
    Tokyo, 100-0011, Japan
    Tel: +852 2926 9300
    Tel: +81-3-3539-1877
    Fax: +81-3-3539-1878
    www.clo.jp/english/

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link