关于零售支付系统运营商的框架草案

作者: Sawant Singh和 Aditya Bhargava,Phoenix Legal 律师事务所
0
332

2月10日,印度储备银行发布了一份关于建立新零售支付系统运营商的框架草案,这一举措体现了合情合理的远见卓识。2019年1月发布的一份有关新零售支付系统运营商授权的政策文件中规定了这个阶段。该政策文件指出,印度国家支付公司作为零售支付系统的一个伞形组织成立于2008年,它在支付系统运营中所占份额的一个劣势是它有可能变得大而不倒。因此,该政策文件的一个论点是应该鼓励其他实体提供支付系统运营服务,从而增加竞争力。

retail
Sawant Singh
合伙人
Phoenix Legal律师事务所

该框架草案指出其目标是鼓励建立其他专注于零售支付系统的泛印度伞形实体。任何新实体的活动范围将包括设立和管理自动取款机、以Aadhar为基础的汇款服务等新的零售支付系统,开发新的支付方式和标准,运营清算和结算系统,识别和管理结算风险和信贷、流动性和操作风险等风险,并从事进一步加强零售支付生态系统的业务。

新实体必须根据《公司法》以公司的形式设立,可以是营利性公司或者“非营利性”公司。有趣的是,印度国家支付公司是一家非营利性公司。新实体需要根据2007年《支付和结算系统法》获得印度储备银行的许可,并受到该法规的约束。新实体的实收资本必须保持最低50亿卢比(7000万美元),净资产最低30亿卢比。持有新实体5%以上股份的人将被视为“发起人”,必须由在印度居住的人“拥有和控制”。该发起人还必须拥有至少三年作为支付系统运营商、支付服务供应商或技术服务供应商的支付经验。在向印度储备银行提出申请的时候,新实体的发起人应持有至少10%的资本。单个发起人或发起人集团不得持有新实体超过40%的资本。发起人持股比例还应当在开业五年后稀释至25%。

retaol
Aditya Bhargava
合伙人
Phoenix Legal律师事务所

新实体的发起人、发起人集团和董事会必须遵守印度储备银行规定的“合适且恰当”标准。如果董事拥有“公平和正直的记录”,未被宣布为无偿债能力人士、受限于禁止从事金融系统的禁令或被认定经济状况不佳而被认为丧失资格,那么他/她将被认为是合适且恰当的。发起人必须拥有良好的资质和诚信记录。该框架草案还规定,印度储备银行对是否符合合适且恰当标准的决定是最终决定。

作为向印度储备银行申请的一部分,新实体还必须提供文件证明其在支付生态系统方面的经验,以及一份详细的商业计划,涵盖其拟建立和运营的支付系统。商业计划还必须包括技术、安全特性、市场分析、拟议的收益、运营结构、设立期限、拟议的运营规模,并阐明其如何履行职责的组织战略。

鼓励取代印度国家支付公司的举措是很有意思的。此前出台的一份政策文件展现了监管方面的思考过程,并没有被神秘笼罩,对其是有利的。虽然拥有一个零售支付系统的伞形实体具有明显的好处,比如标准化和规模经济,但设立多个实体以减少系统性风险是情理之中的,并对印度储备银行作为监管机构产生了积极影响。不过,为了确保零售支付空间不存在标准的破裂或多样性,类似于目前的存管框架,印度储备银行应当确保此类伞形实体的总数是有限的,并且为了零售用户的方便,所有的伞形实体应当确保互通性。

Sawant Singh Aditya BhargavaPhoenix Legal律师事务所孟买办公室的合伙人。 Sristi Yadav律师也为本期文章提供了协助。

retail
Phoenix Legal
Second Floor
254, Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III
New Delhi – 110 020
India
Vaswani Mansion, 3/F
120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate
Mumbai – 400 020
India
Contact details
电话 +91 11 4983 0000 / +91 22 4340 8500
传真: +91 11 4983 0099 / +91 22 4340 8501
电邮: [email protected]
[email protected]

Draft framework for retail payment systems operators

By Sawant Singh and Aditya Bhargava, Phoenix Legal
0
371

In a move that reflects well-reasoned foresight, on 10 February, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) released a draft framework for the establishment of new retail payment systems operators. The stage for this draft framework was set in January 2019 in a policy paper on the authorization of new retail payment systems operators. The policy paper noted that the National Payments Corporation of India (NPCI) had been established in 2008 as an umbrella organization for retail payment systems, and that a disadvantage of its share of payment system operations was the possibility that it had become too big to fail. Therefore, a thesis of the policy paper was that there should be an increase in competition by encouraging other entities to provide payment systems operations.

retail
Sawant Singh
Partner
Phoenix Legal

The draft framework states that its objective is to encourage the establishment of other pan-India umbrella entities focusing on retail payment systems. The scope of activities of any new entity would include setting up and managing new retail payment systems such as ATMs, Aadhar-based remittance services, and developing new payment methods and standards, operating clearing and settlement systems, identifying and managing risks such as settlement risk and credit, liquidity and operational risks, and generally engaging in business that further strengthens the retail payments ecosystem.

A new entity must be established as a company under the companies act, and can either be a for-profit or a “not-for-profit” company. Interestingly, NPCI was established as a not-for-profit company. The new entity would need to be licensed by the RBI under the Payments and Settlement Systems Act, 2007, and would be subject to the provisions of this statute. The new entity would be required to have a minimum paid-up capital of ₹5 billion (US$70 million) and a minimum net worth of ₹3 billion at all times. A person holding more than 25% of the shareholding of the new entity would be deemed to be a “promoter”, and must be “owned and controlled” by persons resident in India. Such a promoter must also have at least three years’ experience in payments as a payment system operator, a payment service provider, or as a technology service provider. At the time of application to the RBI, the promoters of the new entity should hold at least 10% of its capital. No single promoter or promoter group should hold more than 40% of the capital of the new entity. Promoter holdings would also be required to be diluted to 25% after five years from the commencement of business.

retaol
Aditya Bhargava
Partner
Phoenix Legal

The promoters, the promoter group and the board of directors of the new entity must comply with the “fit and proper” criteria prescribed by the RBI. A director will be considered as fit and proper if he/she has a “record of fairness and integrity” and is not disqualified on the basis of such person being declared an undischarged insolvent person, or subject to an order restraining he/she from dealing in any financial system, or found to be financially unsound. The promoters must have a past record of sound credentials and integrity. The draft framework also prescribes that the RBI’s determination of fulfilment of the fit and proper criteria shall be final.

As part of its application to the RBI, the new entity would also need to provide documents to confirm its experience in the payments ecosystem and a detailed business plan covering the payment systems it proposes to establish and operate. The business plan must also include technology, security features, market analysis, proposed benefit, operational structure, time period for establishment, and the proposed scale of operations, together with an organisational strategy setting out how it would fulfil its responsibilities.

The move to encourage alternatives to the NPCI is an interesting one. That it was preceded by a policy paper that shows the regulatory thought process, and has not been shrouded in mystery, works in its favour. While having a single umbrella entity for retail payments systems has apparent benefits such as standardization and economies of scale, having more than one entity for such purposes to curtail systemic risk makes sense, and reflects positively on the RBI as a regulator. However, to ensure that there is no fracturing or multiplicity of standards in the retail payments space, the ReguRBI should ensure that, similar to the current depository framework, the overall number of such umbrella entities is limited, and all umbrella entities ensure interoperability for the convenience of retail users.

Sawant Singh and Aditya Bhargava are partners in the Mumbai office of Phoenix Legal. Sristi Yadav, an associate, also provided assistance on the article.

retail
Phoenix Legal
Second Floor
254, Okhla Industrial
Estate Phase III
New Delhi – 110 020
India
Vaswani Mansion, 3/F
120 Dinshaw Vachha Road, Churchgate
Mumbai – 400 020
India
Contact details
Tel +91 11 4983 0000 / +91 22 4340 8500
Fax: +91 11 4983 0099 / +91 22 4340 8501
Email: delhi@phoenixlegal.in
mumbai@phoenixlegal.in