审视印度知识产权保护执法状况

作者: Manisha Singh Nair,Lex Orbis律师事务所
0
349
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

如果不能充分利用知识产权的潜能,那么即使取得知识产权也是没有多大作用的。在产品和品牌进入市场方面,有效利用知识产权是不可或缺的。 随着市场上商品品种的不断增多,冒牌产品的数量也相应地增加了。

印度意识到其国内猖獗的造假行为后,正不断地加强其知识产权保护机制。印度知识产权所有者也正不断地采取积极措施,保护他们的有形资产和无形资产。这种情况可以从持续增加的知识产权注册数目,以及拥有印度市场的印度企业和外资企业极为关注其产品、工序、商标、广告活动、包装等可以反映出来。

Manisha Singh Nair, Lex Orbis
Manisha Singh Nair
合伙人
Lex Orbis律师事务所

赝品充斥

随着复制和传播技术的发展,市场上盗版产品的数量有了急剧的增长。在此方面,软件业首当其冲,不少公司遭受损失,金额超过其市场总份额的 29%。受到盗版活动冲击最严重的娱乐和软件行业发现版权法根本不足以应对这些盗版活动。而且那些利用名牌产品的商誉而出现的 “冒牌” 劣质货品已成为在印度经营的企业的关注点。在专利权及外观设计行业也是一样,专利权所有人同样也遭受了前所未有的侵权情况。

巩固法规

在这方面,针对侵权行为的普遍和容易程度,法规中各相关条款所规定的补救措施也有所不同。因此,要应对这些侵权行为适用于民事和刑事诉讼的一般法规需与监管相关知识产权的法规一并实施。经过多次修改的《1908 年民事诉讼法》、《1973 年刑事诉讼法》和《1890 年印度刑法》,就应与相关的知识产权法规一并理解阅读,以审判侵犯别人知识产权的案件。进入司法程序的企业数量也在增长,特别是外资企业提起的诉讼数目相当显著。

加强执法

各地方警察总部犯罪科内设立了专门 的知识产权部门后,版权和商标的刑事执法保护行动现对产权所有人更方便。设立这些部门,通过处理产权所有人的投诉、执行搜查和查封行动并实施其它强制性措施,目的是要协助该些产权所有人。政府也颁布了《2007年知识产权 (进口商品) 执法规则》,授权海关人员堵截侵权产品或作品的装运。甚至在一些小城镇,知识产权执法行动也有所增长。侵权行为人较容易进入这些小城镇而且在这些地区被捕,而且同时据观察,他们在被捕后也会提供线索,从而使执法机关查获更大的侵权产品集散地以及其他侵权分子。

民间组织,里应外合

工商业界及其协会都已经开展个别或联合行动,表达他们反对侵犯知识产权的态度。他们所采取的策略之一,是雇用外聘机构提供关于冒充其货品方面的确实信息。其中有些机构之后会与警方人员联系,实地进行查处并逮捕违法者。为了提高知识产权制度的运作水平,一些机构如印度工商会联合会 (FICCI)、工业政策促进部 (DIPP) 和工商部正共同准备建立一个工作小组来防止知识产权违规活动。另外,一些专门行业机构如印度音乐产业协会已建立起来,以防止和抑制娱乐行业的盗版行为。

改善议案

法院似乎也在知识产权执法方面采取了一些积极手段。印度最高法院在民事执法体制经过明显改善后,目前逐步开始在 一些知识产权侵权案中使用国际确立的原则。近年来,关于判定损害赔偿金的法院裁定已被完全推翻,而逐渐取而代之的是惩罚性的损害赔偿。

政府正采取适当的措施,确保执法 行动被适当地纳入新的立法计划中。《2007公共资助研发 (知识产权的保护、应用及规范) 议案》 (“议案”) 已经补充增加了惩罚条款,以防止科技人员滥用知识产权。议案期望鼓励公共研究机构对其发明申请专利保护,并在分享收益的基础上将他们的发明创造提供给相关产业以实现其专利的产业化和市场化。议案似乎目的在于平衡知识产权保护的两个关注方面,一方面允许研发机构在他们选择的国家中取得知识产权保护,另一方面采用惩罚条款解决侵权案件。

就此而论,看来印度在实施打击侵犯知识产权方面,正采取一切可能的举措,防止侵权事件的发生。目前经由行政和监察机构执法行动而被强化的法律框架,令印度朝着成为一个对无形资产保护更为严密的国度的方向,迈出了坚实的一步。

Marisha 是 Lex Orbis 的合伙人。Lex Orbis 是一所总部设在新德里的知识产权律师事务所。

Lex Orbis logo709/710 Tolstoy House, 15-17 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

India

电话: +91 11 2371 6565

传真: +91 11 2371 6556

电子信箱: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Examining the IP enforcement scenario in India

By Manisha Singh Nair, Lex Orbis
0
463
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Acquisition of IP rights is of little use if such rights cannot be exploited to their full potential. The effective exploitation of such rights is pertinently necessary in view of the influx of brands and products into the market. As the variety of goods available is on the rise, the numbers of fake imitations are also significant.

India, awakening to this rampant misappropriation, is continually strengthening its intellectual property enforcement mechanism. Owners of intellectual property in India are increasingly taking active steps to protect their assets – both tangible as well as intangible. This is reflected not merely in the rising number of IP registrations but also in the fact that both Indian and foreign corporations having a market in India are now keeping a keen eye on their products, processes, marks, advertising campaigns, packaging and so on.

Manisha Singh Nair, Lex Orbis
Manisha Singh Nair
Partner
Lex Orbis

Upsurge of fakes

With the development of reproduction and broadcast technology, there has been an upsurge in the number of “pirated” works on the market. In this regard, the software industry seems to top the list, with companies suffering losses amounting to over 29% of their total market share. The entertainment and software industries, being the hardest hit by piracy activities, find the copyright law by itself insufficient in countering these activities. Also, the advent of fake or “counterfeit” goods of very low quality that aim to take advantage of the reputation of a well-known product has become a point of concern for enterprises operating in India. The same is also true of patent and designs where unprecedented violations to right holders are taking place.

Legislation

In this respect, the remedies provided under each relevant item of legislation vary in accordance with the prevalence and ease of violation of such rights. Therefore, in addressing such violations, general laws governing civil and criminal proceedings come into play alongside the statutes governing the respective intellectual property regimes. The Code of Civil Procedure, 1908; the Criminal Procedure Code, 1973; and the Indian Penal Code, 1890, as amended from time to time, must be read alongside the relevant intellectual property statute to make out a case of violation of a party’s intellectual property. The number of corporations entering litigation is also on the rise, with a significant number of actions being initiated by foreign corporations.

Enforcement

Criminal enforcement of copyright and trademarks has now been made owner-friendly through the appointment of specialized IPR cells in the crime branches of various local police headquarters. These cells have been constituted in order to assist the owners of IP rights, by accepting their complaints, conducting search and seizure operations and completing other mandatory procedural formalities. The government in this endeavour has also introduced the Intellectual Property Rights (Imported Goods) Enforcement Rules, 2007, authorizing customs officials to interdict shipments carrying infringing goods or works. There is an increasing move towards enforcing rights in intellectual property even in small towns. While infringers may be more accessible and easier to nab in these regions, they have also been observed to generate leads towards capturing the larger hubs of pirated goods and conspirators.

External agencies

Businesses, industries and their associations either individually or collectively have kick-started campaigns to raise their voice against intellectual property violations. One strategy they have employed is to engage external agencies to generate concrete information regarding the misappropriation of their goods. Some of them then liaise with officials from the police force physically to conduct raids and nab the offenders. To improve the working of the IP regime, bodies such as the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry, alongside the Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion and the Ministry of Commerce and Industry are working towards establishing a working group to prevent illegal activities. Further, sector-specific bodies such as the Indian Music Industry have been instituted to prevent and curb piracy in the Entertainment sector.

Enforcement improves

The courts also seem to have adopted a progressive approach towards the enforcement of intellectual property rights. Having experienced a remarkable improvement in the civil enforcement system, high courts in India are progressively applying internationally established principles in IP infringement cases. Jurisprudence with respect to the award of damages has been completely overturned in the recent years, with a prominent role emerging for exemplary damages.

The government is taking care to ensure that enforcement measures are duly incorporated into the scheme of any new items of legislation. The Public Funded R&D (Protection, Utilization and Regulation of Intellectual Property) Bill 2007 has been supplemented with penal provisions to prevent misuse of intellectual property by scientists. The Bill seeks to encourage public sector research organizations to patent their inventions and offer them to industry for commercialization on a revenue-sharing basis.

The Bill seems to be aiming at balancing intellectual property concerns by on one hand allowing research and development institutions to acquire intellectual property pro- tection in countries of their choice, while on the other hand incorporating penal provisions to tackle cases of infringement.

Sure step

In this light it seems that India, in realization of the repercussions of the misappropriation of intellectual property, is taking all possible measures to prevent the same. The existing legislative framework, augmented by enforcement actions taken by administrative and monitoring agencies, is a sure step towards India becoming a safer location for one’s intangible assets.

Manisha Singh Nair is a partner of Lex Orbis, an intellectual property practice law firm headquartered in New Delhi.

Lex Orbis logo709/710 Tolstoy House, 15-17 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

India

Tel: +91 11 2371 6565

Fax: +91 11 2371 6556

Email: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link