专利分案申请——一种战略方法

作者: Manisha Singh和Virender Singh、LexOrbis
0
298
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

关于专利分案申请的法律在不断发展。因此,申请人面临是否及何时提交专利分案申请的两难困境。

在印度,专利分案申请受1970年《专利法》第16条、10(5)条和7(1)条调整。只有当专利申请书中对多项发明提出了权利要求,而且母案申请和分案申请的权利要求截然不同时,才允许分案申请。分案申请只可在母案申请被授权或遭驳回之前即母案申请接受审查期间提交。

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
合伙人
LexOrbis

在最近的“Boehringer Ingelheim International Gmbh v Controller of Patents”案中,德里高等法院认定,完整说明书的权利要求是否涉及《专利法》第16条所指的一项以上发明即多项发明,视母案申请权利要求而定。如果母案申请不包含发明,分案申请不可仅根据自身内容而提出。母案申请和分案申请权利要求不得有重合之处。这是对适用于分案申请的规定的严格解释,但无人对此提出过申诉。

提交了母案申请后再提交分案申请的做法称为连续提交分案申请,现已撤销的印度知识产权上诉委员会(IPAB)确定,如果审查员对早前的分案申请提出了缺乏单一性异议或称其有新主题,连续提交的分案申请仍然有效。IPAB裁定,后来的分案申请产生自早前的申请,在以下情况下是允许的:第二次申请的权利要求源于第一次申请。分案申请是否获得分案授权,取决于其他条件,如关于多项发明的要求和第一次分案申请尚待裁定等。

Virender Singh
Virender Singh
初级合伙人
LexOrbis

提交分案申请的最佳时机为,母案申请中的权利要求受到了限制或审查人员提出缺乏发明单一性异议之时。即使不存在母案申请权利要求缺乏单一性的异议,仍可提交分案申请。分案申请权利要求必须从母案申请中删除。如果印度专利局提出异议,申请人还必须证明分案申请权利要求涉及的发明与母案申请中的权利要求截然不同,这是分案申请资格的基本条件。权利要求如果解决了一个不同于母案申请中的问题,并显示出了优于先前技术的技术效果和进步,则所涉及的是一项截然不同的发明。

当母案申请的权利要求涉及一项以上发明时,应提交分案申请。分案申请权利要求应满足多项基本条件,如既不能与母案申请权利要求类似,也不能扩大后者范围,并应涉及与母案申请截然不同的一项发明。由于关于母案申请的决定并不会事先通知,而分案申请又只能在关于母案申请的决定尚未作出期间提交,所以分案申请应尽早提交。

如果母案申请并未主张分案申请权利要求,想提交专利分案申请的申请人可将想要获得的分案申请权利要求加入未结案的母案申请权利要求之中。如上文所述,分案申请权利要求不应与母案申请权利要求类似,也不应扩大后者范围,而应涉及与母案申请截然不同的一项发明。如果印度专利局以缺乏单一性为由对加入其中的权利要求表示异议,则申请人有正当理由提交分案申请。这还确保了印度专利局无法质疑后来提交的分案申请的有效性。假若如此(尽管不太可能),如果印度专利局未对新加入的权利要求表示反对,则申请人可获得保护,但仅限于当前申请中列出的权利要求。不过,如果印度专利局对加入的新权利要求表示异议(经常如此),申请人可撤回所加入的权利要求(已支付的额外费用不予退还),然后继续等候母案申请权利要求结案。

Manisha Singh为LexOrbis合伙人,Virender Singh为Virender Singh初级合伙人

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis

709/710 Tolstoy House

15-17 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

India

Mumbai | Bengaluru

联络方式
电话: +91 11 2371 6565
电子邮箱: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Dividing patent applications – a strategic approach

By Manisha Singh and Virender Singh, LexOrbis
0
43

The law on dividing patent applications continually evolves. Applicants therefore face dilemmas whether and when to file dividing patent applications.

Dividing or divisional patent applications are subject to sections 16, 10(5) and 7(1) of the Patents Act, 1970. A divisional patent application is allowed only when multiple inventions are claimed in the parent application, and the claims of the parent application and the divisional application are distinct. A divisional application may only be filed before the grant or refusal of its parent application, that is while the parent application is still being considered.

Manisha Singh, LexOrbis
Manisha Singh
Partner
LexOrbis

In the recent case of Boehringer Ingelheim International Gmbh v Controller of Patents, the Delhi High Court held that whether the claims of the complete specification relate to more than one invention under section 16, that is a plurality of inventions, depends on the claims in the parent application. If the invention is not covered by the parent application, the divisional application cannot be made solely on its own content. There cannot be duplication of the claims in the parent and divisional applications. This is a narrow interpretation of the provisions governing divisional applications, but there has been no appeal.

When a divisional patent application is made after a previously filed divisional patent application, that is a serial filing of divisional applications, the now defunct Intellectual Property Appellate Board (IPAB) settled that such an application is valid where there is an objection of lack of unity or new subject matter in an earlier divisional application. The IPAB decided that a later divisional application arising from an earlier application is allowed when the claims of the second application are rooted in those of the first. The division of a divisional application is subject to other conditions, such as the requirement for multiple inventions and the first divisional application awaiting a decision.

Virender Singh
Virender Singh
Associate partner
LexOrbis

The best time to file a divisional application is when the parent application claims are subject to a restriction or when there is an objection of lack of unity of invention. If there is no objection that the parent claims lack such unity, a divisional application may still be filed. The divided claims must be removed from the parent application. If the Indian Patent Office (IPO) objects, the applicant must also prove that the divided claims relate to an invention distinct from the claims in the parent application, this being essential for qualification as a divisional application. Claims are for a distinct invention if they solve a different problem from that in the parent application and show a technical effect and an advancement over prior art.

A divisional application should be made when the claims of the parent application relate to more than one invention. The claims for division should fulfil basic conditions, such as not being similar to or a broader version of the claims in the parent application and should relate to an invention distinct from that in the parent application. As there is no advance notice of the decision in a patent application and a divisional application can be filed only while a decision is awaited on the parent application, a divisional application should be filed at the earliest opportunity.

An applicant wishing to file a divisional patent application where the claims for a divisional application have not been claimed in the parent application, may add the desired divisional claims to the pending parent application claims. As already mentioned, the claims should not be similar or broader versions of the claims of the parent application and be for an invention distinct from that in the parent application. If the IPO objects to the added claims because of a lack of unity, the applicant has valid grounds to make a divisional application. It also ensures that the IPO cannot question the validlity of a later divisional application. In that case, unlikely though it may be, if the IPO raises no objection to newly added claims, the applicant gets protection for all the stated claims in the present application only. However, if the IPO objects to the addition of new claims, as is usual, the applicant may withdraw the added claims, forfeit the additional fee paid and continue with the claims in the parent application.

Manisha Singh is a partner and Virender Singh is an associate partner at LexOrbis.

LexOrbis logo

LexOrbis

709/710 Tolstoy House

15-17 Tolstoy Marg

New Delhi – 110 001

India

Mumbai | Bengaluru

Contact details
Tel: +91 11 2371 6565
Email: mail@lexorbis.com

www.lexorbis.com