网络安全法的亚洲视角 – 台湾

作者: Jackson Huang Shuai-Sheng,Formosa Transnational
0
251

数据保护和网络安全是亚洲不断发展的监管领域。本期文章将介绍专家对于亚洲地区主要法域新兴法学的看法。

湾的网络安全法律由不同制度中的法律法规组成。虽然《网络安全管理法》于2018年颁布,但它主要确立了对政府机构和特定的非政府机构的网络安全管控机制。其他相关法律法规也很重要,其中包括《刑法典》、《个人数据保护法》和新的《反渗透法》。

刑法典

《刑法典》第36章“计算机犯罪”对网络安全进行了规定。下列行为将受到刑事处罚,包括但不限于监禁和罚款。

cybersecurity
Jackson Huang Shuai-Sheng
Formosa Transnational台北高级合伙人
电话: +886 2 2755 7366
电子邮件: shuai-sheng.huang@taiwanlaw.com

侵入他人的电脑(《刑法典》第358条)。如果某人(i)输入他人的账户名和密码;(ii)破坏计算机的保护措施;或者(iii)利用系统漏洞,无正当理由进入他人的计算机或相关设备,都属于《刑法典》第358条规定的犯罪。“理由”可以包括其他相关人士的授权或者法律要求。

非法处理电子记录或磁记录。非法获取、删除或者修改他人计算机或相关设备中的电子记录或磁记录的行为可能会违反《刑法典》第359条的规定。“电子记录或磁记录”是指“利用电子、磁、光或者其他类似方式进行计算机处理的记录”。

干扰计算机或相关设备的使用。干扰他人使用计算机或相关设备,并对公众或他人造成伤害的,可能会违反《刑法典》第362条的规定。

《刑法典》第36章对于使用计算机程序进行犯罪的行为进行了规定。为了进行上述第358条、第259条和第362条规定的犯罪行为的目的为自己或他人制作计算机程序,可能会违反《刑法典》第363条的规定。

民法典

《民法典》没有关于网络安全侵权民事责任的具体法律法规。不过,如果任何人通过侵入他人电脑或者通过其他方式影响网络安全,造成其他人遭受损失或损害,受损害的人/实体可以要求根据《民法典》第184条(侵权)和其他条款的规定要求赔偿,包括但不限于原则上的第18条(侵犯个人权利)和第195条(名誉侵权),以及其他可能与特定情况相关的条款。

个人数据保护法

为了保护个人数据,《个人数据保护法》规定,政府/非政府机构必须采取适当的安全措施阻止个人数据被盗取、篡改、损坏、销毁或泄露。这些规定与网络安全没有直接关系。但是,个人数据目前是利用互联网进行收集、处理和转移的,因此,安全措施也可能有助于提高网络安全措施的整体有效性。

《个人数据保护法》还规定管理某些行业的中央主管机构可以指定并命令某些非政府机构(私人实体)为了保护个人数据文件建立所谓的安全和维护计划,并制定和实施在业务终止后处理个人数据的准则。

比如,台湾金融监督管理委员会制定了《金融监督管理委员会指定非政府机构保护个人数据文件的安全与维护计划》。根据该等规定,提供电子商务服务的非政府机构必须采取以下信息安全措施,包括:(1)验证身份;(2)隐藏个人数据;(3)确保通过互联网进行加密传输;(4)对某些应用系统的开发、上线和维护程序进行验证和确认;(5)建立和实施个人数据文件和数据库的保护和监管措施;(6)制定防止外部未经授权访问的解决方案;以及(7)制定解决方案并监督非法/异常访问和使用。

网络安全管理法

台湾的《网络安全管理法》于2018年6月6日颁布。除了《刑法典》和《个人数据保护法》之外,《网络安全管理法》主要监管政府或特定非政府机构对网络安全程序的管理,以构建保护国家网络安全的环境。《网络安全管理法》的主管机构是作为台湾最高行政权力机构的行政院。经济部也发布了台湾企业根据《网络安全管理法》建立相关网络安全机制的指导意见。

《网络安全管理法》的适用范围包括政府机构和特定的非政府机构。特定的非政府机构包括国有企业、政府资助的基金会和“基础设施供应商”。

这一点很重要,因为基础设施供应商需要建立符合《网络安全管理法》要求的网络安全保护机制,确保相关的敏感信息会很安全,并且不会被恶意泄露给他人,从而维护安全。

基础设施供应商是指由主管相关行业的中央机构指定的并且报主管机构批准的、维护或提供全部或部分关键基础设施的实体。

关键基础设施包括在能源、水、通信、金融、交通、紧急医疗、政府机构和高科技园区等领域的设施供应商。

一旦供应商被指定为基础设施供应商,它们也需要承担与政府机构相同的义务,建立网络安全保护机制,防止敏感信息通过互联网意外泄露,从而对安全造成不利影响。

根据《网络安全管理法》,政府机构和特定非政府机构的职责分为三个阶段:

(1) 事先规划。《网络安全管理法》要求政府机构或特定非政府机构事先建立“安全和维护计划”以及“报告和反应机制”,以便工作人员据此执行。机构还应当考虑有关业务重要性、保密性和敏感性,有关机构的层级,保留或处理信息的类别、数量和属性,以及有关机构的信息和通信系统的规模和属性的标准,规定网络安全责任等级。

(2) 维护。各机构应当定期向中央主管机构提供报告,主管机构可以根据《网络安全管理法》进行现场尽职调查。如果发生任何影响网络安全的事件,各机构必须向中央主管机构报告并且采取措施控制损失,并按照中央主管机构制定的机制恢复运行。

(3) 事后纠正。在网络安全事件发生后,或者中央主管机构发现有关机构的网络安全控制机制存在缺陷时,有关机构必须采取措施纠正该等缺陷,并提交有关为弥补该等缺陷所采取的措施的报告。各机构必须跟踪有关补救和纠正措施的执行情况和效果,以确保全面纠正有关缺陷。

由于对网络安全的威胁可能来自世界各地,因此《网络安全管理法》还要求政府建立信息共享机制。鼓励政府和非政府机构之间进行信息共享,以加强网络安全网络。

已建立的信息共享机制包括国家信息共享和分析中心(N-ISAC)、国家计算机应急响应小组(N-CERT)以及国家安全运营中心(N-SOC)。

反渗透法

《反渗透法》于2020年1月初生效,该法案禁止受“渗透来源”指示或者资助的人士进行非法竞选、游说活动,或者接受非法政治捐款以及扰乱社会秩序。

起草和通过《反渗透法》的背景是在台湾近期举行地方选举的时候,岛内外人士在互联网上制造所谓的“假新闻”试图影响选举结果。

FORMOSA TRANSNATIONAL ATTORNEYS AT LAW
13/F, 136 Jen Ai Road, Sec. 3, Taipei
电话: +886 2 2755 7366
传真: +886 2 2755 6486
www.taiwanlaw.com

Cybersecurity in Taiwan

    By Jackson Huang Shuai-Sheng, Formosa Transnational
    0
    186

    Data protection and cybersecurity are evolving areas of regulation in Asia. Here, experts shed light on emerging jurisprudence in the region’s top jurisdictions

     

    Cybersecurity laws in Taiwan consist of various laws and regulations set out in different regimes. Although the Cyber Security Management Act (CSMA) was promulgated in 2018, it mainly establishes cybersecurity control mechanisms for governmental agencies and specific non-governmental agencies. Other related laws and regulations are of importance and may include, among others, the Criminal Code, Personal Data Protection Act (PDPA), and the new Anti-Infiltration Act.

    The Criminal Code

    The provisions regarding cybersecurity are set out in chapter 36 of the Criminal Code, “computer offences”. The conduct listed below is subject to criminal punishment, including, but not limited to, imprisonment and fines.

    cybersecurity
    Jackson Huang Shuai-Sheng
    Senior Partner at Formosa Transnational in Taipei
    Tel: +886 2 2755 7366
    Email: shuai-sheng.huang@taiwanlaw.com

    (1) Hacking into another’s computer (article 358 of the Criminal Code). If a person, by: (i) entering another’s account ID and password; (ii) breaking computer protection measures; or, (iii) taking advantage of a system loophole accesses another’s computer or related equipment without a justified reason, that conduct constitutes an offence under article 358 of the Criminal Code. The term “reason” may include the authorization of the relevant other, or a legal requirement.

    (2) Illegal disposal of the electronic or magnetic record. If a person illegally obtains, deletes or alters the electronic or magnetic record of another’s computer or related equipment, that conduct may violate article 359 of the Criminal Code. The term “electronic or magnetic record” refers to “records for computer processing made through the use of electronic, magnetic, optical or other similar means”.

    (3) Interference with the use of a computer or related equipment. If a person interferes with the use of a computer or related equipment of another person, and causes injury to the public or said other, that conduct may be in violation of article 362 of the Criminal Code.

    Making computer programs to commit the offence specified in chapter 36 of the Criminal Code. If a person makes computer programs specifically for himself/herself or another, for the purpose of committing the offences of the above articles 358, 359 and 362, that conduct may be in violation of article 363 of the Criminal Code.

    The Civil Code

    There are no specific laws or regulations regarding the civil liability for cybersecurity violations in the Civil Code. However, if anyone, through hacking a computer of others, or by other means affecting cybersecurity, causes others to suffer loss or injury, the injured person/entity may claim compensation pursuant to article 184 of the Civil Code (torts) and other provisions, including, but not limited to, articles 18 (infringement of personal rights) and 195 (infringement of fame) in principle, and other related provisions as may be relevant to the particular circumstances.

    Personal Data Protection Act

    For the protection of personal data, the PDPA stipulates that governmental/non-governmental agencies must implement proper security measures to prevent personal data from being stolen, altered, damaged, destroyed or disclosed. These provisions are not directly related to cybersecurity. However, personal data are currently collected, processed and transferred by utilizing the internet, and, as such, security measures may also be of assistance to enhance the overall effectiveness of cybersecurity measures.

    The PDPA also stipulates that the central competent authority in charge of certain industries may designate and order certain non-governmental agencies (private entities) to establish so-called security and maintenance plans for the protection of personal data files, and to formulate and implement guidelines for the disposal of personal data following a business termination.

    For example, Taiwan’s Finance Supervisory Commission has enacted the “security and maintenance plan for the protection of personal data files for non-governmental agencies as designated by the Financial Supervisory Commission”. Under these regulations, the non-governmental agencies that provide electronic commerce services must utilize the following information security measures, including:

    (1) verify identity;

    (2) conceal personal data;

    (3) secure encryption for transmission via the internet;

    (4) verify and confirm the processes for developing, going online and maintaining certain application systems;

    (5) establish and implement protection and supervision measures for personal data files and the databases;

    (6) formulate solutions to prevent external unauthorized access; and

    (7) formulate solutions and supervisions for illegal/abnormal access and use.

    The CSMA

    The CSMA was promulgated in Taiwan on 6 June 2018. Aside from the Criminal Act and the PDPA, the CSMA primarily regulates the governmental or specific non-governmental agency’s management of cybersecurity programmes for the construction of an environment to safeguard national cybersecurity. The competent authority of the CSMA is the Executive Yuan, which is the highest administrative central government authority in Taiwan. The Ministry of Economic Affairs has also published guidelines for companies in Taiwan to establish relevant cybersecurity mechanisms per the CSMA.

    The application scope of the CSMA includes governmental agencies and specific non-governmental agencies. The specific non-governmental agencies include state-owned enterprises, government-endowed foundations, and “infrastructure providers”.

    This is important, as infrastructure providers are expected to establish cybersecurity protection mechanisms to the extent required by the CSMA, to ensure that the relevant sensitive information will be secure, and will not be leaked to others with malicious intentions, so as to safeguard national security.

    Infrastructure providers refer to those entities that maintain or provide critical infrastructure, either in whole or in part, as designated by the central authority in charge of the relevant industry, the designations of which are submitted to the competent authority for ratification.

    Critical infrastructures include the suppliers for facilities in the fields of energy, water, telecommunications, finance, transportation, emergency medication, governmental agencies and high-tech parks.

    Once suppliers are designated as being an infrastructure provider, they also bear the same obligations as government agencies to establish cybersecurity protection mechanisms to prevent any unexpected disclosure of sensitive information via the internet that could adversely affect national security.

    The responsibility of governmental agencies and specific non-governmental agencies under the CSMA are categorized in three stages:

    (1) Advance Planning. The CSMA requires governmental agencies or specific non-governmental agencies to establish “security and maintenance plans” and “reporting and responding mechanisms” in advance for personnel to implement accordingly. Agencies are also required to state the cybersecurity responsibility levels by considering the criteria on the importance, confidentiality and sensitivity of the business, the hierarchy of the agency, and the category, quantity and attributes of the information reserved or processed as well as the scale and attributes of the information and communication systems of the agencies.

    (2) Maintenance. The agencies are required to provide reports periodically to the central government authority, and the authorities may conduct on-site due diligence checks per the CSMA. If any event affecting cybersecurity occurs, the agencies must report to the central government authority and take measures to control the loss, and to recover the operations per the mechanisms enacted by the central government authority.

    (3) Post-event occurrence correction. After a cybersecurity event occurs, or at the time that the central government authorities find deficiencies in the cybersecurity control mechanism of the agencies, the organizations must make corrections to such deficiencies, and submit a report indicating the measures being taken to remedy the deficiencies. The agencies are required to track the implementation and efficacy of the remedial and correction measures to ensure that the deficiencies are comprehensively corrected.

    The CSMA also requires the government to establish information sharing mechanisms as the threats to cybersecurity may come from various locales worldwide. The sharing of information between governmental and non-governmental agencies is encouraged in order to strengthen the cybersecurity network.

    The information-sharing mechanisms established include the National-Information Sharing and Analysis Centre (N-ISAC), National-Computer Emergency Response Team (N-CERT), and the National-Security Operation Centre, (N-SOC).

    The Anti-Infiltration Act

    The Anti-Infiltration Act became effective in early January 2020, and prohibits people acting on the instruction of, or with the funding of, “infiltration sources” from engaging in illegal campaigning or lobbying, or from receiving illegal political donations as well as from disrupting the social order.

    The background of the drafting and passage of the Anti-Infiltration Act is the recent local presidential election in Taiwan, as people in the island or abroad were generating so-called “fake news” on the internet in attempts to affect the results of election.

    FORMOSA TRANSNATIONAL ATTORNEYS AT LAW
    13/F, 136 Jen Ai Road, Sec. 3, Taipei
    Tel: +886 2 2755 7366
    Fax: +886 2 2755 6486
    www.taiwanlaw.com