亚洲数据隐私法比较:印度尼西亚

    作者: Agus Ahadi Deradjat、Kevin Omar Sidharta 和 Mahiswara Timur,ABNR律师事务所
    0
    1472
    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

    在亚洲,充分了解数据隐私框架至关重要。然而,虽然该地区的法律有着相似的内容,但由于隐私合规文化相对较新,而且各司法管辖区的做法各不相同,因此仍然存在差距。在此,专家们将详细介绍菲律宾、泰国和印度尼西亚如何建立其管理个人数据的法律框架。


    印度尼西亚

    菲律宾

    泰国

     

    息技术的发展和用户在数字媒体中的参与度增加,提高了人们对获得个人隐私这一基本人权的认识。鉴于个人数据的大量使用和利用,个人数据保护已变得十分紧迫,这使得隐私越来越受到重视。

    Agus Ahadi Deradjat, Partner, ABNR, Jakarta
    Agus Ahadi Deradjat
    ABNR律师事务所驻雅加达合伙人
    电邮: aderadjat@abnrlaw.com

    在印尼,个人数据保护法规比较分散,主要体现在《电子信息与交易法》(EIT法)、健康与病历法规以及人口管理法。目前,EIT法及其实施细则已成为电子系统中个人数据保护的主要参考,适用于各个行业。然而,现在迫切需要一个一致的监管和法律框架来解决这个问题。

    为了解决数字时代日益重要的个人数据保护问题,印尼政府正在起草一项法案(PDP法案),该法案目前正在定稿。PDP法案旨在成为印尼的主要隐私法。PDP法案以欧盟的《通用数据保护条例》(GDPR)为基础,对数据隐私保护进行了一些重大且急需的修改,使其更加符合其他国家目前适用的标准(尤其是GDPR)。对PDP法案进行的重大调整概述如下。

    个人数据的分类

    EIT法、《关于提供电子系统和交易的2019年第71号政府条例》(GR 71)以及通信和信息技术部(MCIT)《关于电子系统中个人数据保护的2016年第20号条例》(MR 20/2016) 均未对个人数据进行明确描述,而将其宽泛地定义为“通过使用电子系统和/或非电子手段直接或间接地使用该数据或将其与其他信息相结合来识别或能够识别该人身份、与个人有关的任何数据” 。

    在即将出台的PDP法案中,个人数据分为一般个人数据和特定个人数据,前者包括姓名、性别、国籍、宗教信仰以及用于识别个人身份的其他综合数据;后者包括健康、生物特征、基因、政治观点、犯罪记录、个人财务数据、性取向、儿童数据以及法律法规规定的其他数据。

    然而,无论如何分类,PDP法案没有区分一般个人数据和特定个人数据的处理要求。因此,PDP法案的实施细则以及后续的部门规章可能需要对此作出详细规定。

    数据控制人与数据处理人

    目前,印尼的法律和法规没有区分数据控制人和处理人。因此,处理个人数据的各方均需承担相同的责任和义务,无论其在数据处理中的实际角色如何。

    PDP法案解决了这一问题,它与GDPR一样,将数据控制人和处理人的角色分开。PDP法案将数据控制人定义为决定个人数据处理目的并控制个人数据处理的一方,而数据处理人则被定义为代表数据控制人处理个人数据的一方。

    PDP法案进一步区分了责任,处理个人数据的责任由数据控制人而非处理人承担。然而,如果数据处理人在处理时偏离由数据控制人预先设定的指令、顺序或目的(这意味着前者的角色等同于数据控制人的角色),则数据处理人应承担责任。

    Kevin Omar Sidharta, Partner, ABNR, Jakarta
    Kevin Omar Sidharta
    ABNR律师事务所驻雅加达合伙人
    电邮: ksidarta@abnrlaw.com

    法律依据

    根据GR 71,个人数据被处理的任何人均必须对数据处理明确表示同意。目前,除执法事项外,印尼的法律和法规并不基于此而运作。这一要求被企业视为一种负担,因为他们需要获得数据主体的明确同意,而该同意有时可能被合理地视为已经暗示或不可能获得。

    PDP法案采用了类似于GDPR的原则,同意只是合法处理个人数据的若干要求之一。PDP法案为未经同意而处理个人数据的情况引入了类似于GDPR条款的例外情况:

    (1)为履行数据主体为一方的合同,或为了在订立合同之前满足数据主体的要求;

    (2)为遵守法律规定的数据控制人义务;

    (3)为实现数据主体的重大利益;

    (4)为行使法律赋予数据控制人的权力;

    (5)履行数据控制人为了公共利益而必须履行的公共服务义务;和/或

    (6)为追求数据控制人或数据主体的合法利益。

    PDP法案中有关强制性同意规定的例外情况,与GR 71的条款相抵触。然而,由于PDP法案在监管体系中的地位将高于GR 71,因此其条款可能会取代GR 71的条款,包括有关个人数据处理合法基础的条款。

    跨境数据转移

    根据MR 20/2016,个人数据的跨境转移不受限制,前提是转移得到数据主体的同意,并与印尼通信和信息技术部或其他相关部门进行协调。根据印尼通信和信息技术部的现行政策,应通过提交年度报告来实施强制性协调。

    PDP法案就控制人对控制人的跨境个人数据传输提出了新的规定,跨境个人数据传输将受到以下条件的限制:

    (1)伙伴国家的个人数据保护水平等于或高于PDP法案中的规定;

    (2)国家之间有国际协议;

    (3)数据控制人之间订立了涉及个人数据保护事项的合同;和/或

    (4)数据主体的同意。

    但上述规定不适用于控制人对处理人的跨境个人数据转移。

    Mahiswara Timur, Associate, ABNR, Jakarta
    Mahiswara Timur
    ABNR律师事务所驻雅加达律师
    电邮: mtimur@abnrlaw.com

    数据泄露

    一旦发生数据泄露,GR 71和MR 20/2016要求电子系统运营商在第一时间向MCIT和执法机构报告泄露情况,并在发现泄露后14天内通知数据主体。

    PDP法案还对报告义务进行了详细规定,这些规定也适用于电子和传统的个人数据处理。根据PDP法案,数据控制人必须在72小时内书面通知数据主体及通信和信息技术部,告知未能保护个人数据的情况。通知必须详细说明:(i)泄露的数据;(ii)数据何时以及如何外泄;(iii)管理和恢复工作。

    数据保护官

    PDP法案还引入一项义务,规定符合以下标准的数据控制人和处理人应任命一名数据保护官:

    (1)数据处理是为了提供公共服务;

    (2)数据控制人的主要活动需要对个人数据进行大规模、频繁和系统的监控;以及

    (3)数据控制人的核心活动涉及大规模处理特定个人数据和/或与犯罪活动有关的个人数据。

    必须根据数据隐私方面的专业资格、法律知识和实践经验来任命数据保护官。然而,PDP法案并未具体规定强制性资格、技能或教育背景。一般而言,他们的角色是保护和确保由数据控制人或处理人处理的个人数据的安全。

    结论

    虽然PDP法案被列为立法的优先事项,但目前尚不清楚它何时将作为法律发布和颁布。由于印尼政府仍在集中精力处理新冠疫情,该法案的定稿可能会被推迟。

    印尼企业对该法案非常期待,因为全面和一致的个人数据法规是其活动的一个重要方面。由于商业活动已经从根本上变得更加国际化,PDP法案被视为更符合国际标准,如要在这个日益全球化的数字化时代做生意,这是不可避免的结果。

    作者:ABNR律师事务所合伙人Agus Ahadi Deradjat、Kevin Omar Sidharta 和律师Mahiswara Timur

    ALI-BUDIARDJO,-NUGROHO,-REKSODIPUTRO-(ABNR)-Indonesia-legal-firm

    Ali Budiardjo Nugroho Reksodiputro Counsellors at Law (ABNR)

    Graha CIMB Niaga, 24/F

    Jl. Jend. Sudirman, Kav. 58

    Jakarta – 12190, Indonesia

    电话: +62 21 250 5125/5136

    电邮: info@abnrlaw.com

     

    www.abnrlaw.com

    LinkedIn
    Facebook
    Twitter
    Whatsapp
    Telegram
    Copy link

Data privacy laws in Indonesia

    By Agus Ahadi Deradjat, Kevin Omar Sidharta and Mahiswara Timur, ABNR
    0
    277

    A good understanding of data privacy frameworks is crucial in Asia. while the laws in the region share similar elements, gaps remain as privacy compliance culture is relatively new and jurisdictions vary in their approaches. Here, experts spell out how the Philippines, Thailand and Indonesia have built their legal frameworks governing personal data


    Indonesia

    Philippines

    Thailand

     

    The development of information technology and increased user engagement in digital media have increased people’s awareness of entitlement to a fundamental human right: personal privacy. Personal data protection has become urgent, given the vast use and exploitation of personal data, which places a growing premium on privacy.

    Agus Ahadi Deradjat, Partner, ABNR, Jakarta
    Agus Ahadi Deradjat
    Partner at ABNR in Jakarta
    Email: aderadjat@abnrlaw.com

    In Indonesia, personal data protection regulations are scattered, and can be found in the Law on Electronic Information and Transactions (EIT Law), health and medical records regulations, and demographic administrative law. Currently, the EIT Law and its implementation regulations have become the main reference for personal data protection in electronic systems, applicable to various sectors. However, there is now an urgent need for a consistent regulatory and legal umbrella to address the matter.

    The Indonesian government is addressing the growing importance of personal data protection in the digital age by drafting a bill (the PDP Bill), which is currently being finalised. The PDP Bill has been designed to become the overarching privacy law in Indonesia. Based on the EU’s General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), the PDP Bill has made some significant and much-needed changes to data privacy protection, and will bring it more in line with standards currently applied by other countries, especially the GDPR. Significant adjustments made to the PDP Bill are outlined below.

    Classification of personal data

    The EIT Law, Government Regulation No. 71 of 2019 on the Provision of Electronic Systems and Transactions (GR 71), and the Minister of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT) Regulation No. 20 of 2016 on Personal Data Protection in Electronic Systems (MR 20/2016) do not definitively describe personal data. It is broadly defined as “any data related to a person, whether identified or capable of being identified using that data, or in combination with other information, whether directly or indirectly, through the use of an electronic system and/or non-electronic means.”

    In the upcoming PDP Bill, personal data is classified into general personal data, which includes name, gender, nationality, religion, and other data combined to identify an individual; and specific personal data, which includes health, biometric, genetic, political views, criminal record, personal financial data, sexual orientation, child data, and other data in accordance with the laws and regulations.

    However, regardless of the classification, the PDP Bill does not differentiate between requirements for processing general personal and specific personal data. Thus, the implementing regulations of the PDP Bill and sectoral regulations that follow may need to set out detailed provisions on this matter.

    Data controller v data processor

    Currently, Indonesian law and regulations do not differentiate between a data controller and processor. Consequently, parties that handle personal data are exposed to the same liability and obligations, regardless of their actual role in the data processing.

    This issue is addressed in the PDP Bill, which separates the data controller and processor roles, as in the GDPR. The PDP Bill defines a data controller as a party that determines the purpose and controls personal data processing, while a data processor is defined as one that processes personal data on behalf of a data controller.

    The PDP Bill further distinguishes liability, as that for personal data processing is borne by the data controller, instead of a processor. However, a data processor would be liable for processing that deviates from an instruction, order, or purpose pre-determined by the data controller, which means the role of the former would be tantamount to that of a data controller.

    Kevin Omar Sidharta, Partner, ABNR, Jakarta
    Kevin Omar Sidharta
    Partner at ABNR in Jakarta
    Email: ksidarta@abnrlaw.com

    Lawful basis

    Pursuant to GR 71, express consent will be mandatory from anyone whose personal data is processed. Currently, Indonesian law and regulations do not operate on this basis, except for law enforcement matters. This requirement is deemed burdensome by businesses, as they would be required to obtain express consent from data subjects, which might sometimes be reasonably deemed as already implied or not feasible to obtain.

    The PDP Bill has adopted principles akin to those of the GDPR, where consent is only one of several requirements for the lawful processing of personal data. The PDP Bill has introduced exceptions for personal data processing without consent similar to GDPR provisions:

    (1) For the performance of a contract to which the data subject is a party, or in order to fulfil a request of the data subject prior to entering into the contract;

    (2) To comply with an obligation that is imposed on a data controller by law;

    (3) To fulfil the vital interests of the data subject;

    (4) For the exercise of authority vested in the data controller by law;

    (5) For the fulfilment of a public service obligation to which the data controller is subject in the public interest; and/or

    (6) For the pursuit of a legitimate interest of the data controller or the data subject.

    The exception for mandatory consent requirement under the PDP Bill contradicts the provisions of GR 71. However, as the PDP law will occupy a superior position in the regulatory hierarchy than GR 71, it is likely that its provisions will supersede those of GR 71, including those on the lawful basis for personal data processing.

    Cross-border data transfer

    Pursuant to MR 20/2016, cross-border transfer of personal data is not restricted, as long as the transfer has been consented to by the data subject, and is subject to co-ordination with the MCIT or other relevant authorities. Based on the current policy at the MCIT, mandatory co-ordination will be implemented via the submission of an annual report.

    The PDP Bill introduces new requirements on controller-to-controller, cross-border personal data transfer, which will be subject to the following conditions:

    (1) The partner country has a personal data protection level that is equal to or higher than the provisions in the PDP Bill;

    (2) An international agreement exists between the countries;

    (3) A contract between data controllers that covers personal data protection matters; and/or

    (4) Consent from the data subject.

    However, the above provisions do not apply to controller-to-processor, cross-border personal data transfer.

    Data breach

    Upon the occurrence of a data breach, GR 71 and MR 20/2016 requires electronic systems operators to report the breach to the MCIT and law enforcement agencies immediately at the first opportunity and notify the data subject within 14 days of the discovery of the breach.

    The PDP Bill also specifies detailed requirements on reporting obligations, which also apply to electronic and conventional personal data processing. Under the PDP Bill, a data controller must, within 72 hours, notify in writing the data subject and the MCIT of a failure to protect personal data. The notification must detail:

    (i) the compromised data;

    (ii) when and how the data was compromised; and

    (iii) management and recovery efforts.

    Mahiswara Timur, Associate, ABNR, Jakarta
    Mahiswara Timur
    Associate at ABNR in Jakarta
    Email: mtimur@abnrlaw.com

    Data protection officer

    The PDP Bill also introduces an obligation to appoint a data protection officer, for data controllers and processors that meet the following criteria:

    Data processing is for the purpose of providing public services;

    The data controller’s main activity requires large-scale, frequent, and systematic monitoring of personal data;

    The data controller’s core activity involves processing of a specific personal data in a large scale and/or personal data related to criminal activity.

    Data protection officers must be appointed on the basis of professional qualification, legal knowledge, and practice experience in data privacy. However, the PDP Bill does not stipulate specific mandatory qualifications, skills, or educational background. Generally, their role is to protect and ensure the security of personal data processed by a data controller or processor.

    Conclusion

    Although the PDP Bill is on the priority list for legislation, it is unclear when it will be issued and promulgated as law. Its finalisation may be delayed as the government is still focused on handling the coronavirus pandemic in Indonesia.

    The bill is highly anticipated by businesses in Indonesia, as comprehensive and consistent personal data regulation are a crucial aspect of their activities. As business has already become fundamentally more cross-border in nature, the PDP Bill is viewed as more compatible with international standards, an unavoidable consequence of doing business in this era of ever-increasing, globalised digitisation.

    ALI-BUDIARDJO,-NUGROHO,-REKSODIPUTRO-(ABNR)-Indonesia-legal-firm

    Ali Budiardjo Nugroho Reksodiputro Counsellors at Law (ABNR)

    Graha CIMB Niaga, 24/F

    Jl. Jend. Sudirman, Kav. 58

    Jakarta – 12190, Indonesia

    Tel: +62 21 250 5125/5136

    Email: info@abnrlaw.com

     

    www.abnrlaw.com