巴西改变政策 友待投资外商

作者: Rafael de Moraes Amorim, Vieira Rezende Barbosa e Guerreiro Advogados
0
637
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

巴西因其经济高速增长的潜力,在过去三年中备受世界关注,加之其在世界上名列前茅的高利率水平,巴西吸引了大量生产性投资与投机性投资。

Rafael-de-Moraes-Amorim-Partner-Vieira-Rezende-Barbosa-e-Guerreiro
Rafael de Moraes Amorim
Partner
Vieira, Rezende, Barbosa e Guerreiro Advogados

巴西货币受到外商境内投资的影响而快速升值。

这一情势对巴西而言是把双刃剑。一方面,巴西出口企业已经受过全球经济危机的严重冲击,而货币升值更使这些出口企业的处境雪上加霜。另一方面,外商对巴西生产性行业和基建项目的投资令该国获益良多。

面对如此种种,巴西政府的举措显出其对外资的大量涌入准备不足。巴西经济部为保护巴西货币及本地企业,对涌入的外国投资加重了征税。

巴西政府对货币兑换征收金融交易税(IOF),并利用该税监管市场。巴西政府起初曾一度针对某些类型的交易,将金融交易税税率提高至2%,不仅打击了投机资本,也同时打击了外商在生产领域的
投资。

这一举措并未成功,但巴西政府非但不反省自己策略失当,反而又对两种类型的交易将金融交易税税率提高至6%。

外商私募股权投资遭受的打击最为严重。这一类型的投资通常是通过巴西的私募股权投资基金(FIP)进入巴西的。

但事实上,FIP基金在业界广受好评。FIP的投资对象通常是那些有良好增长潜质或者管理层重组后能大大提高效率的企业,因此通过FIP基金进入巴西的投资对该国大有裨益。

近年来,巴西政府似乎也已经注意到,其用以保护本国货币及控制投机资本的措施成效寥寥。于是巴西经济部突然转变话锋,开始称赞外国投资者对巴西经济的发展至关重要。为了鼓励投资,对以下几种情况的外商投资交易,金融交易税税率被降至0%:

  • 外国投资者以货币兑换结算从境外输入资金,是投资于股票证券、期货及商品交易的(某些金融衍生产品的交易除外);
  • 外国投资者以货币兑换结算向巴西输入资金,是用于购买已在证券交易委员会登记或可豁免登记的公开发行股份,或是用于认购股份的(但两种情况中,公司必须已登记可在证券交易所进行交易);
  • 外国投资者以货币兑换结算向巴西输入资金,包括形式性货币兑换,从私募股权投资基金FIP、创业投资基金FIEE、以FIP和FIEE为成分基金的投资基金购买配额;
  • 外国投资者通过取消存托凭证,以形式性货币兑换结算的方式输入资金,是投资于在证券交易所从事股权
    交易的;
  • 以形式性货币兑换结算向巴西输入资金,是根据国家货币委员会的规定,通过外商投资机制的转变而来的——从基于4.131/62号法令的直接投资(RDE-IED)转变为在证券交易所从事股权交易投资(RDE-Portfolio);
  • 某些合资格的外国投资者以货币兑换结算向巴西输入资金,是用于购买基建项目投资公司发行的债券或证券的;以及
  • 以外汇兑换结算,退还外国投资者投资的资金。

虽然金融交易税税率的升降幅度尚欠考虑,从而为外国投资者造成了法律上的不确定性,但巴西政府的上述举措仍然值得称道。巴西政府似乎已经意识到,打击其力图吸引的投资者,并非有利可图的明智之举。

鼓励出口

巴西政府除了降低金融交易税税率,还设计了一份独特的方案,不仅能惠及巴西出口企业,还能惠及正在巴西设立出口平台的外国投资者。

这一方案名为REINTEGRA,已包含在最近出台的法令中。制订这一新方案是为了可以退还企业在供应各环节产生的税款。

巴西工业的总体竞争力在过去数年不断衰退。这是由多方面因素造成的,其中两大因素分别为巴西货币升值,以及从基本原材料采购到最终制成品出售的经济各环节所背负的沉重课税。

根据巴西某工业联盟最近所做的研究,巴西钢铁的价格之所以高于其他国家制造的钢铁,仅仅是因为生产各环节的税负过重。

基于这份研究报告以及工业界提出的其他抗议,巴西政府制订了REINTEGRA方案。方案适用的出口商品已列于相应法令的附件中,退还金额相当与商品出口所得收入的3%。企业可根据国家税务局制定的条款,经准确计算金额后,要求政府以现金形式退还税款,或要求减免国家税务局规定的应缴税款。REINTEGRA是一份适用于出口商品的临时方案,有效期截至2012年12月31日。

Rafael de Moraes Amorim是挪威威宝律师事务所的合作律所Vieira, Rezende, Barbosa e Guerreiro Advogados的合伙人

Wikborg-Rein

上海市卢湾区淮海中路300号
香港新世界大厦1902室

邮编: 200021

 

电话: +86 21 6339 0101

传真: +86 21 6339 0606

 

电子信箱:

gsv@wrco.com.cn

 

www.wr.no

 

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

Brazil backtracks on measures hostile to foreign investment

By Rafael de Moraes Amorim, Vieira Rezende Barbosa e Guerreiro Advogados
0
478
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

In the last three years Brazil has gained world attention due to its potential for high economic growth. This status, combined with one of the highest interest rates in the world, has attracted both productive and speculative investment.

Rafael-de-Moraes-Amorim-Partner-Vieira-Rezende-Barbosa-e-Guerreiro-Advogados
Rafael de Moraes Amorim
Partner
Vieira Rezende Barbosa e Guerreiro Advogados

Inbound investment has affected the Brazilian currency, which has appreciated rapidly. This situation has been both positive and negative for Brazil.

The appreciation of the Brazilian currency generates losses for exporting companies, which were substantially affected by the global financial crisis. On the other hand, the incoming funds for investment in productive sectors and infrastructure projects have been very welcome.

In these circumstances the Brazilian government has shown itself to be ill-prepared for the huge inflow of funds. Motivated by a desire to protect the Brazilian currency and local business, the Ministry of Economy has increased the taxes paid on inflowing foreign investment.

The tax on financial transactions (IOF) is charged on exchange operations and is used to regulate the market. The government initially raised the rate to 2% on several types of transaction, hitting not only speculative capital but also investments in the productive sectors.

This measure was not successful, but instead of reviewing the strategy, the Brazilian government increased the rate on two more occasions, reaching 6%.

A sector that was substantially affected is foreign private equity investments, which normally entered Brazil through specific funds called Fundo de Investimento em Participações (FIP).

This is despite the fact that FIPs are widely viewed as positive. FIPs generally invest in companies that have good potential for growth or can achieve greater efficiencies through management restructuring. Consequently, inflows of this nature are positive for the country.

Recently the government seems to have noticed that the measures to protect the currency and control speculative capital had not had the desired effect.

The minister of economy suddenly altered his tone and said that foreign investors are very important for Brazilian growth. To encourage investment, the IOF rate was reduced to 0% on the inflow of funds on several transactions, including the following:

  • settlement of exchange transactions by foreign investors relating to transfer of resources from abroad for investment in the stock exchange or futures and commodities exchanges, except for certain derivative transactions;
  • settlement of exchange transactions by foreign investors on the entry of resources into the country for the acquisition of shares in a public offering registered or exempted from registration with the Securities and Exchange Commission or for the subscription of shares, provided that in both cases the companies are registered for trading on stock exchanges;
  • settlement of exchange transactions by foreign investors for the entry of resources into the country, including by means of symbolic exchange transactions for the acquisition of quotas of private equity funds (FIPs), venture funds (FIEEs) and investment funds;
  • settlement of symbolic exchange transactions for the inflow of resources through the cancellation of depositary receipts for investment in shares traded on stock exchanges;
  • settlement of symbolic exchange operations for the inflow into the country of resources from the migration of regime by the foreign investor from direct investment based on Law 4.131/62 (RDE-IED) to investment in shares traded on stock exchanges (RDE-Portfolio), as regulated by the National Monetary Council;
  • settlement of exchange transactions by certain foreign qualified investors for the inflow of funds into the country for the acquisition of bonds or securities issued by companies investing in infrastructure projects; and
  • settlement of foreign exchange transactions for the return of funds invested by foreign investors.

Despite the legal uncertainty for foreign investors caused by the ill-considered increases and decreases in the IOF rate, the measures above deserve applause.

The government appears to have realized that it is not commercially prudent to attack investors whom it is trying to attract.

Encouraging exports

Besides the reduction in the IOF rate, the Brazilian government also created an interesting regime to benefit Brazilian exporting companies, and that regime also benefits foreign investors that are setting up export platforms in Brazil.

It is named REINTEGRA and was recently the subject of a decree. The objective of the new rule is to allow the reimbursement of certain tax costs related to items in the supply chain of those companies.

Brazilian industry as a whole has become less competitive over the past few years due to a combination of factors, especially because of the appreciation of the currency and high taxation within the economic chain (from the purchase of basic raw materials to the sale of final manufactured items).

A recent study prepared by a Brazilian industrial federation disclosed that the Brazilian steel is more expensive than steel manufactured in other parts of the world only because of the high amount of taxes levied on the production chain.

Based on that and on other representations made by industry, the government created REINTEGRA. The exported items that are included in the programme are listed in an annex to the decree and the amount is calculated as 3% of revenues derived from the export of goods. Companies can request a refund in cash based on the correctly calculated amount under the terms established by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), or to offset against taxes imposed by the IRS.

REINTEGRA is a temporary programme which will be applied to exports made until 31 December 2012.

Rafael de Moraes Amorim is a partner of Vieira Rezende Barbosa e Guerreiro Advogados, a law firm that is in alliance with Wikborg Rein

Wikborg-Rein

1902 Hong Kong New World Tower,
300 Huai Hai Middle Road, Shanghai

Postal code: 200021

Tel: +86 21 6339 0101

Fax: +86 21 6339 0606

E-mail:

gsv@wrco.com.cn

www.wr.no

 

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link