前路漫漫

0
236
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

当世界幻作一辆经济和政治形势的无序之列时,你更愿意成为司机还是乘客?要稳坐驾驶座位,需要智慧、视野、经验和决心。在本期中,我们将讨论变与不变,并与读者分享商事活动的最佳辅助和实践,以在面对重重外部障碍时确保营运的稳定和成功。

为迎接挑战,在中国法律市场激烈的竞争环境中,律师事务所最大限度地发挥潜力、扩大业务范围和深度、优化管理结构,从而提高服务能力。

在封面故事中,本刊向读者呈献我们的年度“商法卓越律所大奖”,表彰业务成绩突出的中外律师事务所,展示最优秀的法律服务供应商如何助力客户完成每项交易。

一如既往,为了忠实地甄选出各细分领域下于2022年表现最为突出的律所,我们坚持独立、客观和公正的原则,广泛收集申报资料,并聆听业界反馈,进行了长达数月的调研和评价,最终收集到数百份参选资料及数以千计来自企业高管、法务和资深律师的评价意见。评选全程不涉及任何费用。

在危急时刻,往往需要企业做出根本性的转变,并主动回应,直面难题。在《反客为主》中,君正物流首席合规官兼法务部总经理徐婕和瀛泰律师事务所上海合伙人王雁撰文,分享她们协助企业将其从美国制裁名单中移除的真实经历,并呼吁面对国际制裁的中国企业不必轻言放弃,而应了解所有可行的应对方案,并主动反击。

在技术领域,重新掌控局面对于当下的法律行业而言,更为关键,因为人工智能已然席卷了几乎所有领域。同时,社会在为新技术欢呼之余,也不免出现担忧;我们需要思考如何让新技术得到利用,避免它被滥用。在《当ChatGPT遇上法律》中,加密货币交易所CoinDCX的法务总监Shalini Saxena试着探索这个未知的世界,并梳理我们迄今为止对于ChatGPT所了解到的真相。

从长远看,颠覆现有秩序的能力常常是受到看似无关的灵感滋养而生的。本刊发起了一项针对中国业务年度“法律精英”的调查,面向150名在国内律所与120名来自外资律所的律师,基于此,《艺术启迪法律》揭晓了法律精英的一些灵感来源——他们喜欢的书籍、电影或音乐。他们从中拓展知识,提升自己对不同文化、观点和经验的认识与欣赏;又或者有时候,这只是为了好玩。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

The road ahead

0
499
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

When the world is on a careering vehicle of economic and political caprice, would you prefer to be the driver or passenger? Being in the driver’s seat requires intelligence, perspective, experience and determination. In this issue, we discuss change and permanence, and share with our readers the best aids and practices to help us secure stability and success amid the various external impediments we face.

Rising to the challenges, the best legal advisers demonstrate a reliable and steadfast level of service, with gratefully received assurance for companies. As we witness, law firms keep maximising their potential to expand business scope and depth, optimising management structures and enhancing service capabilities, all while operating in the fiercely competitive environment of China’s legal market.

In our cover story, we present China Business Law Awards 2023, our annual selection of top-performing Chinese and international law firms, showcasing how best-in-class legal advisers steer their clients through every transaction.

As always, we conducted extensive research and evaluation to accurately identify the top-performing firms in each field for 2022. From months of collecting law firm submissions and soliciting industry feedback, we received hundreds of submissions and thousands of comments from corporate executives, in-house counsel and senior practitioners. The selection process was entirely fee-free.

Dire times often require fundamental changes and proactive responses that tackle tough issues head on. In Call to action, Judith Xu, chief compliance officer and legal director at Junzheng Logistics, and Vicky Wang, a Shanghai-based partner at Wintell & Co, share their real experience in removing their company from the US sanctions list, and advocate that Chinese companies should take note of all available options to fight back, rather than offer passive acceptance.

In the tech sphere, regaining control is now all the more crucial for the legal industry, as artificial intelligence sweeps through almost every walk of life. There are concerns alongside the excitement, and we all need to start thinking about how best to leverage this new technology while discouraging misuse. In ChatGPT and Legal, expert Shalini Saxena, the head of legal at crypto firm CoinDCX, takes a look down the rabbit hole and navigates us through what we know so far.

Taking a long-term view, the ability to upend the prevailing order is often nurtured by unrelated inspiration. Based on our survey of the annual A-List selection of top legal talent for China-related business, including 150 lawyers working in PRC law firms and 120 from international firms, Law imitates art reveals some of this inspiration – the favourite books, films or music of our legal elites, from which they expand their knowledge and appreciate different cultures, perspectives and experiences. Sometimes, inspiration can also be fun.

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link