网络安全法规之比较:台湾

    作者: 曾更莹、简维克、陈佳菁和黄耀赏,理律法律事务所
    0
    78

    中国大陆

    印度

    印尼

     

    台湾主要政府机构和大公司网站经常面临网络攻击,作为回应,行政院(内阁)刚刚成立一个全新机构——数位发展部,监督并规范网络安全。自8月27日起,数位发展部还将监督数字技术的开发,包括电子商务、电子签名、电子政务、数据治理,等等。

    网络安全法律

    在台湾,《资通安全管理法》是调整网络安全的主要立法。但是,该法仅适用于政府机构和特定非政府机构,包括关键基础设施提供者、国有企业和受政府资助的基金会。

    Tseng Ken-Ying, Lee and Li
    曾更莹
    合伙人
    台北理律法律事务所
    电话:+886 2 2763 8000 ext. 2179
    电子信箱:kenying@leeandli.com

    除适用于金融机构或电信运营商等特定行业部门的具体网络安全要求外,台湾并无普遍适用于所有非政府实体的网络安全要求。

    受该法约束的所有机构必须按照各自的网络安全责任等级,制定、实施网络安全维护计划,并建立网络安全事件报告和响应机制。

    网络安全事件必须在发现后的1个小时内报告,而且根据严重程度,所有损害控制或恢复措施必须在发现后的36至72小时内完成。

    该法进一步授权负责相关行业的中央主管机关颁布针对受其监管的特定非政府机构的网络安全事务监管指引,指引应提及并推荐ISO/IEC 27001国际信息安全管理标准项下的相关要求。

    为加强网络安全保障,行政院还制定了指引,以限制政府机构、公立学校、国有企业和行政法人使用可能危害国家安全的信息通信技术产品。政府机构还必须敦促其所监督的关键基础设施提供者和受政府资助的基金会遵守该等指引。

    根据指引第3、4点,行政院可公布被禁止信息通信技术产品和服务名单,要求相关实体不得采购或使用。

    台湾最近发生了一起涉及电子标识的黑客事件。随后,经济部颁布了营业场所电子标识网络安全指引,禁止电子标识使用中国大陆开发的任何软件,并规定企业经营者不得使用中国大陆制造的电子标识。

    网络犯罪

    不同网络犯罪行为违反不同的台湾法律,主要包括但不限于:

    • Vick Chien, Lee and Li
      简维克
      初级合伙人
      台北理律法律事务所
      电话:+886 2 2763 8000 ext. 2214
      电子信箱:vickchien@leeandli.com

      《刑法》第358至362条禁止某些类型的网络犯罪,如:无正当理由,非法侵入他人计算机和/或相关设备(如钓鱼式攻击);无正当理由,使用计算机程序或其他电磁技术(如阻断服务攻击或恶意软件)干扰他人计算机和/或相关设备;制作专门用于实施上述犯罪行为的计算机程序。

    • 《刑法》其他相关条款为:第210条(伪造罪);第309至313条(妨害名誉及信用罪);第315或318-1条(妨害秘密罪);第339-3条(诈欺罪);第346条(勒索罪);第352条(毁弃损坏财物罪)。
    • 此外,《个人资料保护法》第41、42条规定了对侵犯个人资料违法行为的惩罚;《著作权法》第93、93条意在打击侵犯著作权的行为;《电信法》全面禁止未经授权访问或使用他人电信设施;《通讯保障及监察法》第24条全面禁止非法监测通信的行为。

    如上所列,根据与行为有关的实际事实,对网络安全有不利影响或威胁的任何活动均可视为构成了一项或多项刑事犯罪。

    刑事犯罪适用于台湾境内的行为和/或人,或刑事犯罪后果所在的地点,台湾法院对此有管辖权。

    个人数据保护

    Winona Chen, Lee and Li
    陈佳菁
    初级合伙人
    理律法律事务所
    电话:+886 2 2763 8000 ext. 2328
    电子信箱:winonachen@leeandli.com

    《个人资料保护法》是调整在台湾收集、处理和使用个人数据行为的一般性法律。

    就数据泄露通知而言,《个人资料保护法》第12条规定,如发生个人数据被盗、泄露、篡改事件或其他侵害事件,数据控制者必须在调查事件后,以适当方式通知受影响的数据主体。

    对于数据安全义务,该法第27条第1款规定,数据控制者应实施适当措施以防止个人数据被盗、篡改、损坏、毁损、灭失或泄露。

    《个人资料保护法施行细则》第12条第2款进一步规定了某些技术和组织措施,数据控制者可根据比例原则(即根据所涉及的个人数据的质量和数量)予以采用。

    严格而言,《个人资料保护法》及施行细则均未强制要求数据控制者实施一定的安全措施。是否采用特定安全措施由数据控制者酌情决定。

    然而,按照该法第27条第2款,中央主管机关可指定并要求受其监督的一个或多个行业部门,并要求它们制定个人数据档案安全维护计划。

    2020年起,为了敦促各部委监督受其监管的非政府机构,行政院多次召集和主持了定期协调会议。

    为了确保数据泄露报告和报告期限的一致性,2021年2月3日的一份会议决议明文规定,各部委应修订针对受其监督的特定行业部门的现行法规,要求非政府机构在72小时内使用所规定的报告格式,向中央主管机关报告数据泄露事件。

    2021年8月,行政院进一步制定了实行个人数据保护的合作规范指引,规定各部委应修订针对受其监督的特定行业部门的现行数据保护法规,要求通过IT系统收集、处理或使用个人数据的非政府机构采取更多措施确保信息安全。

    该指引还规定,各部委应定期认真研究是否有必要制定针对受其监督的特定行业部门的新的数据保护法规,而该决定应考虑非政府机构的规模、它们所保留的个人数据的数量或性质、数据泄露对数据主体的潜在影响、跨境数据传输的频率等因素。

    公司治理

    Sam Huang, Lee and Li
    黄耀赏
    资深律师
    理律法律事务所
    电话:+886 2 2763 8000 ext. 2360
    电子信箱: samhuang@leeandli.com

    在台湾,董事向公司承担受信义务,一旦违反该义务将被追究责任。但是,公司未能防止、减轻、管理或响应网络安全事件,并不一定能断定董事违反了受信义务。

    相反,这取决于事件是否已向董事会报告,以及董事会是否必须采取行动。

    另一方面,除金融机构等特定行业部门外,台湾法律并不要求公司任命首席信息安全官(CISO)。

    不过,金融监督管理委员会现在规定,在台湾证券交易所(TWSE)或台北证券柜台买卖中心(TPEx)上市的下列公司应于2022年12月31日前,任命一名CISO负责实施信息安全政策,并应成立由至少一名负责人和两名员工组成的部门,专门负责信息安全事务:实收资本为100亿新台币(3.252亿美元)或以上的公司;上年度终了时TWSE台湾50指数的成分公司;主要从事电子商务的公司。该委员会给予其他TWSE或TPEx上市公司更大的自由空间,规定它们应在2023年12月31日前任命一位CISO,该CISO手下至少有一名员工专门负责信息安全,但最近三年亏损或每股净值低于每股票面价值的公司除外。

    Lee and Li Logo

    LEE AND LI
    8/F No.555, Sec. 4, Zhongxiao E. Rd.
    Taipei – 11072, Taiwan
    电话: +886 2 2763 8000
    电邮: attorneys@leeandli.com

    www.leeandli.com

A comparison of cybersecurity regulations: Taiwan

    By Tseng Ken-Ying, Vick Chien, Winona Chen, and Sam Huang, Lee and Li
    0
    77

    CHINA

    INDIA

    INDONESIA

    Websites of major Taiwanese government agencies and large companies frequently face cyberattacks and, in response, the Executive Yuan (cabinet) has just established a brand new agency overseeing and regulating cybersecurity, the Ministry of Digital Affairs (MoDA).

    Commencing operations on 27 August, the MoDA also oversees overall digital developments including e-commerce, electronic signatures, e-government and data governance, among others.

    CYBERSECURITY LAWS

    Tseng Ken-Ying, Lee and Li
    Tseng Ken-Ying
    Partner
    Lee and Li
    Tel: +886 2 2763 8000 ext. 2179
    Email: kenying@leeandli.com

    The Cybersecurity Management Act is the primary legislation governing cybersecurity in Taiwan. But the act only applies to government agencies and specific non-government agencies including critical infrastructure providers, state-owned businesses and government-sponsored foundations.

    Other than specific cybersecurity requirements applicable to specific industry sectors such as financial institutions or telecommunications operators, there are no cybersecurity requirements generally applicable to all non-government entities.

    All agencies subject to the act must establish and implement their own cybersecurity maintenance plans according to their cybersecurity responsibility levels, and set up a reporting and response mechanism for cybersecurity incidents.

    Cybersecurity incidents must be reported within one hour of discovery, and all measures for damage control or recovery must be completed within 36 to 72 hours of discovery, depending on the severity level.

    The act further authorises central competent authorities in charge of the relevant industries to promulgate regulatory guidelines on cybersecurity matters for specific non-government agencies under their supervision, in which relevant requirements under ISO/IEC 27001 international standards on information security management are referred to and recommended.

    To strengthen cybersecurity safeguards, the Executive Yuan also stipulated guidelines restricting government agencies, public schools, state-owned businesses and administrative legal persons from using information and communications technology products that may endanger national cybersecurity. Government agencies are also required to urge critical infrastructure providers and government-sponsored foundations under their supervision to comply with the guidelines.

    Under points 3 and 4 of the guidelines, the Executive Yuan may announce a list of banned brands of information and communications technology products and services that relevant entities shall not procure or use.

    Following a recent hacking incident involving electronic signage, the Ministry of Economic Affairs promulgated guidelines on the cybersecurity management of on-premises electronic signage that prohibit electronic signage from using any Chinese-developed software and require that business operators avoid using Chinese-made electronic signage.

    CYBERCRIME

    Vick Chien, Lee and Li
    Vick Chien
    Associate partner
    Lee and Li
    Tel: +886 2 2763 8000 ext. 2214
    Email: vickchien@leeandli.com

    Different cybercrime acts violate different Taiwanese laws, mainly including but not limited to the following:

    • Articles 358 to 362 of the Criminal Code prohibit certain types of cybercrime such as: hacking into someone else’s computer and/or ancillary equipment without justification; obtaining, deleting or altering any electromagnetic records stored in the computer and/or ancillary equipment without justification (such as phishing); interfering with someone else’s computer and/or ancillary equipment without justification by using any computer program or other electromagnetic technology (such as denial-of-service attacks or malware); and creating any computer program specifically to commit these offences.
    • Other relevant articles in the code are: article 210 (offence of forgery); articles 309 to 313 (offences against reputation and credit); article 315 or article 318-1 (offences against privacy); article 339-3 (offence of fraudulence); article 346 (offence of extortion); and article 352 (offence of destruction and damage of property).
    • Articles 41 and 42 of the Personal Data Protection Act, meanwhile, address the offence of personal data infringement; articles 92 and 93 of the Copyright Act counter copyright infringement; article 56 of the Telecommunications Act outlaws unauthorised access or use of another person’s telecoms facilities; and article 24 of the Communication Security and Surveillance Act outlaws illegal communication surveillance.

    Any activity that adversely affects or threatens cybersecurity may be deemed as constituting one or more criminal offences, as listed above, depending on the actual facts concerning such activity.

    The criminal offences apply to conduct and/or persons, or place of cybercrime, within the territory of Taiwan, and Taiwan courts have jurisdiction.

    PERSONAL DATA PROTECTION

    Winona Chen, Lee and Li
    Winona Chen
    Associate partner
    Lee and Li
    Tel: +886 2 2763 8000 ext. 2328
    Email: winonachen@leeandli.com

    The Personal Data Protection Act is the general statute regulating the collection, processing and use of personal data in Taiwan.

    On data breach notification, article 12 of the act stipulates that if there is an incident under which personal data is stolen, disclosed, altered or infringed, the data controller is required to notify the affected data subjects in an appropriate manner after investigating the incident.

    As for data security obligations, paragraph 1, article 27 of the act requires data controllers to have appropriate measures in place to prevent personal data from being stolen, altered, damaged, destroyed, lost or disclosed.

    Paragraph 2, article 12 of the enforcement rules of the act further provides certain technical and organisational measures that data controllers may consider adopting based on the principle of proportionality, i.e., based on the quality and quantity of the personal data involved.

    Strictly speaking, neither the PDPA nor its enforcement rules mandatorily require data controllers to have certain security measures in place. It is up to a data controller’s discretion whether to adopt a specific security measure.

    Nonetheless, according to paragraph 2, article 27 of the act, the central competent authorities may designate one or more industry sectors under their supervision, and require them to set up a security maintenance plan for personal data files.

    To urge ministries and commissions to implement supervision of non-government agencies under their watch, the Executive Yuan has convened and hosted regular collaborative meetings since 2020.

    A meeting resolution dated 3 February 2021, to ensure consistent reporting and the timeline for data breaches, explicitly required ministries and commissions to amend their existing data protection regulations for specific industry sectors under their supervision, thereby requiring non-government agencies to report data breaches to central competent authorities within 72 hours, by using reporting forms provided.

    In August 2021, the Executive Yuan further stipulated collaborative practice guidelines on the implementation of personal data protection that required ministries and commissions to amend their existing data protection regulations for specific industry sectors under their supervision, thereby requiring non-government agencies using IT systems to collect, process or use personal data to adopt additional measures to ensure information security.

    The guidelines also required ministries and commissions to review the necessity of stipulating new data protection regulations for specific industry sectors under their supervision regularly, taking into consideration the scale of non-government agencies, the quantity or nature of personal data they retain, the potential impact on data subjects as a result of data breach, the frequency of cross-border data transfer, and other factors.

    CORPORATE GOVERNANCE

    Sam Huang, Lee and Li
    Sam Huang
    Senior attorney
    Lee and Li
    Tel: +886 2 2763 8000 ext. 2360
    mail: samhuang@leeandli.com

    In Taiwan, directors bear a fiduciary duty to the company and will be held liable if they breach this duty. But a company’s failure to prevent, mitigate, manage or respond to a cybersecurity incident may not necessarily conclude that its directors have breached their fiduciary duty.

    Rather, it would depend on whether the incident should have been reported to the board of directors, and whether the board would be required to take any action.

    On the other hand, Taiwan law does not require a company to appoint a chief information security officer (CISO), except in specific industry sectors such as financial institutions.

    However, the Financial Supervisory Commission now requires the following companies listed on the Taiwan Stock Exchange (TWSE) or the Taipei Exchange (TPEx) to designate a CISO, responsible for implementing information security policy and establish a department with at least an officer and two staff members dedicated to information security before 31 December 2022: Companies with paid-in capital of NTD10 billion (USD325.2 million) or more; those constituting the TWSE Taiwan 50 Index at the end of the previous year; and companies mainly conducting e-commerce.

    Other TWSE or TPEx listed companies are given more leeway, requiring them to have a CISO with at least one staff member dedicated to information security before 31 December 2023 unless they have sustained losses in the past three years, or their net value per share is lower than the par value per share.

    Lee and Li Logo

    LEE AND LI
    8/F No.555, Sec. 4, Zhongxiao E. Rd.
    Taipei – 11072, Taiwan
    Tel: +886 2 2763 8000
    Email: attorneys@leeandli.com

    www.leeandli.com