如何评估经营者集中竞争影响? 商务部出台暂行规定

0
573
MOFCOM
LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

2011年8月29日,商务部公布《关于评估经营者集中竞争影响的暂行规定》,以规范经营者集中反垄断审查的竞争影响评估,指导经营者做好经营者集中申报工作。《暂行规定》依据《反垄断法》、《经营者集中申报办法》和《经营者集中审查办法》而制定,自2011年9月5日起施行。

审查经营者集中应考虑的因素。审查经营者集中,应根据个案具体情况,综合考虑“参与集中的经营者在相关市场的市场份额及其对市场的控制力”、“相关市场的市场集中度”、“经营者集中对市场进入、技术进步的影响”、“经营者集中对消费者和其他相关经营者的影响”、“经营者集中对国民经济发展的影响”等影响市场竞争的因素。

市场份额和市场集中度。《暂行规定》明确了如何在评估经营者集中竞争影响时分析市场份额和市场集中度的作用。市场份额直接反映了相关市场结构、经营者及其竞争者在相关市场中的地位。通常相关市场的市场集中度越高,集中后市场集中度的增量越大,集中产生排除、限制竞争效果的可能性越大。

应考虑的其他因素。《暂行规定》要求,评估经营者集中时,还需综合考虑集中对公共利益的影响、集中对经济效率的影响、参与集中的经营者是否为濒临破产的企业、是否存在抵消性买方力量等因素。

决定是否禁止经营者集中的判断标准。根据《暂行规定》,若经营者集中具有或可能具有排除、限制竞争的效果,商务部应当作出禁止经营者集中的决定。但是,若经营者能够证明该集中对竞争产生的有利影响明显大于不利影响,或者符合社会公共利益,则商务部可以作出对经营者集中不予禁止的决定。另外,对于不予禁止的经营者集中,商务部可以决定附加旨在减少集中对竞争产生不利影响的限制性条件。

《商法摘要》由海问律师事务所协助提供,内容仅供参考之用。读者如欲开展与本栏内容相关之工作,须寻求专业法律意见。海问律师事务所联系方式:baochen@haiwen-law.com。

LinkedIn
Facebook
Twitter
Whatsapp
Telegram
Copy link

MOFCOM unveils rules on concentrations of business operators

0
208
MOFCOM

On 29 August, the Ministry of Commerce (MOFCOM) published the Assessment of the Impact on Competition of Concentrations of Business Operators Interim Provisions, which govern the competition impact assessment that forms part of the anti-monopoly review of a concentration of business operators, and guide business operators to improve the reporting of any such concentration. The Interim Provisions, which took effect on 5 September, are based on the PRC Anti-Monopoly Law, the Reporting of Concentrations of Business Operators Measures and the Review of Concentrations of Business Operators Measures.

Factors to be considered in the review of a concentration of business operators. Various factors that will affect market competition are to be considered based on the specific circumstances of each case. These factors include the business operator’s market share in the underlying market and its control over that market; the degree of market concentration in the underlying market; the impact of the concentration on market access and technological progress; the impact of the concentration on consumers and other underlying business operators; and the impact of the concentration on national economic development.

Market share and market concentration. The Interim Provisions clarify the role that analysis of market share and market concentration should play in the evaluation of the impact on competition of a concentration of business operators. Market share is to be determined based on the structure of an underlying market and the status of business operators and their competitors in that market. Usually, the higher the levels of concentration in an underlying market, the greater the effect of any further concentration and the greater the possibility that any such concentration may eliminate or restrict competition.

Other factors to be considered. The Interim Provisions specify that in assessing a concentration of business operators, other factors to be considered include the impact of the concentration on the public interest and economic efficiency; whether the business operators involved in the concentration are at risk of imminent bankruptcy; and whether there is any countervailing purchaser power.

Criteria for prohibiting a concentration. According to the Interim Provisions, if a concentration of business operators has or may have the effect of eliminating or restricting competition, MOFCOM should prohibit it. However, if the business operators can prove that on balance the concentration promotes rather than lessens competition, or that the concentration is in the public interest, MOFCOM may decide not to prohibit it. MOFCOM may approve a concentration but impose conditions aimed at minimizing the adverse impact of the concentration on competition.

Business Law Digest is compiled with the assistance of Haiwen & Partners. The authors can be emailed at baochen@haiwen-law.com. Readers should not act on this information without seeking professional legal advice.

Law.asia subscripton ad blue 2022